Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for all designers and engineers, 5 Nov 2007
By 
K. Quigley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
This is a long overdue book, in that it is the only one that covers virtually all modern manufacturing techniques in a simple to understand manner, yet with enough depth to make it meaningful to professionals. It is the perfect companion to all professional designers and engineers faced with the daily dillema - how do I make that? There are plenty of books and resources for materials but none I can think of that cover the full gamut of manufacturing technology. This should be essential reading for all involved in design and manufacturing. It will also serve as a fantastic resource for educators and students at all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for your library!, 17 Jan 2008
By 
George L. Stafford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
There is one bad thing about this book: You realise after you've bought it that you've most likely wasted hundreds of pounds on other books which only cover specific materials. This book is the most unreal bargain, and when you get it in your hands, the shear size and volume of the book makes you realise that instantly.

A recent graduate of Product Design and an entry-level professional, I find this book simply the best I've come across; it's more detailed and technical than ANY of Chris Lefteri's famous material books, but it's more informative/illustrative than Materials and Processes by Ashby. It's the perfect blend of fantastic information and process walk-through using amazing case studies accompanied by detailed photography.

As it says on the tin; ... for design professionals. Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. R. DREW (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
As a product designer, it is not always clear what route of manufacture is the most suitable or economical. This book is an excellent reference to the diverse manufacturing opportunities available to an engineers palette.

Professionals and Higher Education students will benefit from the detailed illustrated processes and case studies in fields as varied as consumer electronics to the furniture market. All of which have clear explanations on process, application, suitability and cost. The book is split into four sections; forming, cutting, joining and finishing for easy reference.

I'm sure that I will refer to this book on many occasions to inspire and direct in the future. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as impressive as you'd expect given all the great reviews, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
This book does have a lot of information, and it explains a fair bit about different processes in a clear manner, although paragraphs, colour and layout are not used as well as they could be.

It is not the encyclopaedic reference book which some people claim it is. It is a huge book but that's not the same thing. Given its size and weight I expected more detail. A lot of the book is made up of pictures, many of which don't really add anything useful. Many do of course.

What this book does is give a very good overview of many processes. The point is that it is only an overview. Much of the detail you need to know as a professional is left out. As a professional, this book may teach you less than you would expect. I look forward to the extended, reduced-size version.

NB: I have focused on the negatives because the positives are well covered in other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into production techniques *******, 20 Feb 2008
By 
Gary S. Fenton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
A great book and a must for all product design students and professionals. Painstaking effort to research this book. It is as if the authour has been around the country to every factory that makes something and has detailed processes with words and great photos.
This is certainly a step up from those reworked line drawing books of outdated processes that i had as a student. Not overly 'techy', just great explanations and wonderfull photos of actual factories doing stuff. Some graet products are detailed as well. The book even starts with how the book was manufactured - nice touch. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on every product design reading list, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
I'm guessing that about 99% of any initial inquiries you have about manufacturing processes could be found in this book. This is an excellent resource, packed with clearly illustrated diagrams and some detailed photographs, which show the manufacture of numerous, case study products. The book is clearly presented, structured around five main sections; manufacturing technologies relating to forming, cutting, joining and finishing, and material properties and applications. Simply flicking through this book is a great way of generating ideas and finding inspiration. It also provides some immediate direction in relation to material constraints and process considerations when developing your own ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 15 mins, 24 Oct 2008
By 
S. Hariri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
rob thompson's book forges a bridge between concept and reality. what we envisage versus what is possible often finds impasse. what rob has done is join theory with practicality ie the merger of manifest and cognitive. if you are interested or inclinerd toward manufacturing process you must buy this book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book on this topic, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
I think that this book is a must have for any designer, it is so complete and exhaustive! It seems quite expensive but if you consider the number of pages, the format and the beautiful edition, you realize that it's very cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
Such a useful, easy to read, well produced book which, as well as being very informative, is beautiful to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals (Hardcover)
There is a lot of helpful info for aspiring product designers or designers in general. Good a4 size THICK book with hardcover too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals
Manufacturing Processes for Design Professionals by Rob Thompson (Hardcover - 15 Oct 2007)
37.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews