Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read. Illustrations are wonderful and a feast for the eye.
Great purchase!
wonderful images rich in colour and detail, a true feast for the eyes. Each house comes with its own amazing life story or biography, which really explains what an amazing past and present Scotland has.
Published 23 months ago by AMen

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Only
Yes, ravishing photographs, glossily and heavily produced and nice to look at. But whichever previous reviewer described it as 'erudite' must be more interested in Scottish aristocratic families than I am. There's nothing about architectural history and interior design, so if you're interested in either of those, forget it - and actually there's actually very little...
Published 16 months ago by Huffypufferfish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read. Illustrations are wonderful and a feast for the eye., 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
Great purchase!
wonderful images rich in colour and detail, a true feast for the eyes. Each house comes with its own amazing life story or biography, which really explains what an amazing past and present Scotland has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully produced book, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
The quality and content of this book is exceptional. I bought it for a gift but want to keep it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those books to spend time with, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
The quality photographs and reproduction draw you in and create the atmosphere. Hope to be able to complete my visitation to all the houses listed. Can we have a second edition and more of Scotland's houses?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish Country Houses - a delightful selection some of which may not be so well known., 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
Wonderful photos and lots of nice highlights from the author who writes succinctly and with much of great interest about the houses, families, histories and chattels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because of the inclusion of Dumfries House. It has some wonderful photographs and the only reason i marked it down is because I would have liked more text. However, it is a beautifully produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Visit Scotland, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
Lovely book with outstanding photos. I am biased as our own house Arniston is in it. The author and photographer really have a feel for historic houses and were a pleasure to work with. I sent a copy to a friend in Malayasia and NZ. It is expensive but if you love Scotland and its heritage you will be making an investment which will be enjoyed by generations of your family. Read on and come and visit our lovely Scotland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
ameroscot (Shepton Mallet,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
I was delighted with this book when it arrived. It was a brand new copy at an excellent price. However, the book itself was much nicer than I expected. Beautiful photographs and interesting and informative text. We tend sometimes to forget that not all the lovely country houses are "south of the border" in England. The Scottish houses are equally beautiful and have their own unique style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scottish country house, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
A lovely lavish book with excellent photographs that really capture the essence and feel of these wonderful houses. A real treat for architecture and interior design fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and inspirational book., 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
This is a magnificent book, more than a coffee table extravagance, sure to send many on a trip to Scotland in pursuit of such houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a peek behind normally closed doors, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Country House (Hardcover)
superbly illustrated publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scottish Country House
The Scottish Country House by James Fennell (Hardcover - 5 Nov. 2012)
£25.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews