Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous
Over one hundred of the current jewelers working throughout the world today are featured in this lavishly illustrated and beautifully produced book by Olivier Dupon. Each individual has at least a double page spread devoted to their work which includes a few paragraphs about what inspires them and how and where they work. Their web addresses are also shown so that the...
Published 17 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Frivolous superficial fun
How can I describe this book in a nutshell? A micro snapshot of contemporary jewellery designer-makers from around the world.

I can't help but feel that the author went for quantity over quality and tried to ram as many jewellers as possible into this book. It skims the surface of each jeweller with lots of photos but only about half a page about each designer...
Published 17 months ago by whipmeupsomecream


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 30 Oct 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over one hundred of the current jewelers working throughout the world today are featured in this lavishly illustrated and beautifully produced book by Olivier Dupon. Each individual has at least a double page spread devoted to their work which includes a few paragraphs about what inspires them and how and where they work. Their web addresses are also shown so that the reader can find out further information about the designers and the jewellery which interests them.

The book is arranged in nine sections:-
Viva Glam
Metal Alchemy
The Neo-Classics
Cool Luxury
Sculptural Bliss
The Delectables
The Hip Pack
The Virtuosos
The Avant- Gardists.

The jewellery shown ranges from the frankly un-wearable to some creations which I found totally stunning and which I could imagine myself wearing. Raw gems are seen next to polished stones; lace and other materials are used to create some items as well as wire and chains. Almost anything can be turned into jewellery it seems.

There are chunky pieces which resemble sculpture and others which are so delicate they seem almost incorporeal. The only pieces which made me think immediately that I just would not fancy them were those which resemble horribly life-like insects. I turned the page rather quickly when I came across the scorpion pendant by Philippa Holland.

But there are many exquisite pieces and something which will appeal to everyone. I particularly liked some of the very simple designs carried out in gold or silver - such as those by Jacqueline Rabun and Deborah Pagani. I also liked the way many designers used the irregular shapes and colours of freshwater pearls in their designs.

This is a beautiful book for anyone who is interested in contemporary jewellery and fashion design. I found it a beautiful book to browse through and dream about jewels I cannot afford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoil Yourself, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed the authors first book `The New Artisans' so having pre-ordered `The New Jewelers' I eagerly awaited it's arrival. I was NOT disappointed. I made the mistake of having it delivered to my work address as, directly I set eyes on the sumptuous coloured cover I found it frustrating that I couldn't sit and read through from start to finish. The photographs are clear and concise and there is something to delight on every page, an item of jewellery for every occasion! I have always had a keen interest in jewellery as my first job was as a diamond sorter in London's Hatton Garden. I am extremely impressed by these beautiful and innovative designs and found the author's accompanying information on the designers both informative and insightful. All in all a delightful publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Today's body wear, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderful, colourful collection of contemporary jewellery and I was struck while looking through the pages that from other publishers the book would just look mediocre. Thames & Hudson are to congratulated on taking the view that the contents demanded the best production. Probably more than half the jewellery is presented as cutouts with a slight drop shadow and printed on a quality matt art paper (with a 175 screen).

The range of styles is impressive through the nine sections. I prefer the simplicity of artists like Lia Di Gregorio or Jacqueline Rabun and especially by Sibylle Krause (she is the closest in the book to work of Georg Jensen whose jewellery I love) but with sections called 'Viva glam', 'The hip pack' or 'The delectables' you'll most likely find something to your style. A nice touch, here and there, throughout the pages are artists sketches and photos of their working environment.

At the Amazon price this is a bargain.

#/#/#LOOK AT SOME INSIDE PAGES by clicking 'cusomer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book., 20 Oct 2012
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really gorgeous book. It arrived this morning and from the moment I opened the package I couldn't put it down. The book itself is beautifully presented promising much and actually delivering. Every page contains jewellery illustrations which delight the eye. The range, style and materials used by the various jewellers is unbelievably broad - from the classically gorgeous to the weird and wonderful providing inspiration (and envy for their enormous talent) to all of us who aspire to create our own jewellery. The information provided on the makers is extremely interesting giving an insight into how they developed their individual styles to where they are today.

Even if you don't actually want to make jewellery but just love the stuff and want to have a close look at the best of today's craftspeople, this book is a real treasure and retailing at under 25 is a real snip. It is a brilliant resource for any would be jewellery designer and I cannot recommend it highly enough - a credit to the taste and choices of Olivier Dupon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New Jewelers, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
WOW! I love this book! Books about jewellery designers are usually either about high end or about conceptual designers. So this is the first time I can browse through a book that features both fashionable and everyday pieces. Most pieces are very wearable and their presentation is easy and great. There are so many designers from all over the world to choose from. It is a beautiful book all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great source book, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
For anyone who loves contemporary jewellery design – the fan, collector or student – this is an invaluable source book. Shame it doesn't include Kia Utzon-Frank, but you can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely showcase for exciting design, 22 July 2013
By 
J. Dawson (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great idea. When the High Street is flooded with design that mimics handmade crafts and so many people don't seem to appreciate the skill and creativity that goes into real craft and design, it is both refreshing and encouraging to see makers given such a showcase, complete with an artist's statement and website included for each entry. As one would expect from a book on contemporary design, this is beautifully produced with plenty of gorgeous photos. For the most part, these makers are not names that you will recognise, but a flick through will quickly demonstrate their artisan status. Would be lovely to have a whole library of similar books for other areas of design. The only niggle I have is that some of the designs seem quite repetitive, and I'd have preferred to see some of those similar designs swapped for greater variety. But overall this is a great execution of an excellent idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding treasures, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
I loved it because it highlighted some individuals with amazing talent especially Fiona Paxton with her beautifully created, mature yet innovative pieces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Thinker (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are interested in the topic and in design of jewelery then this is a good choice for you. It is a big hardback, well presented, nice quality with lots of picture and info on new big names in jewelery design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable Collection, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Richard Stowey "Senior Project Manager" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book contains a great overall view of contemporary jewellery today. The contents are well laid out and guide the reader through the contents very well. The high quality photography and detail put into presenting each item really adds to the quality of the book, and it's value to a reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb110a804)

This product

The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary
The New Jewelers: Desirable | Collectable | Contemporary by Olivier Dupon (Hardcover - 24 Sep 2012)
19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews