Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Booooooook, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Hardcover)
I find this book massively helpful, I'm a studying illustrator and I don't really have a type background, but this book has taught me methods , artists , styles and overall has enthused me about the craft and how much skill is involved.it is Ideal for studying illustrators or graphic designers, great bit of research material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visual thinking, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Hardcover)
I opened this book at random in a bookshop and was blown away by the work of Tom Geismar. I then began to flip through it and found that it was a goldmine of ideas. To see the preliminary work of all these designers gives one an glimpse of their working methods and an entree into alternative ways of unlocking visual problems. As an educational too or just a source of pleasure it has the 'Wow' factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE" typography book to have, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Hardcover)
An excellent insight into the creative minds and forming typography style of some of the most talented and admired designers. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, from unwrapping til the last page. It reminds me that the simplest of strokes/shapes can form so many interesting type styles. Inspiring and beautifully presented. I recommend this to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Hardcover)
Great book with all kinds of typography. It has a lot of pages, so a lot of inspiration. I recommend this book.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful book, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
this is a beautiful book. thames and hudson deserve a pat on their collective backs, even the paper the book is printed on is worth mentioning, it's thick and matt, it's a pleasure to hold. steven and lita (i hope i can call them that, as this is a very personal feeling book) have compiled a gem. every page is a treat, the doodles are inspiring, the more finished works are sumptious. when i typed "typography" into amazon search, this wasn't the book i had in mind, but now i've found it, i feel enriched as a human being - it's that good. i hope you buy this book and get the same feeling i do. it's probably not for everyone, but if you also search typography on amazon, then i can only assume you're one of those people too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars joyous, 24 May 2014
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
I grew up in a house where there were always Letraset sheets lying about, for the uninitiated, they were plastic film with black type that could be transferred to paper by carefully scribbling on the back with a blunt pencil. Letraset was the traditional way of putting a specific typeface on paper, one letter at a time, for offset lithography. Things have changed since then, Letraset sheets are a curio now, rather than something that you could buy at a specialist shop on every large high street. But I still love fonts.

This is a well produced book of extracts from sketchbooks belonging to various people who work with fonts, some are traditional typographers, some designers, it is a splendidly diverse selection. It is impossible to generalise about the sketches or the artists, some find sketching invaluable, some seldom sketch anything. If there is a theme it is perhaps that like the Letraset sheets, these days of sketchbooks as an everyday piece of a designer’s toolkit are numbered. The digital revolution and ubiquitous laptops means that wacom tablets will probably replace sketchbooks in twenty years. If they do then we will be much the poorer, this is an inspiring book that offers a ready insight into creativity and creation, and will be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in the every day reality of designing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seems to be good!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
This was a present, and it seems to be popular! I haven't read it myself but my wife is happy with it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product And Great Price, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. P. Bruce "Pete" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
Great Product and a Great Price with a super fast service too! The product was exactly as described

Very Happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pefect, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter who is studying Graphic Design and she loved it !
Great value for money too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pages, great colours, inspiring snippits from illustrators, typographers and hand letterers., 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typography Sketchbooks (Paperback)
Wonder thick pages with high contrasting colours convey the beauty of the craftmanship of the artists it represents.

helpful as can dip in and out of the book as and when.

little paragraph from the artists gives you insight into them, and an introduction to loads of artists you may not have met before.

Bee reading and studying for hours and still only 3/4 of the way through. useful for researching artists for dissertation subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Typography Sketchbooks
Typography Sketchbooks by Lita Talarico (Paperback - 2 July 2012)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews