Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Having just received my copy, long-ago ordered, I've been immediately struck by the quality of the book. The photographs are brilliantly reproduced, the paper is of a weight that the pages turn without falling back, the binding is really nicely done and the total effect is completely stunning.

If you like the Stones and you like photography, this book is for...
Published on 7 July 2012 by Andy Leslie

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You won't get no...."
There have only ever been two groups through the decades; The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Whilst the former were elevated to a God like status and still garner column inches most others can only dream about, the Stones rolled on, playing to millions and selling records in equal numbers.

July saw the 50th Anniversary of their appearance at the Marquee Club...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by Quiverbow


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bible for all Stones fans!!, 4 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
I was amazed by the quality of this book compared to it's cost. Great pics and comments. if you are a Sones fan you must get one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Respectable!, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's no doubt, this is a beautifully produced book, a large, top-quality pictorial history of one of the biggest bands in rock 'n' roll history from 1962 to 2007. Just under 350 pages of photographs, tour posters, promo artwork and everything a fan could want from this sort of publication with comments and anecdotes from members of the band. Also, this isn't a cosy, comfy trip down memory lane as many of the remarks from the band are honest and candid. Keith describing Mick Taylor as a "cold fish", for example. Talking about drug trials, riots at gigs, smashing fans around the head with guitars... this isn't a sugar-coated PR exercise, it's a really interesting and enjoyable read for a hardcore Stones fan, something to dip in and out of at their leisure. The cover price is £29.95 and, I have to say, the content of this heavy tome justifies the money. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone other than big Stones fans, but - then again - who else is likely to want to buy it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treat yourself to this!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
This is a must for any die-hard Stones fan. It is both sizeable and weighty at 350 pages, superbly produced on excellent quality paper and extremely reasonably priced. It has to become a collectors' item. The illustrations are manifold, from their very early life as a group, concert posters, personal pictures, and more recent photographs taken at the Bigger Bang and Shine a Light tours. A personal favourite (and there are many) is of Keith and Mick in The Feathers Pub in Fleet Street having a fag and a pint on the day they were both discharged from prison in 1967. Apart from a glance from a barmaid, all continues as usual at the bar. The pictures are interspersed with copious recollections from the boys themselves, although there is very little about the women in their lives, either in pictures or recollectively. All in all, a wonderful visual record of the life and times of one of the greatest rock bands of all time. Buy it and you won't be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones memories in pictures, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Fantastic picture / story book following the Rolling Stones carreer . Candid photographs and comments by the Stones come together to create a fascinating 'snapshot'. Well worth the pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Charlie says '10 years of work, 40 years of fun', 1 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
This is essentially a coffee table book, I bought it for the other half as he is a Stones fan, I'm not as big a fan but this book is fantastic! The photo's are reproduced to a high quality, I spent a happy couple of hours the other Sunday sat at the table looking through it, reading the comments. It's a great price through Amazon - don't know that I'd of paid the original price for it, but treat yourself, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coffee ....or something a little stronger...., 4 Sept. 2012
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice collection of Stones pictures through the years.
My son is 10...and I got this for him...as his musical tastes seem to be even more retro than mine....he was particularly impressed with the gold pen "Autographs" on the cover. I've never been a big fan of the Stones...particularly the early stuff..but this sheds some light on their early history..and through the years.

If you want some printed words...I have just finished these...
Life: Keith Richards
Mick & Keith: Parallel Lines

A nice addition to your coffee table......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones 50, 31 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
More than I expected. Live in the Us but bought from UK because it wasn't available until October. Book arrived in record time and the price was recently reduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning.............., 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A large format book which I recall caused a stir when it was published. Jammed full of photographs and anecdotes we have never encountered before, the Rolling Stones have survived several generations of fans and are as loved as ever. This book is rather expensive but well worth it for any fan and does not disappoint..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes with as many photographs which I have also collected but this book is the best in my opinion, 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
There are many other books about the Rolling Stones, sometimes with as many photographs which I have also collected but this book is the best in my opinion. The photographs are superb, the little anecdotes on each pic by the stones themselves, though brief are always interesting. The actual physical book, paper, printing etc is superb. A bargain at full price but even more so at Amazons price. Of the over 1000 illustrations there are many that I haven't seen before. If you're a Stones fan or just sixties music fan, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones 50 (Hardcover)
Never been a huge Rolling Stones fan, liked the singles etc but that was about it. Recently got all their albums and love them now, so thought I would get this as it was at a good price on Amazon and its a great book, great pictures from all eras, would recommend it even if your not a fanatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones 50
The Rolling Stones 50 by Ronnie Wood (Hardcover - 12 July 2012)
£20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews