Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful, handy-sized guide to glazes.
The book is divided according to clay types: earthenware, stoneware and porcelain. Each section contains glaze recipes for oxidation and reduction firings. The recipes are fully illustrated with tiles, and information on the quality of the glaze (e.g. matt/satin etc), and what to use the glaze for i.e. domestic, sculptural or decorative ware.
The authors has...
Published on 9 May 2002

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful up to a point
The idea, layout and presentation of this book is excellent. However, I think too many of the stoneware glazes are above 1260 degrees and require a one-hour soak. This is very demanding on a kiln, many of which don't go over this temperature anyway. Also, although it looks as though the book is full of glaze recipes, a closer look shows that often it is the same glaze...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by sylvie wren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful, handy-sized guide to glazes., 9 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
The book is divided according to clay types: earthenware, stoneware and porcelain. Each section contains glaze recipes for oxidation and reduction firings. The recipes are fully illustrated with tiles, and information on the quality of the glaze (e.g. matt/satin etc), and what to use the glaze for i.e. domestic, sculptural or decorative ware.
The authors has included sections on raku and soda firing, with a basic description of how each is achieved, and relevant recipes.
However, what really made the book for me, was a gallery of respected ceramicists who describe, briefly, their techniques, and sometimes include a recipe for the specific glaze/s. It helped to put the glazes into the wider context of surface treatment, and provided invaluable inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful up to a point, 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
The idea, layout and presentation of this book is excellent. However, I think too many of the stoneware glazes are above 1260 degrees and require a one-hour soak. This is very demanding on a kiln, many of which don't go over this temperature anyway. Also, although it looks as though the book is full of glaze recipes, a closer look shows that often it is the same glaze recipe with minor variations in the stain/oxide addition. This said, it is a great way of learning about glazes, and is ideally laid out for easy understanding. I'm very glad I bought it but wish it was just a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers all areas, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glaze Book (Spiral-bound)
Billiant glaze book and ocvers all clays including Raku. I have use some of the recipes and they came out true to the book sample, so really pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Up to date?, 15 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Glaze Book (Spiral-bound)
This is a useful book, well presented and illustrated. Very useful if you are a beginner and need some inspiration and know how. Good guide to basic ingredients and what their purpose is at the beginning. Only annoying thing is why are the leading firing temperatures in degree F, this is 2002 not 1982.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK if you know a bit already, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Glaze Book (Spiral-bound)
As others have said, there actually aren't that many different glaze recipes in this book as most are slight variations on basic recipes. It's nicely produced and organised, but there's an annoying lack of necessary detail if you actually want to use some of the recipes and there's very little discussion of glaze theory.

At about 3 it was good value, and the pictures are nice, but if you're only going to buy one glaze book don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple easy to follow, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
This book is excellent value for money. It reads simply and like a cooking recipe book, has a test tile image next to each recipe and is comprehensive in that it offers a taste of glaze opportunities across a wide selection of firing ranges. Where you develop the recipies and tweak for colour depth is up to the progression of the glaze maker, but the initial basics are all in this simple easy to follow guide. I have found it to be a good simple uncluttered teaching aid too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glaze bible for beginners, 21 July 2011
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
All the glazes in this book use nearly the same set of ingredients but in different proportions. This means you can buy in, say 10-20 different raw materials, which are all cheap, and make practically every glaze recipe featured. When you're learning its so useful to use same ingredients over and over in different proportions as you become familiar with how they react to each other, and the effect they have in different ratios to figure out how they work. There are no obscure materials in here, its all basic stuff every pottery supplier will stock.
Quite a few of the earthenware glaze recipes featured are simply a transparent with a coloured stain added (which feels like a bit of a rip off) most of which use lead sesquilicate, so not good for food and not good to breath in. You can probably substitute it for something else, haven't tried this yet though. If you are from ireland or britain its certainly worth getting this book, I bought an american book with this one and have no idea what most of the raw ingredients even are! Great price for it, packed well, delivery was quick enough. happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the hobbyist?, 13 May 2002
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book,very well set out. It will apeal very much to the professionel ceramic artist, it made me wish I had to mix my own glazes and hang the expense!!but in these days were we can buy all our glazes ready mixed I found I started thinking about how long it would actually take to even start my piece. It made me envy anyone so well into ceramics who do mix their own colours. In saying that the instructions are very easy to follow and the results beautiful, if I had the ingredients and this book as well as the money and the patience, even I could produce the truly wonderful results the author has promised. Ceramics have come a long way but Im sure even some hobbyists mix their own colours, if they do this book would not only be a must but a real gem to have in the library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 13 May 2012
This review is from: The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes (Hardcover)
I bought this book as it looked like it provided a large number of different recipes and colours. Huge numbers of the recipes are in fact the same and just have different stains added. The 'firing range' is often a stated temperature rather than a range and the recipes that require a soak time are impossible for me to use as I am at college and cannot monopolise the kiln with my specific requirements. I have tried 3 of the recipes and all of them failed miserably - the 'matt' glaze came out shiny; one didn't melt at the stated temperature, and the other came out a completely different colour. I know these things are variable but!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes
The Glaze Book: A Visual Catalogue of Decorative Ceramic Glazes by Stephen Murfitt (Hardcover - 11 Mar 2002)
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews