Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2011
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs

Bought as a birthday gift for a bicycle fanatic it has been a huge success, giving hours of pleasure. (If a bit of a bore for the rest of us) I am told not only is it very informative but there is bike history to be enjoyed too.
I first saw it reviewed in a Sunday newspaper supplement. I ordered in a bit of a hurry but delivery was so speedy it arrived in good time for the birthday. Very well wrapped, so in perfect condition.
Although I only buy books from Amazon from time to time, when I have bought them they are always just how I expect them to be from the online description. So one can buy with a lot of confidence.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
This is a beautifully produced book full of superbly photographed images of many fascinating and elegant engineering achievements and a tremendous bargain at the price. It's not a technical handbook by any means but there is sufficient information to fulfil its purpose.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Beautiful photos of a fairly broad range of mostly European bikes, but too many notable omissions and frequent technical irregularities to warrant the subtitle 'iconic' - it's more a tour of some quirky designs rather than iconic ones.

The frequent irritations perhaps arise from the translated text - a proof read by someone with a decent historical & technical knowledge of bikes would have been good, as the strength of this book should lie in the discussion of the technical details shown; some gripes:
Limited range of bikes - why nothing pre 1920?? - there's plenty of iconic designs missed as a result. A lot of 'grey porridge' bikes and not enough truly iconic ones.
Limited spec lists for each bike (e.g. no info on chain sets, sketchy descriptions of brakes, useless info on wheels & sizes......)
Frequently imprecise descriptions of frame parts, build processes and regular reference to steel 'varnish' - surely paint?
From a UK perspective, there are disappointingly few British bikes, the handful include one example (a 1970 roadster) from Raleigh, which mysteriously has some distinctly non standard mid-late 1980s pedals and clips; it's not the 'iconic' British example I'd choose from Raleigh - eg Chopper? , one of their GOD race bikes?, early cross-frame? All-Steel?
Some of the other race bikes are not at full standard race spec - it seems odd to have beautiful photos of obviously non-standard setups.
Disappointingly, the example from Mercian - builder of iconic & traditional British touring bikes - has a fairly awful 'urban fixie' as their representative - I'm sure a design they'd like to forget.
Its a shame that the Lotus race bike illustrated is the later road going derivative, rather than the earlier, iconic!, track bike, or Burrows original version; also on Mike Burrows designs - how about the iconic HPV Windcheetah?
There are no BMX bikes, 'standard' mountain bikes, speedway bikes, no Ordinaries, early sociables, no Boneshakers, early safety bikes, triplets/quads/quints, sidecars or cyclo cross bikes, to name a few - surely some iconic designs from more diverse sources should be included, at the expense of the near repetition elsewhere.
There are limited/no representatives from some of the large/influential manufacturers either - eg Peugeot, Klein, Vitus, trek, giant & probably many more.

It's not all doom & gloom though - there's some nice photos of some weird, mostly European designs; just don't expect the text to be much use, or the ground breaking examples to be plentiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
This is a nice book, it won't teach you how to design a bike or what the perfect bike to own is, but it's a fascinating look at some normal and unusual bikes through time.

If you are interested in how things have evolved and having your idea of what's new shaken up (when do you think electronic shifting was first used in the Tour De France, for instance?), then this is a wonderful choice.

I received mine as a gift and was delighted by it, when I put it down, I was always keen to pick it back up to look at the next curious or interesting specimen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
bought this for someone with an interest in bikes, but all the family found something of interest. It would have been even better with some older cycles
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
No matter how many times you go back to this book, you will find something that you hadn't noticed before. So many innotive ideas thought of years ago, but too far ahead of their time. Or some a bit too wacky; would you want to brake by pressing the handlebar grips towards each other - ? ! Cracking quality photography that tempts you to want to see more of some of the bikes featured. More history on some would have been handy, but there has to be limits. The only regret that my favorite,the iconic Paris Galibier wasn't in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Got this for my husband's birthday but have ended up poring over it myself as it's just really interesting. From serious high end machines to kids' cycles, tricycles, tandems and folding bikes - you name it, it's here. The photographs are beautiful too - very simple - and love for the bike oozes from every page. One for weekend wheelers and cycle nuts alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
A good book for anyone interested in bicycle design from its beginnings. I would have liked some more information on each model, however the photographs are excellent and worth a thousand words in themselves. Book is in very good condition, very good value for money. Item arrived promptly and was well packed. I would buy from this supplier again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
A perfect coffee table book documenting some of the most radical pieces of design that you can actually ride!
Beautiful, clear photography and just enough information not to be boring.
Will require another volume at least as there were some glaring omissions! ( Klein Attitude anyone?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Really pleased.

I got this for my friend who's obsessed with bikes but doesn't really enjoy reading so much

There is loads of great images and information and all for a really good price

Was worth the money and it arrived only a day after i ordered it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)