Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do we need books like this?
Because there are great! A lovely compact book containing some well known and many relatively unknown small works. Well catergorised and with neat contemporary graphics, XS, explores various smallscale, fresh and inspiring projects at the fringes of architectural design.
Published on 5 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
I am an architecture student. I find the book interesting in the way that shows project you may don't know
but I don't like the short description and the very little plans and section which appear more decorative than useful to me
as a reader.
Published 6 months ago by Uni guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do we need books like this?, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings (Hardcover)
Because there are great! A lovely compact book containing some well known and many relatively unknown small works. Well catergorised and with neat contemporary graphics, XS, explores various smallscale, fresh and inspiring projects at the fringes of architectural design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great book for referencing &displaying on the coffee table, 28 Nov 2001
By A Customer
An excellent perspective illustrating that small things can be beautiful. Great photography, quirky text and a tactile cover making this a reference and coffee table book!
I'll be using it for the referencing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stylish and thought provoking, 17 Oct 2010
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings (Hardcover)
This book is small, squarish with a brushed metal effect silver cover.

It is the first book in the sequence, and if you were to buy just the one, then this is the one that I would recommend. There is a decent amount of thoughtful text, but not so much as to detract from the photos, which are really why most folk buy these books.

Projects include a giant beach ball you can roll down a hillside in, a 'hairy building' of protruding wooden staves, and a spider like room designed to perch within a crevice.

As the author points out, these buildings are not that far removed from earlier follies, but they exist to make us think and question.

Some reviewers have complained about duplication, I suspect that there are/were two imprints, one by Universe and one by Thames and Hudson. The three that I have bought are this book,

XS Extreme: Big Ideas, Small Buildings
XS Green: Big Ideas, Small Buildings

Although a few architects and projects recur, there is enough new in each book to make it worthwhile.

If you have deep pockets you might also enjoy
SpaceCraft: Fleeting Architecture and Hideouts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings (Hardcover)
I am an architecture student. I find the book interesting in the way that shows project you may don't know
but I don't like the short description and the very little plans and section which appear more decorative than useful to me
as a reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, with plenty of gorgeous photographs and clear descriptions. It is what I was looking for Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings
XS: Big Ideas, Small Buildings by Lucas Dietrich (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2001)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews