Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy made fashionable again
The author, founder of London Taxidermy, is one of the people who made taxidermy fashionable again. The texts with the background information make this more than just a coffee table book. As a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums, I still find that the attraction of a 'stuffed animal' is stronger than any digital display. I realised this after a visit to Deyrolle...
Published 7 months ago by Peter De Ridder

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content.
Good content...... however, he seriously needs to learn the value and importance of a bibliography..... it takes longer and is boring to compile one, yes, but you can't be professional+academic (as his intention evidently is) without one..... um, what else? It's good content wise fo sho. I think potentially he could have arranged someone to re-write it for him with better...
Published 11 days ago by C. H. Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy made fashionable again, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Peter De Ridder (Mechelen (Belgium)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
The author, founder of London Taxidermy, is one of the people who made taxidermy fashionable again. The texts with the background information make this more than just a coffee table book. As a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums, I still find that the attraction of a 'stuffed animal' is stronger than any digital display. I realised this after a visit to Deyrolle in Paris, another world famous taxidermy firm. Browsing through this book is the closest you can get to 'the real thing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, makes a great present or coffee table book
Beautiful photos throughout
Great service, would highly recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This was a present for my daughter but I have to say it a wonderful and amazing artistic experience cannot recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good content., 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Good content...... however, he seriously needs to learn the value and importance of a bibliography..... it takes longer and is boring to compile one, yes, but you can't be professional+academic (as his intention evidently is) without one..... um, what else? It's good content wise fo sho. I think potentially he could have arranged someone to re-write it for him with better grammar/syntax. It reads a little clumsily at times which is annoying if you're an English and History of Art student (used to reading well written stuff). Overall not a bad effort though, for a businessman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Quality, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
A beautifully presented tome, lavishly illustrated, and very informative. From Victorian displays to modern pieces of quirky art, the history of the craft was eloquently laid out. Very good value for money too.I urge anyone who has an interest in this subject to get themselves a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
The photographs do not do this book justice it is just stunning, i do not want to hide it away on a book shelf. Its is done to a really high standard and beautiful photographs though out and covers my different areas of taxidermy. It talks more about how taxidermy was and is used rather than being a how to guide. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
fantastic book.who said taxidermy had to be creepy and dusty!!great pictures and text.the author has a great website .highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. A. M. C. Smith (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
Have had a look at this book, as part of our gifts, for our son-in-law's Christmas and delighted with the book itself; beautiful quality and binding excellent. Contents look very interesting. Delivery and packaging, as Amazon's high standard is expected and it was delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, even better than i imagined, excellent quality and very good value for money, I would highly recommend. I purchased this as a gift for a friend and I know they will love it. Beautiful pictures throughout. This book arrived quickly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taxidermy, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taxidermy (Hardcover)
This is must have book. Wonderfully quirky and beautifully photographed. This is full of 19th century eccentricity and country house interiors and not in any way morbid. Every page is different and the whole book is masterfully laid out. I have enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taxidermy
Taxidermy by Alexis Turner (Hardcover - 13 May 2013)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews