Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps one of the Photography books of the year!
I first saw this book in the Tate Modern and put of buying it until I got back home, knowing Amazon was cheaper. I then put off buying it again and it was soon sold out at Amazon! I finally got the last copy at the Tate Modern and hence my first lesson learnt is buy books from Amazon when you see them, not later.

To the book ...

It is a truly...
Published on 15 Nov. 2010 by A. J. Grogan

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a little bit too uncritical
Street photography is clearly not easy. The shifting composition of the street, the difficulty of getting close enough (but maybe not too close), and the modern suspicion of photography in public places all combine to make it a challenge.

This rather good book looks at the work of a number of street photographers, who all meet these, and other challenges, in a...
Published 19 months ago by Stewart M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and inspirational, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
This covers a wide range of photographers' work, and is truly international. Not all the pictures are to my taste, but there is more than enough in both pictures and text to inspire me to go out and do more of my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than for your coffee table, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
A marvellous book, full of passion, craft and enthusiasm. This is more than just a 'coffee table' accessory, it will energise you creative side and make you want to get out there and emulate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photos and stories - nice book, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
I wanted this book for a long time since I first saw it in Tate Modern in London. Nice pictures, plus some stories to entertain you.
Very fast delivery, fully satisfied with the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Street Photography, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
Excellent collection of images and photographers. A very good survey of current approaches to Street Photography - which is a pretty elusive concept. A good reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars srteet, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
excellent book, which is really good pictures and lots of useful information. a good source of inspiration and a lot of great ideas and suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good sunday browse, 10 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
great photos that really make you think. it makes you want to get behind the lens and capture some rare snapshots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did nothing to inspire me, 25 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
This book just doesn't do it for me. I don't like most of the photos in the book nor do I find the narratives about the people who took them to be terribly interesting. In terms of the paper and printing, the book is good quality (it's quite big and heavy). I have found plenty of street photography on-line that inspires me a lot more than most of what's in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book all round, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
Fantastic book with a great selection of Photos and Photographers. Excellent for the money, highly recommended for Amateurs and Pros alike, or anyone for that matter. Includes artists from all around the world with a wide variety of styles. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why I no longer like "Street Photography", 20 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
This book reminds me why I no longer like 'Street Photography'. The images are bland and rely on stereotypical gimmicks to create mildly humorous or slightly strange moments. Basically just the usual cliches. They lack the resonance and depth of real street photography which pushes boundaries, relates to contemporary art practices and has real passion for its subject.

I bought this, flicked though and was totally unimpressed. Apart from the inclusion of work by Alex Webb, a real photographer, the work here is amateurish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money in a large format heavily laden ..., 11 April 2015
By 
A. Schon "schonyuk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Photography Now (Paperback)
Fantastic value for money in a large format heavily laden with photographs. I love looking through this book looking for inspiration. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Photography Now
Street Photography Now by Stephen McLaren (Paperback - 13 Jun. 2011)
£14.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews