Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this book be bigger than the sum of its parts?
I confess that I'm a Heatherwick groupie, so I am predisposed to like this book. It features all the Heatherwick designs I know and love - including the B of the Bang, the rolling bridge and the handbag made entirely of zips - along with lots and lots of new ones.

The book is arranged chronologically, from 1989 to 2011, and every "chapter" deals with a separate...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Maggie

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor production values let down the brilliance of the designer this book sets out to celebrate
I will contradict other reviewers here because, having eagerly anticipated a book profiling Thomas Heatherwick's work, Thames & Hudson's effort is for me a considerable disappointment. From the shiny, wipe-down cover to the mediocre paper stock and print, it is a poor reflection of Heatherwick's own brilliant ideas, rigorous research / development and superb execution...
Published 23 months ago by A. Lloyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can this book be bigger than the sum of its parts?, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
I confess that I'm a Heatherwick groupie, so I am predisposed to like this book. It features all the Heatherwick designs I know and love - including the B of the Bang, the rolling bridge and the handbag made entirely of zips - along with lots and lots of new ones.

The book is arranged chronologically, from 1989 to 2011, and every "chapter" deals with a separate project. I haven't counted the projects exactly, but there are getting on for 150 in all. Each chapter-heading is a question...

How can you make a sleeping policeman work harder?
Can friction alone hold the pieces of an object together?
Can a Christmas card be bigger than its envelope?
Can a tower touch the sky gently?
Can the complex programmatic needs of a spiritual building be brought together with a single idea?
Can you squeeze a chair out of a machine, the way you squeeze toothpaste out of a tube?

...and each question is answered by just enough text, supported by a wealth of images - photographs, sketches, artists' impressions, whatever is necessary to elucidate the answer to the question.

I haven't explored all 600 pages of the book thoroughly yet, but so far I love it.

(28 July: I was delighted to discover last night that the wonderful 2012 Olympic cauldron is a Heatherwick design. Pity it came too late to be included in the book.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 17 Jun 2012
By 
D. Vakrat - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
I am very happy with this purchase.
Its a beautiful big book, I really love the unconventional squareish format, it feels nice to hold.
Paper quality is great, every time I turn a page it feels like I grabbed two pages by mistake its that thick.
The content is great Thomas explains the thought process behind his designs in detail. It is a very inspirational book, and got my creative juices flowing.
For the price of 23 I think its a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
This book captures the imagination, as does the work of the studio. It is a good buy. I warmly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to reading it., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
After going to the V & A to see Thomas Heatherwicks exhibition, which was the most interesting exhibition I have seen for a long time, I really had to buy this book. I have bought it for my husband for christmas. When the book arrived it has a cellophane cover which means I havent been able to take a peek so must wait for christmas day, I am sure I wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 25 Aug 2012
By 
I. Laliberte (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
This is architect/designer porn: endless great pictures of projects and their models, and it is a BIG (thick) book. The exhibition was great, and I am soooo pleased I got the book. Don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE GENIUS, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
This book is perfect to get aquainted with Heatherwick's pure genius. All his projects are listed cronologically, each of them has one or more very good pictures and a description and explanation by Heatherwick himself, telling you how he conceived the idea.
The spun chair, the rolling bridge, Shangai Expo Pavillion... and the absolutely astonishing Christmas cards... This book brings pure genius right into your hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MakingThomas Heatherwick, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book from a great British Designer of our time and I would highly recommend.
However, I do need to point out two of the pages in my sealed book were badly torn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing artist & craftsman for our age., 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
A beautiful and informative book about the man who grabbed our attention at London 2012.
Excellent product with instructive and inspirational contents. Need an additional volume now telling the story of that amazing cauldron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's a genuis - well worth a read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
Well presented book to introduce you to this fascinating man and his ideas. Recommended.

Just need a few more words to meet the word count..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Heatherwick: Making, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Hardcover)
A fascinating & stimulating read for anyone interested in the process of innovative conceptual design & it's material realisation. An essential reference for anyone studying architectural or industrial design. Anyone want to buy my copy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Heatherwick: Making
Thomas Heatherwick: Making by Maisie Rowe (Hardcover - 28 May 2012)
Used & New from: 46.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews