Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy made fashionable again
The author, founder of London Taxidermy, is one of the people who made taxidermy fashionable again. The texts with the background information make this more than just a coffee table book. As a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums, I still find that the attraction of a 'stuffed animal' is stronger than any digital display. I realised this after a visit to Deyrolle...
Published 16 months ago by Peter De Ridder

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content.
Good content...... however, he seriously needs to learn the value and importance of a bibliography..... it takes longer and is boring to compile one, yes, but you can't be professional+academic (as his intention evidently is) without one..... um, what else? It's good content wise fo sho. I think potentially he could have arranged someone to re-write it for him with better...
Published 9 months ago by Millysfit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy made fashionable again, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Peter De Ridder (Mechelen (Belgium)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
The author, founder of London Taxidermy, is one of the people who made taxidermy fashionable again. The texts with the background information make this more than just a coffee table book. As a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums, I still find that the attraction of a 'stuffed animal' is stronger than any digital display. I realised this after a visit to Deyrolle in Paris, another world famous taxidermy firm. Browsing through this book is the closest you can get to 'the real thing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Taxidermy treat with no excess stuffing, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Evidence that fascination with a subject can come from nothing more than an expertly written yet widely accessible book filled with a wonder of photos and information.
In several, broad ranging chapters Turner covers the history of Taxidermy, various fads and phases (the good and bad) through to the modern place for taxidermy in fashion, art and the home. These are engagingly written, highlights rather than in depth essays but full of wonder and insight.
The book is 80% photos, which is reasonable considering the subject is a visual one and the quality of those are very good. It's a book you can spend time with again and again and is certainly a conversation point if anyone spots it on the "coffee table". Just beware what they might be thinking of for your next birthday present ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, makes a great present or coffee table book
Beautiful photos throughout
Great service, would highly recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This was a present for my daughter but I have to say it a wonderful and amazing artistic experience cannot recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird and wonderful, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic and quirky book about taxidermy, which completely subverts the idea that this art form is exclusively for stuffy old men (pun intended, sorry...). A great "coffee table" book and beautifully illustrated. I've dropped one star because of a mild formatting niggle, namely the problem of pictures getting half swallowed in the crease, (especially on the double page spreads).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
The photographs do not do this book justice it is just stunning, i do not want to hide it away on a book shelf. Its is done to a really high standard and beautiful photographs though out and covers my different areas of taxidermy. It talks more about how taxidermy was and is used rather than being a how to guide. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Quality, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
A beautifully presented tome, lavishly illustrated, and very informative. From Victorian displays to modern pieces of quirky art, the history of the craft was eloquently laid out. Very good value for money too.I urge anyone who has an interest in this subject to get themselves a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, even better than i imagined, excellent quality and very good value for money, I would highly recommend. I purchased this as a gift for a friend and I know they will love it. Beautiful pictures throughout. This book arrived quickly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 16 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. A. M. C. Smith (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Have had a look at this book, as part of our gifts, for our son-in-law's Christmas and delighted with the book itself; beautiful quality and binding excellent. Contents look very interesting. Delivery and packaging, as Amazon's high standard is expected and it was delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This is must have book. Wonderfully quirky and beautifully photographed. This is full of 19th century eccentricity and country house interiors and not in any way morbid. Every page is different and the whole book is masterfully laid out. I have enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxidermy
Taxidermy by Alexis Turner (Hardcover - 13 May 2013)
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews