Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 7 Jun. 2013
By 
BJB (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I saw this book at a friend's house and started to flick through it. Four hours later I was still there - absolutely riveted by creative skill and ingenuity of the designer and his studio colleagues. It's wonderfully accessible, with each design given a single page (with a few exceptions) and clear photographic representation. The text is very simple and engaging - 'we had this remit/problem/challenge and we wondered if we could do THIS' - and then a description of how the challenge was undertaken. What's fabulous is that the designs range from tiny Christmas trinkets to magnificent international architectural wonders. Each is rightly given the same weight and simple, beautiful treatment. I stopped for lunch, then went back to the book. I had to read every single page. Then when I'd finished it, I ordered it as a gift for a friend. I hope she takes the hint and gives one back to me! If you love beautiful design and beautiful minds, you will treasure this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 16 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I was made aware of Thomas Heatherwick, like so many people, by virtue of his Olympic Cauldron. I was reacquainted with him thanks to a BBC documentary in which he and Joanna Lumley discussed a project to build a 'bridge garden' across the Thames. I was taken by Thomas's logical yet lateral thinking approach to so many projects and thought this book would be great for an architecturally minded friend. Unfortunately the book never made it on to the friend and is still being enjoyed by me. Rather in the manner of that tv documentary the book's approach does much to illuminate the way Thomas looks at a problem and sees it as an opportunity, and opportunity to be bold and innovative. But it's also interesting to see how in many of his projects he has not been innovative for innovations' sake but rather how a commission leads to a train of thought that delivers something more substantial and more positively provocative than the original brief might suggest. Reading - and looking at - that process is where this book really succeeds.
Just a quick postscript. There are two versions of this book listed. Make sure you go for the newer one - with the flash on the cover - which includes details of the Olympic Cauldron project. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I'd expected it'd be a 'coffee table' book, but my daughter was doing a project inspired by a couple of the heatherwick studio designs, so I got it her. It is so much better than I expected & she has devoured it & found so much more to inspire her in it. btw, we don't have a coffee table...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book of design and photography, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
Thomas Heatherwick must surely be the 21st century equivalent to Leonardo!
A brilliant book to dip into to marvel at the innovative ideas and successes of this creative genius.
Easy to read with wonderful photography. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy., 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
Brilliant man.Brilliant and beautiful book.Worth every penny.
Do get hold of this book which is just full of the author's wonderful creativity,with great illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flooding of extraordinary ideas!, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
Every project and every page in the book shows you how a genius is playing with the problem and solved it with extraordinary idea !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heatherwick, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
A great publication about a great design studio. My favourite is the extruded aluminium bench, If Heatherwick have any slightly sub-standard ones I wouid be happy to make an offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 18 July 2013
By 
M. M. Lomas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I ordered this book as a present. It arrived on time and in perfect condition. It is a beautiful book about the works of the man who designed the Olympic flame in London 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing book., 20 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Mynett (Aberbanc,Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I am bowled over by the talent of Thomas Heatherwick and his studio. The range of ideas and the inspirational projects - what a creative group they are.I spend hours reading about everything they have accomplished and look-forward to new projects such as the garden bridge being completed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as expected, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Thomas Heatherwick: Making (Paperback)
I was waiting to buy the book in order to find an offer: here it is! I saved 10£ and the book is even upload to Heatherwick's Olympic project. Whatelse? His projects are so various and so interesting..and there is a perfect balance between great images and interesting texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas Heatherwick: Making
Thomas Heatherwick: Making by Maisie Rowe (Paperback - 13 May 2013)
£20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews