Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclepedia
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs

Bought as a birthday gift for a bicycle fanatic it has been a huge success, giving hours of pleasure. (If a bit of a bore for the rest of us) I am told not only is it very informative but there is bike history to be enjoyed too.
I first saw it reviewed in a Sunday newspaper supplement. I ordered in a bit of a...
Published on 13 May 2011 by Trish

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some nice pictures
This really is only a coffee-table book. It has some nice pictures, usually only one of each bike, and a limited amount of technical info.
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Robert Miles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclepedia, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs

Bought as a birthday gift for a bicycle fanatic it has been a huge success, giving hours of pleasure. (If a bit of a bore for the rest of us) I am told not only is it very informative but there is bike history to be enjoyed too.
I first saw it reviewed in a Sunday newspaper supplement. I ordered in a bit of a hurry but delivery was so speedy it arrived in good time for the birthday. Very well wrapped, so in perfect condition.
Although I only buy books from Amazon from time to time, when I have bought them they are always just how I expect them to be from the online description. So one can buy with a lot of confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 29 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book full of superbly photographed images of many fascinating and elegant engineering achievements and a tremendous bargain at the price. It's not a technical handbook by any means but there is sufficient information to fulfil its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual coffee table book, 30 Oct 2011
By 
B. Smith (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
bought this for someone with an interest in bikes, but all the family found something of interest. It would have been even better with some older cycles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bicycle mad, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
This was a present for a friend who collects and loves bicycles. He was chuffed to get it and was thankful. He said it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book and a Good present for Cyclists, Designers and Bike curious, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Great Book and a Good present for Cyclists, Designers and Bike curious.

There is also an iPad app that brings the pictures to life in 3D.

Choose your technology .. just like the bikes included :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one for the enthusiast, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
A good book for anyone interested in bicycle design from its beginnings. I would have liked some more information on each model, however the photographs are excellent and worth a thousand words in themselves. Book is in very good condition, very good value for money. Item arrived promptly and was well packed. I would buy from this supplier again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Came in time and the condition of the item was good, the book was used but with minimal wear and tear. Happy about the purchase also cause the content is great, lots of very interesting old and new bike designs! I bought it as a present for a bike mechanic and he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as a present, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
I gave this to a mate for a birthday present and he constantly raves how good it is - so I am vicariously going to give it 5 stars. He has recited information from it a few times and it has pride of place on his coffee table. All good signs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight, 27 Jun 2013
By 
R. T. Pett "Toby" (Cheadle Hulme) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
This is a nice book, it won't teach you how to design a bike or what the perfect bike to own is, but it's a fascinating look at some normal and unusual bikes through time.

If you are interested in how things have evolved and having your idea of what's new shaken up (when do you think electronic shifting was first used in the Tour De France, for instance?), then this is a wonderful choice.

I received mine as a gift and was delighted by it, when I put it down, I was always keen to pick it back up to look at the next curious or interesting specimen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Really pleased.

I got this for my friend who's obsessed with bikes but doesn't really enjoy reading so much

There is loads of great images and information and all for a really good price

Was worth the money and it arrived only a day after i ordered it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs by Paul Smith (Hardcover - 7 Mar 2011)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews