Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn from one of the greats
Page after page of anecdotes, wisdom and genuine magic from one of the greats of British advertising. If you're interested in the adbiz, thinking about a career as a creative person, or working in marketing, this book is an absolute must read. Be sure and get the hardback if you can, as there is an unexpected surprise lurking beneath the dust jacket.
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Stanley Johnson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly bland
I truly admire John Hegarty and the vast portfolio his agency have produced during all these years, so I was looking forward to reading some tricks of the trade from the great one. Much to my surprise the guy who has given us so many brilliant campaigns comes out as rather conservative narrator. He's got "reservations" about Richard Branson dressing like a bride when...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Christian of Sweden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly bland, 19 July 2011
By 
Christian of Sweden (Helsingborg, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
I truly admire John Hegarty and the vast portfolio his agency have produced during all these years, so I was looking forward to reading some tricks of the trade from the great one. Much to my surprise the guy who has given us so many brilliant campaigns comes out as rather conservative narrator. He's got "reservations" about Richard Branson dressing like a bride when launching Virgin brides and some of the examples are truly worn out. Bernbach's legendary VW-campaign for instance is frequent in almost any book about advertising and needs no further publication. But the stories and reasoning behind Hegarty's own campaigns (for example; rating the Catholic church as the most powerful brand in the world) are without exceptions interesting reading and forms the core of the book. And even if the title is slightly over promising it is an important piece of advertising history served by one of the finest of the trade. Note: if anyone wish to comment on this, please do not focus on language, my native language is Swedish. /
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly bad, considering., 27 Mar 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
Oh dear John, what the hell happened here? The nuggets of wisdom, your musings, advice and insight are, of course, an excellent read - inspiring even; but the book itself...

The content's OK but the execution? Oooh - ouch!

It's as if it's been thrown together without any thought at all? Aren't you an art director? Ads appear randomly on pages next to the text; jumping out of nowhere without explanation, without warning and without any relevance to what you've just read?

And I know you're not a copywriter, John, but you do have a agency full of them - surely you could have got one of them to proof read it for you; a junior writer at least! I have honestly never read a book littered with so many typos and spellers (not to mention completely missing words) as this before.

I'm truly shocked at the lack of quality control here. I used to think you were a god, John. Now I know you're no different to me... Can't really be bothered to put the effort in. Sigh.

It was still an interesting read though and, for a short while (until I realised how hastily the book had been thrown together) it did help reignite the passion for advertising that has all but been stamped out working for the 2-bit agency I'm currently at... but honestly.

Aspects of this book have been really, really poorly considered and, as a whole, it's a mess by any standard - let alone yours, Hegarty. Shocking. Let's hope your clients don't read it. Overall, an interesting, enlightening but embarrassing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learn from one of the greats, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
Page after page of anecdotes, wisdom and genuine magic from one of the greats of British advertising. If you're interested in the adbiz, thinking about a career as a creative person, or working in marketing, this book is an absolute must read. Be sure and get the hardback if you can, as there is an unexpected surprise lurking beneath the dust jacket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful dive into what makes advertising so great, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Suman Eugen Costin (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
I want to take the time to recommend it to everyone. Now, as you know, John Hegarty is an icon of advertising, and one of the founders of BBH, one of the most famous agencies in the world. He is still running things from his office in London.

Now what this book gets you is knowledge from the man who founded an agency in the late half of the 80's and turned it into a global phenomenon, still keeping it independent. BBH is not owned by any huge group. So you will find out

-what is the good way to create and maintain a creative independent agency,
-how to win pitches,
-what a Creative Director means for an agency,
-how to manage creatives,
-how to achieve real success in the business
-many more pieces from the experience of John Hegarty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hegarty on advertising, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son, who enjoyed reading it and felt he had learned a good deal about advertising and marketing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book confirmed that throwing away a career as an account manager and applying to Ad School to eventually work in advertising was the right decision. I can't wait to get started, I'm just gutted I bought this as a Kindle Edition so if I ever meet John he won't be able to autograph it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fit for purpose, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
Actually bought it for my grandson who is just starting out in advertising. I wanted a whole new approach to marketing literature. Found this an excellent read for suggestions and adaptations. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
Really interesting book from the legend himself. Definitely recommend for inspiration and this has given me a better idea of what to expect in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as expected, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
Brilliant book arrived on time for christmas and was exactly as expected not sure how else to describe a book I knew about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hegarty on Advertising, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic (Hardcover)
I bought the book after listening to John Hegarty in a discussion about coping with the recession. I'm not in the advertising business and was concerned the book might be full of advice and stories based around his time in the industry. Yes, there are some advertising stories, however, for anyone trying to create their own brand, this is essential reading. Whether you've got a lot or very little to spend on building consumer awareness of your product, John Hegarty gives some truly invaluable advice and insights into thinking differently. I honestly believe it's one of the best business books I've read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic
Hegarty on Advertising: Turning Intelligence into Magic by John Hegarty (Hardcover - 6 Jun 2011)
11.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews