Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars25
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2012
I confess that I'm a Heatherwick groupie, so I am predisposed to like this book. It features all the Heatherwick designs I know and love - including the B of the Bang, the rolling bridge and the handbag made entirely of zips - along with lots and lots of new ones.

The book is arranged chronologically, from 1989 to 2011, and every "chapter" deals with a separate project. I haven't counted the projects exactly, but there are getting on for 150 in all. Each chapter-heading is a question...

How can you make a sleeping policeman work harder?
Can friction alone hold the pieces of an object together?
Can a Christmas card be bigger than its envelope?
Can a tower touch the sky gently?
Can the complex programmatic needs of a spiritual building be brought together with a single idea?
Can you squeeze a chair out of a machine, the way you squeeze toothpaste out of a tube?

...and each question is answered by just enough text, supported by a wealth of images - photographs, sketches, artists' impressions, whatever is necessary to elucidate the answer to the question.

I haven't explored all 600 pages of the book thoroughly yet, but so far I love it.

(28 July: I was delighted to discover last night that the wonderful 2012 Olympic cauldron is a Heatherwick design. Pity it came too late to be included in the book.)
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
I am very happy with this purchase.
Its a beautiful big book, I really love the unconventional squareish format, it feels nice to hold.
Paper quality is great, every time I turn a page it feels like I grabbed two pages by mistake its that thick.
The content is great Thomas explains the thought process behind his designs in detail. It is a very inspirational book, and got my creative juices flowing.
For the price of £23 I think its a bargain.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This book captures the imagination, as does the work of the studio. It is a good buy. I warmly recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
This book is perfect to get aquainted with Heatherwick's pure genius. All his projects are listed cronologically, each of them has one or more very good pictures and a description and explanation by Heatherwick himself, telling you how he conceived the idea.
The spun chair, the rolling bridge, Shangai Expo Pavillion... and the absolutely astonishing Christmas cards... This book brings pure genius right into your hands!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
After going to the V & A to see Thomas Heatherwicks exhibition, which was the most interesting exhibition I have seen for a long time, I really had to buy this book. I have bought it for my husband for christmas. When the book arrived it has a cellophane cover which means I havent been able to take a peek so must wait for christmas day, I am sure I wont be dissapointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
This is architect/designer porn: endless great pictures of projects and their models, and it is a BIG (thick) book. The exhibition was great, and I am soooo pleased I got the book. Don't hesitate!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
A beautiful and informative book about the man who grabbed our attention at London 2012.
Excellent product with instructive and inspirational contents. Need an additional volume now telling the story of that amazing cauldron.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This is a fantastic book from a great British Designer of our time and I would highly recommend.
However, I do need to point out two of the pages in my sealed book were badly torn.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Impressive appearance, as you would expect from a Design Studio.
Heatherwick became a household name as the creator of the London Olympics 2012 Cauldron. This book, copiously illustrated, describes the many and varied output and ideas of the Studio, varying from small items like Christmas Cards to large buildings. They also designed the new Routemaster bus for London Transport, known unofficially as the Boris Bus after the London Mayor Boris Johnson.
A book to dip into. Well bound and produced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
A gripping book beautifully produced. Stunning photos and interesting script. Thomas Heatherwick is a one off innovative designer and this unique quality is admirably depicted in this fascinating book. A must for anyone interested in architecture or design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)