Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Stromata (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
This is a seriously beautiful book and only published in translation by
Thames and Hudson in 2003.

Large in format with 190 colour plates, many of them are fold-out pages giving a huge three-sheet view of some of the library interiors. The photography is sumptuous and a feast for the eyes - the text describing the twenty-three libraries features is brief but very interesting.

An absolute treat. Highly recommended for a gift to a bibliophile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a beautiful book, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
This is, in every sense, a book lovers' book! It is large, thick and beautifully illustrated and printed. The fold-out pages give a real panoramic view of the greatest, most beautiful libraries of the world.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, this is not a "cheap" volume, but it is a beautiful book, and more books like this should be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 9 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
I have a soft spot for books such as this. They are a break from the norm, from the day to day drudgery of life (OK, life isn't that bad but - boy oh boy - when you see where you could be standing, selecting a book from a shelf, it pales in comparison!).

A very large book, well presented and full or rich, colourful plates (including foldouts) of the most amazing libraries around the world. Definitely a book to dip in and out of, for after a time the rich, gilt splendour of the libraries begins to roll into one as you become overloaded with the magnificence.

I note that, at the time of reviewing, this has jumped to a "available from..." with a price bracket of approximately 100 higher than I paid for it. This is a great shame, for books such as this should be cherished and preserved. If you can afford it, please do purchase it, because, as literary types we have a duty to protect and promote works as strong as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to travel to these places, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. My mother is a librarian and I thought this would look great on her desk. When it arrived I flicked through the pages and fell in love. It is a beautiful book and should be part of everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful libraries, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
Bought as a present to give away but from what I saw having a quick dip into it, the excellent colour photos make it worth acquiring by any lover of great books and wonderful libraries! Excellent discount on the cover price too! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bibli-heaven, 15 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
Gorgeous insight into the world's libraries. Photographically sumptuous, especially some of the fold-outs. For any bibliophiles this is a foretaste of heaven. I am gradually working my way round the world to visit as many of these libraries as I can, but the book is a little large to take with me as a handbook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 14 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World (Hardcover)
I love this book. The title says it all. If you love libraries, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World
The Most Beautiful Libraries of the World by Jacques Bosser (Hardcover - 17 Nov 2003)
31.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews