Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Web reprint
This book is very like its cover: which is fake letterpress with a ribbon bookmark; something pretending to be other than it is.

It seems to me very probable that this volume continues a series of articles that were originally published on the web site, in a style becoming known as "long form". Which means essays that talk around a subject, rather than...
Published 6 months ago by Paul Lynch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
I quite liked this though it does seem a rather obvious cash in. It was fairly amusing and raised the odd smile. As a book to dip into it worked okay.

It seemed the type of book that gets promoted at Christmas.
Published 3 months ago by The Emperor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Web reprint, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Paul Lynch (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is very like its cover: which is fake letterpress with a ribbon bookmark; something pretending to be other than it is.

It seems to me very probable that this volume continues a series of articles that were originally published on the web site, in a style becoming known as "long form". Which means essays that talk around a subject, rather than directly on a subject. Mr Porter takes the affectation of referring to people as "Mr" (or "Ms", but overwhelmingly "Mr").

Oddly enough, relatively few articles are about clothes; instead they explore all topics of style: architecture, interior design, cars (but as design, not as temples of speed), grooming products (for men), and famous men. There is a section placed in the middle of the book called "The Knack", which is a collection of advice articles: cocktails, watches, lingerie, cooking.

If you follow the Mr Porter web site for the articles, then this is definitely for you (but have you already read all the content on-line?); if you follow other, similar web sites and print publications (GQ, Esquire, Monocle, Valet, Dappered, Primer), it's worth a look. But treat it as a transient magazine, rather than a a reference book for advice.

My disclaimer: I don't follow Mr Porter, the web site, and I have not read Volume 1 of Mr Porter, the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 29 Jan 2014
By 
L. Goldsmith (Featherstone) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a thoroughly funny book, where the most random of things - such as how to face a bear if attacked by one - are turned into style icons. We find advice such as 'Don't enter into a marriage that would never work', why buying a second-hand Rolex is a much better investment than buying a brand new one and so on.
It's an illustrated edition and it will entertain you for a few hours on the train/plane, but don't take it too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the perfect tie-dimple to style icons, but not timeless, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Mr Porter Paper-Back, based on the popular website, is a guide to style for the modern gentleman. Whether it be showing you how to get the perfect dimple in a tie, or discussing the different ways to wear a denim jacket, Mr Porter is certain to show you the fashion faux-pas you never knew you were making.

Although this is primarily sartorial elegance, you also get advice on how to mix cocktails, how to behave in a sauna, and how to dance at a wedding.

If I might hazard a word of criticism of this fine tome, resplendent with a silk book-mark, it is this: I haven't read Mr Porter volume one, and it may be that all of the basics are covered in that, but it seems to me that the selection of advice in this book is slightly random. Most men need the basics of choosing the right suit, what goes with what, how to match your tie shape to your face shape and other such introductory tips before progressing to this level of detail. Also -- if I might offer one other critical note -- much of what is covered here is extremely fashionable at the moment -- like the tie dimple -- but is not necessarily timeless.

For those fascinated by male manners and grooming, this is an interesting and entertaining read, and such readers are likely to be able to distinguish between the important and the trivial. For most men, it may be a tad on the fussy side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How to wear a dressing gown, and other important questions, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a light-hearted but useful little reference book with various bits of advice on how to be a stylish man. It consists of many short chapters that are very easy to read, with the writing style being friendly and inviting. The topics of the chapters are fairly random - there's everything from 'The Denim Jacket' to 'Desk Lamps', complete with photos of stars through the ages wearing denim jackets, or different designs of desk lamp to make your office more fashionable. If you've ever wondered about issues such as how best to pull off the double-denim look, then you'll find these chapters useful! There are also a large amount of short chapters focusing on interviews with particular men - movie stars, designers, etc. I would say the book is about half advice chapters and half interview chapters.

The book is nicely presented - quite small and plain on the outside, but it uses high quality paper stocks and has a wide variety of pictures and photos inside, as well as a ribbon bookmark. I do think the full sale price is incredibly high for what you get though. If you can snap it up on sale then it makes a nice gift for a guy who likes to look good and be knowledgeable about the things that gentlemen should know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 17 April 2014
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I quite liked this though it does seem a rather obvious cash in. It was fairly amusing and raised the odd smile. As a book to dip into it worked okay.

It seemed the type of book that gets promoted at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It depends on your point of view, 17 April 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Elegance, sartorial or otherwise, is covered in great detail here. This is the Western/Caucasian meaning of the word, and makes for interesting reading. It does make me wonder about what was covered in Volume 1, and it follows to wonder whether I am vain.

Here is a disclaimer, I look at the male section of the Fashion supplements in Sunday broadsheets and responses range from admiration and envy to "what the heck?" So this provides some form to my nebulous musings,

The chapters are highly readable, and it follows that ideas and themes that come up on the Mr Porter's website have been expanded to the printed form. For anyone snubbing the effort for snobbishness, here is a thought: think of the ridiculous things boys are into and imagine if you whisked one of those aspects away and got them interested in this book instead.

I would recommend it for the young man beginning to find his style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Pot Pouri, 16 April 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a peculiar book, billed as volume II of 'A manual for a stylish life, it features interviews with Milanese furniture makers, actor Simon Pegg, musician Brian Ferry and a look at classic art-deco drives, among its range of delights. Pegg is very talented and a clever guy but stylish? Not sure about that.

It comes in at a price that would be expensive for a hardcover of similar size and yet it's only a paperback. Having said that, the paper quality is exceptional and the book is novel made and comes with a nice ribbon marker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Porter, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Kindle Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fun, witty and slightly tongue in cheek guide to modern style for men that doesn’t take itself too seriously. However it is not silly or superficial. Anyone with a slight interest in style, will get a lot from this book of short articles on subjects so diverse as choosing a stand out shirt, how to tweet, how to buy lingerie for a lady, how to take the perfect penalty, etc etc. Lots of pictures of stylish role models, with a short paragraph explaining exactly why they were considered icons of male style. The book concentrates on style and not fashion, and so will not date. A perfect book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great volume - in the fine tradition of weekend compendia, 20 Feb 2014
By 
The Penguin "JH" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Got this on a whim, and immediately went out to buy volume 1! - it's a well put together collection of articles on life and style for what one could genuinely call the modern gentleman.
I can't recommend this enough - a worthy follow up to vol 1 (when will we see vol 3?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same - smashing!, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you liked the first volume's blend of humour and style, this is for you.

Seasoned with a soupcon of oddity, this too is essential reading for the chap at large.

One question for the publisher - why no hardback? More's to the point, why no leather bound edition for a gentleman's study?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mr Porter Paperback: The Manual for a Stylish Life - Volume Two: 2
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews