Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful book on stop-motion animation, and on how Aardman Studios make theirs
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:06 Mins
This is sort of a behind-the-scenes book that looks at animation production inside the famous Aardman Studios, creators of successful Wallace and Gromit films, Chicken Run and others.

The perspective is that of Aardman Studios so this book focuses on stop-motion animation. The 3-D in the title means the physical 3D, the actual...
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by Parka

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much History
A disappointing buy. Was intended as a present for an animation beginner. Chapters of the history of Aardman were of no interest.
Published 9 months ago by WGR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful book on stop-motion animation, and on how Aardman Studios make theirs, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
Length:: 1:06 Mins

This is sort of a behind-the-scenes book that looks at animation production inside the famous Aardman Studios, creators of successful Wallace and Gromit films, Chicken Run and others.

The perspective is that of Aardman Studios so this book focuses on stop-motion animation. The 3-D in the title means the physical 3D, the actual construction of stuff, as compared to computer generated 3D (only a small section is on that).

The book starts with a long but interesting history of animation, right from the day stop motion was used for films up to the recent releases for Aardman Studios.

The second part jumps into the more technical side of making animation. There are chapters on basic clay animation, model makings, set designs, animating movements and expressions and using CGI. These are all furnished with lots of great pictures and insightful commentary from the staff. It's difficult not to marvel at the ingenuity behind making these animation. There are explanation on the camera tricks used, on how to create enduring characters on paper and in clay, and other production stories.

The final part looks at film making in depth, from scripting to animating, including thoughts given to creating other related content like games and websites. Several films were used as mini case studies, such as the early Peter Lord's Adam, Curse of the Were-rabbit, Chicken Run and other lesser known films.

This is a very insightful book on stop-motion animation, and on how Aardman Studios make theirs. Recommended to fans and enthusiasts.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
this is a fantastic book for any budding animator. I got it for my 8 year old son who had completed a one week trick-box course over the summer and he has dived straight in. It explains many important processes and shows relevant examples etc. and most of these are from the well know aardman studios animations like wallace and gromit & shaun the sheep, which i believe was the inspiration for my sons animation in the first place. I too find the book very interesting and cant wait to get animating with my son on some of the projects he has planned.

nick elliott
loudBANG! design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll out the clay, baby!, 24 Jan 1999
By A Customer
I have been describing this book as a book that has changed my life. As an aspiring clay animator I have learned tons of tricks and feel so much more confident to get out there and move my clay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy buy buy, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book definitely worth purchasing as it has many great animation information and technique inside great bargain and great for animators
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for Granddaughter, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
I bought this for my 12 year old granddaughter who is very into all types of animation and thought it was great. This has fulled her desire to get involved in modelling and making her own short animated films Thus providing me with lots of future gift ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
What a great book, my son lives it. We got it for his birthday to go with a stop motion camera and editing kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, educational and funny., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
An insightful trip to the Aardman's world and its workflow.

Using the Aardman history as common thread, the book goes through the animation evolution, looking into Aardman's best feature films and shorts and revealing some of their working secrets and pro tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking present....., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
Arrived on time, in great condition.

This present has given my daughter hours of pleasure and assisted her in developing her modelling skills....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Andrew Gooding (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a teenage cartoonist and it went down very well. An informative, interesting and fun book about the subject and plenty of background on the Aardman studios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend of 12 who loves animation and making his own films, he said it was the best birthday present and just what he wanted! It's a great book for those into animation, he loved looking at it and is into doing his own animation using stuff with guidance from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation
Cracking Animation: The Aardman Book of 3-D Animation by Brian Sibley (Paperback - 25 Oct 2010)
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews