Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this book be bigger than the sum of its parts?
I confess that I'm a Heatherwick groupie, so I am predisposed to like this book. It features all the Heatherwick designs I know and love - including the B of the Bang, the rolling bridge and the handbag made entirely of zips - along with lots and lots of new ones.

The book is arranged chronologically, from 1989 to 2011, and every "chapter" deals with a separate...
Published on 7 Jun. 2012 by Maggie

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor production values let down the brilliance of the designer this book sets out to celebrate
I will contradict other reviewers here because, having eagerly anticipated a book profiling Thomas Heatherwick's work, Thames & Hudson's effort is for me a considerable disappointment. From the shiny, wipe-down cover to the mediocre paper stock and print, it is a poor reflection of Heatherwick's own brilliant ideas, rigorous research / development and superb execution...
Published on 26 Aug. 2012 by A. Lloyd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor production values let down the brilliance of the designer this book sets out to celebrate, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
A. Lloyd (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
I will contradict other reviewers here because, having eagerly anticipated a book profiling Thomas Heatherwick's work, Thames & Hudson's effort is for me a considerable disappointment. From the shiny, wipe-down cover to the mediocre paper stock and print, it is a poor reflection of Heatherwick's own brilliant ideas, rigorous research / development and superb execution. It's a shame; his outstanding work deserved so much more than this. Sure, it manages to intelligently profile most of the studio's oeuvre, but in terms of production quality, I expected so much more. In particular, repro quality of many of the images is dreadful - like something from a cheap desktop printer. Phaidon should have produced this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Heatherwick: Making, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
A fascinating & stimulating read for anyone interested in the process of innovative conceptual design & it's material realisation. An essential reference for anyone studying architectural or industrial design. Anyone want to buy my copy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
There's so much information in this book it's great. My only disappointment is that it was printed before the Olympic
Cauldron. Apart from that it's first class. I only wish I was on his Christmas card list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone is enjoying this, 3 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
A fascinating book, and a beautiful publication. Photos splendid, and a real introduction to Thomas Heatherwick's rich imagination. Family of all ages have been absorbed in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Making by Thomas Heatherwick, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
It arrived in perfect condition and such an interesting book that we ordered one for our son as well. It arrived by the date specified and very well packed, thank you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's a genuis - well worth a read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
Well presented book to introduce you to this fascinating man and his ideas. Recommended.

Just need a few more words to meet the word count..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Book, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
Anyone who enjoyed watching the London 2012 Olympic cauldron being lit will appreciate the amazing work of Thomas Heatherwick shown in this new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
An Amazing book really worth buying for inspiration. He has some strange and interesting creations, all starting from simple ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
I like and find this book very usefull for architects. It seems to me a good buy for the people interested in architecture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heatherwick's 'Making', 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
Fantastic ...a heavy book but worth every oz. and packed with interest and creativity.(I dont need to say any more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Heatherwick: Making
Thomas Heatherwick: Making by Maisie Rowe (Hardcover - 28 May 2012)
Used & New from: £78.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews