Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but there are deeper books
Firstly, I'd give this a 3 if it weren't such good value in terms of paper and ink compared to many photo books.

As others have described, the book features a sectioned approach to the big hitters in art and contemporary photography from the last 30 or so years, in fact, in some cases I was surprised to see such old work from (excellent) artists like Sugimoto...
Published on 13 Sept. 2010 by Crabclawhands

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable and indepth book
I must confess to finding this book very interesting, Bright speaks clearly with a voice of authority. It is refreshing to see that long gone are the attitudes that photography is not art, here we get on with the business in hand, that of defining and providing examples of the best of art photography right now.

As usual with 'art', some of the concepts will be...
Published on 20 Oct. 2012 by Brian Hamilton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable and indepth book, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
I must confess to finding this book very interesting, Bright speaks clearly with a voice of authority. It is refreshing to see that long gone are the attitudes that photography is not art, here we get on with the business in hand, that of defining and providing examples of the best of art photography right now.

As usual with 'art', some of the concepts will be unappealing and lack depth or longevity, but there are many gems in here and some images that are genuinely excellent. Off course, everyone looks for different things when it comes to art and I am sure that what appealed to me will not to others and vice-versa.

On the whole this book clearly divides art photography into fundamental sectors and explains the state of progress in each, I found Brights writing understandable, accessible and she certainly does not preach from a lofty pulpit, she seems to understand that photography, by its democratic nature, is the art for the masses. She understands that this does not cheapen the artform at all.

An invigorating, interesting book that serves as an excellent introduction to the world of art photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but there are deeper books, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
Firstly, I'd give this a 3 if it weren't such good value in terms of paper and ink compared to many photo books.

As others have described, the book features a sectioned approach to the big hitters in art and contemporary photography from the last 30 or so years, in fact, in some cases I was surprised to see such old work from (excellent) artists like Sugimoto. Images from the 70's aren't very NOW as the book might have you expect, even if they are lovely! Reproductions are good throughout and it covers a wide range of styles and genres, like most photography books it has a strong European and American bias, but that's nothing new.

My complaint with the book would be that it could certainly cover some newer, emerging talent, while the book covers many artists you wouldn't see on the shelves of Waterstones it's by no means packed with obscure young talent in need of exposure, pun not intended. The other issue for me is the text, it's both typographically poor, in that it's MASSIVE and poorly laid out, it's also very thin on conceptual detail and depth. Won't be a problem for everyone, but I'd have liked to see more.

That aside, for it's current very low price it serves as a great introduction to a fascinating area the arts, just don't expect too much. Should you be interested in a more comprehensive survey of modern photography try and track down a copy of Vitamin Ph, which is excellent. Or better yet support British journals such as Photoworks and Source!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for - art photography now!, 4 May 2006
By 
Jee Sun Park "sunshine" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is divided into themes, such as The City, Portraiture,

etc.

It provides a great intro to all sections, notes on a body of

work that is current for each of the photographers she has

chosen in each section, and the reproductions are amazing.

Each photographer has a quote that is especially well chosen

to depict their body or work, or that reveals about them as a photographer/artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated and of a very high quality., 21 Aug. 2006
By 
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
This book is beautifully illustrated and has an excellent range of photographers and genres of photography. A good book for discovering the less talked-about photographers who deserve to be more well known. It's very nicely presented and a must-buy for anyone who has even a slight interest in art photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
I had to buy this book as part of my reading list for university. I really love this book.

It has great introductions to each of the genres of photography. Followed by a mixture of different photographers. Its great for finding new photographers. And it has a beautiful selection of images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art Photography Now, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
Beautifuly written and in depth analized of general photography, from cultural point of view to artistic one.
a must for photography takers and lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight, 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
A great book especially for me as I've started an HND in photography. Easy to read and laid out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 1 April 2006
By 
This book is beautifully illustrated and has an excellent range of photographers and genres of photography. A good book for discovering the less talked-about photographers who deserve to be more well known. It's very nicely presented and a must-buy for anyone who has even a slight interest in art photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars of doubtful value., 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Beck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
Too many images are of doubtful value and oddly included so that the book as a whole lacks authority and the idea of art deployed is inexplicable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very ordinary book, 6 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Art Photography Now (Paperback)
The author seems to rant a lot merely compiling the photographs of famous photographers. But the content is badly managed & even the selection of photographs leave a lot to be desired.
The texts are somewhat better. However, it seems the author just wants to rant rant & rant providing snippets of information without a streamlined approach.
It would have been nice to see the author speak of important aspects like dimensions, lighting & other features in the photograph as means of contemporary art.
Simply a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art Photography Now
Art Photography Now by Susan Bright (Paperback - 19 Sept. 2011)
£16.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews