Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclepedia
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs

Bought as a birthday gift for a bicycle fanatic it has been a huge success, giving hours of pleasure. (If a bit of a bore for the rest of us) I am told not only is it very informative but there is bike history to be enjoyed too.
I first saw it reviewed in a Sunday newspaper supplement. I ordered in a bit of a...
Published on 13 May 2011 by Trish

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Like the book, but it would be more information about the bikes.
The informa
Published 6 months ago by Carlos Lopes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclepedia, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs

Bought as a birthday gift for a bicycle fanatic it has been a huge success, giving hours of pleasure. (If a bit of a bore for the rest of us) I am told not only is it very informative but there is bike history to be enjoyed too.
I first saw it reviewed in a Sunday newspaper supplement. I ordered in a bit of a hurry but delivery was so speedy it arrived in good time for the birthday. Very well wrapped, so in perfect condition.
Although I only buy books from Amazon from time to time, when I have bought them they are always just how I expect them to be from the online description. So one can buy with a lot of confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book full of superbly photographed images of many fascinating and elegant engineering achievements and a tremendous bargain at the price. It's not a technical handbook by any means but there is sufficient information to fulfil its purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
R. T. Pett "Toby" (Cheadle Hulme) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
This is a nice book, it won't teach you how to design a bike or what the perfect bike to own is, but it's a fascinating look at some normal and unusual bikes through time.

If you are interested in how things have evolved and having your idea of what's new shaken up (when do you think electronic shifting was first used in the Tour De France, for instance?), then this is a wonderful choice.

I received mine as a gift and was delighted by it, when I put it down, I was always keen to pick it back up to look at the next curious or interesting specimen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual coffee table book, 30 Oct. 2011
By 
B. Smith (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
bought this for someone with an interest in bikes, but all the family found something of interest. It would have been even better with some older cycles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat - !, 11 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
No matter how many times you go back to this book, you will find something that you hadn't noticed before. So many innotive ideas thought of years ago, but too far ahead of their time. Or some a bit too wacky; would you want to brake by pressing the handlebar grips towards each other - ? ! Cracking quality photography that tempts you to want to see more of some of the bikes featured. More history on some would have been handy, but there has to be limits. The only regret that my favorite,the iconic Paris Galibier wasn't in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good looking book for cyclists and non-cyclists alike, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Got this for my husband's birthday but have ended up poring over it myself as it's just really interesting. From serious high end machines to kids' cycles, tricycles, tandems and folding bikes - you name it, it's here. The photographs are beautiful too - very simple - and love for the bike oozes from every page. One for weekend wheelers and cycle nuts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one for the enthusiast, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
A good book for anyone interested in bicycle design from its beginnings. I would have liked some more information on each model, however the photographs are excellent and worth a thousand words in themselves. Book is in very good condition, very good value for money. Item arrived promptly and was well packed. I would buy from this supplier again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy Friend, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
Ms. C. Friedli (Oxford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
I bought this as a present for a bicycle crazy friend. She absolutely loved it. Full of beautiful photographs of amazing bikes. The bike versions of Ferraris, Porshes etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all retro bike fans, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
A perfect coffee table book documenting some of the most radical pieces of design that you can actually ride!
Beautiful, clear photography and just enough information not to be boring.
Will require another volume at least as there were some glaring omissions! ( Klein Attitude anyone?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs (Hardcover)
Really pleased.

I got this for my friend who's obsessed with bikes but doesn't really enjoy reading so much

There is loads of great images and information and all for a really good price

Was worth the money and it arrived only a day after i ordered it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs
Cyclepedia: A Tour of Iconic Bicycle Designs by Paul Smith (Hardcover - 7 Mar. 2011)
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews