Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really incredible book...
A truly fabulous book, full of beautiful full colour images complimented with a well researched written text.
There is marvellous automata (for example an amazing colour example of a 16th century German automaton of Neptune sitting on a tortoise both of whom can move) with highly ornate baroque astronomical clocks and armillary spheres.
From the grotesque...
Published 17 months ago by seraphim

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A coffee table book you buy for the illustrations, rather than the text
A coffee table book for people who cannot afford a collection of curiosities, or who are curious to see the cabinets of others. The artwork in the book is certainly OK. I was less taken by the rather philosophical text as a whole: for the length of the texts I had expected a bit more factual content, anecdotes, etc. And more than once I was disoriented by the way the...
Published 1 month ago by Peter De Ridder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really incredible book..., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
A truly fabulous book, full of beautiful full colour images complimented with a well researched written text.
There is marvellous automata (for example an amazing colour example of a 16th century German automaton of Neptune sitting on a tortoise both of whom can move) with highly ornate baroque astronomical clocks and armillary spheres.
From the grotesque mummified heads to animal skulls; teddy bears to taxidermy, fabled creatures to incredible three dimensional assemblages of contemporary sculpture by the artist Daniel Spoerri in the chapter headed Resurgences...
this really is an incredible book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
Just love this so much the photos don't show you the true quality of this book. Wonderful its been made to a high standard, there is big full page images though out and lots of informative text to go with it. A great book to keep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age of enlightenment., 12 Jan 2014
By 
S. M. T. Peters (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
I love cabinets of curiosities, as does the person to whom I gave this book. A marvellous book on a marvellous subject. I use the word marvellously advisedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful imagery and information, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
I bought this for a project and read it in about 2 weeks (its a big heavy book!) the visuals are very impressive - big colour spreads which open out. Easy to read too. I have really enjoyed it and will use it for reference now - deffo one to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Check for publication errors, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
I like the book itself a lot, but in one of the copies I received there was a binding error and pages 20-26 were repeated, and some big fold out pages were missing. I doubt mine was the only copy like that, so do check carefully. If these are machine bound, others will have the same problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much in little., 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. G. Morgan "wes" (Haywards Heath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
A real surprise this, seeing how a world could be captured by aristocrats - for they usually were - and be kept almost as a stationary Grand, er Little Tour. From homunculi to materials from lands afar, this is a wondrous book that delights as it was intended. One can wonder at a mind that would sample a world thus: an eye-opening look at a world gone by yet also, a way of seeing what is around us. The variety of objects is astonishing and you will feel as the first onlookers did, no matter that centuries have gone by. Richly illustrated and well written. Unlike any book I have read before; in a good way. A bit like having a little Pitt-Rivers or Horniman Museum in your own house; what an odd, lovely thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A coffee table book you buy for the illustrations, rather than the text, 25 Oct 2014
By 
Peter De Ridder (Mechelen (Belgium)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
A coffee table book for people who cannot afford a collection of curiosities, or who are curious to see the cabinets of others. The artwork in the book is certainly OK. I was less taken by the rather philosophical text as a whole: for the length of the texts I had expected a bit more factual content, anecdotes, etc. And more than once I was disoriented by the way the chapters are divided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for a collector of both books and curiosities. The quality of the book's construction was a wonderful surprise and the clarity of the numerous pictures is superb. I could spend hours just pouring over the content. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book on the subject, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Viktor Wynd (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
quite simply the best book on the subject - i first bought a copy almost 10 years ago and it has been a constant inspiration both as i launched my curiosity shop & late museum and when i wrote my own book on my Cabinets of Wonder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabinets of Curiosities (Hardcover)
Another present which was loved by the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabinets of Curiosities
Cabinets of Curiosities by Patrick Mauriès (Hardcover - 12 Sep 2011)
£20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews