Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morag Perrott
This is a beautiful book. It is the final published work of an author whose research in the field of ancient science, and the metaphysical and spiritual nature of the universe has had a profound influence on modern thinking. In it he explores the language of mathematics through the numbers 1 to 12 (the significance of the duodecimal system is explained along with other...
Published on 20 Aug 2010 by Mrs. M. E. Perrott

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointed.
Although I can see that this book would be really eye-opening
for anyone unfamiliar with the field of sacred geometry, I'd
let someone borrow it rather than recommend buying it.

Michell is excellent when he is discussing the subject but
unfortunately goes meandering off into gematria at the drop
of a hat and, frankly, the mediocre...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Frank Bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morag Perrott, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book. It is the final published work of an author whose research in the field of ancient science, and the metaphysical and spiritual nature of the universe has had a profound influence on modern thinking. In it he explores the language of mathematics through the numbers 1 to 12 (the significance of the duodecimal system is explained along with other systems), illustrating the geometrical figures and patterns they generate with his own delightful watercolours. It is a book that can be enjoyed on many levels from quite simply visually inspiring to extremely mentally challenging. Whatever, the underlying order in the universe shines through. I bought a copy for my elderly father, himself a mathematician and designer of note, who was showing signs of mental deterioration and had become too confused to read, write or converse coherently. He was fascinated by the illustrations, poring over them daily. One day he picked up a pen and drew some wobbly geometrical shapes. A few days later he put on his reading glasses and started reading the text. Just a few weeks on, he can read, write and converse quite normally. I'm sure this book acted as a catalyst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophy of enchantment, 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
This book is proof of Keats' phrase: 'Beauty is truth; truth beauty.' It speaks to the intuition as well as the intellect, and invites contemplation as well as reading. A final, supreme gift from a great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointed., 9 Jun 2011
By 
Frank Bell (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
Although I can see that this book would be really eye-opening
for anyone unfamiliar with the field of sacred geometry, I'd
let someone borrow it rather than recommend buying it.

Michell is excellent when he is discussing the subject but
unfortunately goes meandering off into gematria at the drop
of a hat and, frankly, the mediocre watercolours that are
scattered throughout the book as padding don't impress me
at all - there are far better illustrations available that
don't look like they were done by a bored child on a rainy day.

He makes some excellent points - and some that I haven't seen
in other works - but IMO this book doesn't deserve the gushing
praise that other reviewers seem happy to award it.

Schneider's "Beginner's Guide to Constructing the Universe" is
much better and even the little "Wooden Books" quick guide to
Sacred Geometry has its advantages over this more expensive one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, full of interesting things you would never even think of. If you think you are not interested in numbers, then think again. The Maths teacher at our school loved this! It is a book you can dip in to or read from start to finish. I learn something different every time I pick it up. The illustrations are excellent and it is written in an easy to understand way. Food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sacred Geometry, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Martello (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
Fascinating, enthralling and staggering account of how the world came to be, the 'evidence' of a god and a painstaking explanation of sacred numbers and patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 20 Dec 2009
This review is from: How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry (Hardcover)
If you like John's work , buy it.
It is a treasure.
Get it now in hardback before it's only obtainable in softback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How the World is Made: The Story of Creation According to Sacred Geometry
Used & New from: 15.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews