Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to HCB's work and life
Having subsequently ordered the much larger 'The Man, The Image & the World - a Retrospective', it was my original intention to keep one and return the other, not because I thought one may be poor and the other good but because I did not know either or their approach, content etc.

Regardless of physical size, this is quite small and definitely pocket-sized and...
Published on 29 Jun. 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small sized
I found the graphics rather crammed and irritating. And anyway the book is so small that you will certainly not be able to appreciate Bresson's lovely pictures as they deserve to be. Don't bother.
Published on 26 Mar. 2009 by Tout en chantant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to HCB's work and life, 29 Jun. 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
Having subsequently ordered the much larger 'The Man, The Image & the World - a Retrospective', it was my original intention to keep one and return the other, not because I thought one may be poor and the other good but because I did not know either or their approach, content etc.

Regardless of physical size, this is quite small and definitely pocket-sized and the other a challenge to a briefcase, they take very different approaches to a similar subject. The retrospective is very comprehensive and includes as wide a variety of images as is likely to seen. This is more selective and there are rather fewer images, but few are common to both volumes. The larger contains some of his artworks, as does this, but also included here are miniaturised reprints from 'Life' and a variety of other images of various types, not necessarily of HCB's making, but of probable relevance.

It isn't about photography, but the photographer. There is more textual content in this volume than in the larger one and the whole may be viewed as a heavily illustrated biography rather than simply a book of photographs. I knew a little about HCB before purchasing this and had been familiar with a limited number of his images. Between the two, they provide a very complete picture of the man, his life and certainly his work.

There may be some who will criticise this because some of the images are little larger than a postage stamp, and had it not been for the very nature of the book, I could have been another. However, seen in context, the size of the images is not important - their inclusion simply broadens the reader experience.

An excellent little book and of a style that I would like to see used for other photographers, and perhaps generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer / introduction to HCB., 17 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
Book layout;
Chapter 1 - The Formative Years
Chapter 2 - Henri Cartier, Photographer
Chapter 3 - Henri Cartier-Bresson, The Great Reporter
Chapter 4 - The Aesthetics Behind The Work
Chapter 5 - HCB: Fame and Posterity
Documents
Bibliography
List of Illustrations
Index
Photo Credits & Acknowledgements

After the books Chapters there are interviews with HCB, his views on photography, how he works, selected quotes, words from other photographers on HCB and so on.

Other users have complained about the size of the pictures in this book. I can only assume that they didn't check the Product Dimensions above which clearly show that this is far from being a coffee table sized book. This fact is also reflected in the price. Paper quality? Well the copy I possess is the 2008 Thames & Hudson edition that has glossy pages which do the job well.

I bought this book in order to get me quickly up to speed on a photographer who is widely acknowledged as being one of the worlds best. It achieves that goal and I feel that this is an excellent Cartier-Bresson primer. Once viewed and introduced to the work of HCB the reader can then decide whether or not to invest money in a larger, more expensive book.

Oh, and for the record, I think he really is a truly great photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small sized, 26 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
I found the graphics rather crammed and irritating. And anyway the book is so small that you will certainly not be able to appreciate Bresson's lovely pictures as they deserve to be. Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HCB to go, 25 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
A little gem of a book. Do not expect top notch reproductions - the book doesn't have the size for that, anyway. But for less than 10 euro's, it gives a very good impression of the work of Cartier Bresson (and of his day and his way of working, and even of some of his writing). As it easily fits in the pocket of a coat or jacket, it is a very pleasant travel companion. For me, it made a dull two hour train ride appear almost too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish book!, 4 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
small, badly printed (on what feels like magazine paper), awful selection of his photos (which are crammed so many to a page it's a waste of time.
There's a reason this book is so cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henri Cartier-Bresson, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
A little book packed with a lot of information. Henri's life story backed up with plenty of photographs. If you are a Henri Cartier-Bresson fan than you will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henri Cartier-Bresson, 17 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
Simply beautiful book. Just pick it up chill out and enjoy the inspiring images and insight into a "photographic institutions" life...

An absolute bargain!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice pocket-sized book, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
I thought this was a nice little book with good text and good reproductions considering the size and price of the book. I did notice the book's dimensions before buying - I think some reviewers expected something much larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent refference piece, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
I love this little book, nice reproduction quality, informative and hard to put down. Another nice addition to my photographic library but a larger version may be purchased in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with purchase!, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) (Paperback)
Wonderful, well illustrated and informative little book!
It also arrived in time from Wordery and was exactly as described. I would certainly recommend you buy from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons)
Henri Cartier-Bresson (New Horizons) by Clément Chéroux (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2008)
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews