Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the genre
This is a recently published book just about bookshelf size with several portfolios of photographs in colour and monochrome taken over many decades. There are many contributing photographers of whom some may be familiar and includes recognised 'masters'. In addition to the main portfolios, there are several themed images that may provide some ideas.

Street...
Published 4 months ago by Andy_atGC

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More automatic than manual
This is a decent book on street photography, but ultimately I'm not sure the format works that well or that the book succeeds fully in it's stated aim of enthusing aspiring street photographers.
The book is a mix of relatively short profiles of 20 established street photographers and 20 projects to try on the streets. Personally, I think Street Photography Now works...
Published 2 months ago by R J Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to the genre, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
This is a recently published book just about bookshelf size with several portfolios of photographs in colour and monochrome taken over many decades. There are many contributing photographers of whom some may be familiar and includes recognised 'masters'. In addition to the main portfolios, there are several themed images that may provide some ideas.

Street photography is slightly unusual in that it sometimes demands a situation where something unusual, interesting or humourous occurs and demands that it be photographed. Without that, it may not be able to hold the viewer's interest. Once that instant is gone, it is lost forever.

The images in the book are a highly varied collection. with very few that may be similar. There may be some where the reader could claim 'I could have taken that' and that may be true but recognising the magic moment and capturing it is something that few will achieve. There is no provided technical information on the images, but none is needed.

The book is split almost 50/50 between photographs and text. Some of the texts may be interview-based but not all.

As a book about street photography, it is one of the better ones and is reasonably priced. The images used are not just 'people' pictures but include buildings and architectural studies. The book is intended to assist and encourage and to help with ideas. It succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More automatic than manual, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
This is a decent book on street photography, but ultimately I'm not sure the format works that well or that the book succeeds fully in it's stated aim of enthusing aspiring street photographers.
The book is a mix of relatively short profiles of 20 established street photographers and 20 projects to try on the streets. Personally, I think Street Photography Now works better as an introduction to the work of renowned and up and coming street photographers because it gives more examples of their work and is a larger format book.
Some of the projects suggested here are interesting and worthwhile, but others seem somewhat contrived and uninspiring. For example one project suggests photographing people who are "lined up" so they merge into a single figure.
At times the book advocates a 'street photography by numbers' approach which is I think unlikely to produce very original images e.g. the author sees a woman in a striped dress and follows her to get a (pretty unremarkable) picture of her on a zebra crossing(geddit?) Elsewhere, Gibson stands in front of a particular background until a subject comes along to make the picture, but for me the resulting images are not that strong.
The writing at times lacks focus, and there is a tendency to try and describe photographs which aren't in the book. Too many of the illustrative photographs are average and I think stronger images could have been used from other photographers to illustrate the points being made.
Although David Gibson hopes that inspiration shines from the book, elsewhere there is reference to street photography as a "bandwagon" which isn't a view likely to enthuse.
There is a fair amount of helpful information in this book. It's usefulness will depend largely on the extent to which a reader buys into Gibson's projects and goes out to work on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Street Photography - a visual feast and a really sound "how-to" book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
Dave Gibson and T&H have done a really good job with this book. It is excellent in almost every way. It is beautifully produced and richly illustrated. It combines aspects that might help one understand and appreciate street photography (abstraction, shadows, reflections - which are things street photographers might keep an eye out for) with some really practical advice about doing it. The 20 featured street photographers include names such as Marc Riboud, Bruce Gilden, Saul Leiter as well as many of Dave Gibson's In-Public colleagues such as Nils Jorgensen and David Solomons. For illustrations, the author has drawn even more widely. The book really is a visual feast. But really soundly constructed, too. Great value at that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
Well written with good photo examples showing that this type of photography is not just about pushing a camera in peoples faces. Good price too with good links to other web sites that might be of interest. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for street photographers!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
Great book, quite stimulating. Really thought proving for those interested in street photography plus really good example pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a photographer with an great interest in Street Photography I find it helpful and ..., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
As a photographer with an great interest in Street Photography I find it helpful and interesting; I will be putting ideas into further practice. Am a keen fan of Vivian Maier who specialised in Street Photography.
Would definitely recommend this book for anyone looking at progressing with an interest in Street Photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good coverage of street photography, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. The right balance between ideas/projects and inspiration (from the profiles of other street photographers). And some things I'd never thought about before for this style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction and guide to Street Photography, 30 July 2014
By 
D. Lehane (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
I must admit I was very hesitant about buying this at first. As a fairly experienced "street photographer" myself I've always had strong views that street photography is just something you do and evolve with. But David Gibson has written an excellent introduction and guide to the world of street photography without placing the reader in a straightjacket of rules, definitions and this-is-how-I-do-it tips. The variety of street photography out there demonstrates how diverse this "genre" is and how difficult it is to write some how-to guide - so full marks for David avoiding doing that.

Instead you'll get his insights from many years of shooting out there on the street and encouragement to go out try things and find your own way/style. The inclusion of profiles of other street photographers is inspiring. All of this won't make you the next Henri Cartier-Bresson, Garry Winogrand or Matt Stuart over night but it should put you on a faster track to understanding what street photography is and isn't - something photographers have argued about since photography was invented.

So read, consider and shoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Nullifidian (Lacoste, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
As a relative newbie, I have bought a number of photography books to help me move forward. For me, this is by far the best. Camera manuals have taught me the technical basics, while other guides have created an awareness of composition, light, depth of field etc.. David Gibson's book is not a how-to technical manual. You will need a fair knowledge of the basics. Instead, the book walks readers through chapters such as Busy; Quiet; Abstract; Still; and Subjects. It encourages readers to look for opportunities, be constantly aware and seize the moment. Each chapter has sub-sections very well illustrated with examples from well-known street photographers. The book is superbly thought through and laid out. Each chapter and section is relatively brief - no waffle or repetition - so it maintains attention and gets its message across very effectively. Never before has a photography book held my interest and attention so well, or communicated valuable guidance, hints and tips so clearly. Very impressive - it really worked for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Street Photographers Manual (Paperback)
This is excellent. Great overview, fabulous tips and has been a source of real inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Street Photographers Manual
The Street Photographers Manual by David Gibson (Paperback - 14 July 2014)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews