Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally i know
I recommend this book to anyone who has somehow, in any way, to do with photography. The way the author gets intimate with the photographers and curators etc. is really captivating and different to anything I've read so far. The author, Anne-Celine Jaeger, knows a lot of details about the photographers, editors, gallery owners etc. and how to get even more fruity details...
Published on 20 May 2007 by Wakonda

versus
7 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I was disappointed by this book. I found that, with a few exceptions, the images ranged from at best ordinary to at worst downright weird or soulless, and some even of poor technical quality. Sorry, I like images that hit me in the eye with a message, or a visual treat. Boring. One of the most depressing books I have ever bought. Depression was intensified by the thought...
Published on 5 May 2010 by Mr. N. Gott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally i know, 20 May 2007
I recommend this book to anyone who has somehow, in any way, to do with photography. The way the author gets intimate with the photographers and curators etc. is really captivating and different to anything I've read so far. The author, Anne-Celine Jaeger, knows a lot of details about the photographers, editors, gallery owners etc. and how to get even more fruity details out of them. Whether you want to know about what lighting Mary Ellen Mark uses in her pictures or whether William Eggleston had someone to talk to about his work when he first started doing pics (that's more my thing), you'll find it here. My favourite section is the one on newcomers in photography, because it shows how they find their own technique and how they came through. It gives people like me, who are still unseen and struggling and doubting their own work some hope. I also always wondered how to make it into New York Times Magazine, now I know...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the mind of a photographer, 12 May 2007
By 
Image Makers, Image Takers contains all the questions I've always wanted to ask to photographers: influence, inspiration, technique, career path etc. It also includes some other aspects of the business (curators, picture editors...) which are usually ignored. It is very accessible and informative and it is a priceless insight into a photographer's mind. A fantastic guide to aspiring photographers, why wait so long to publish it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Succinct, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wish there were more books like this, a quiet modest curatorial approach, the author lets the photographers/professionals do the talking but structures it with appropriate questions. Well edited, beautifully illustrated, I keep picking it up. A broad collection of photographers are represented from commercial to documentary, this book teases out common themes and ways of working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the 1* reviews!, 21 April 2011
By 
J. J. Ryder (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know (Paperback)
I think this book could be a valuable resource for many photographers, particularly someone trying to learn about the field as a whole whilst developing their own approach and style.

The images selected for the book really aren't the main point - it's really about the accompanying interviews, most of which are revealing, insightful and thought-provoking. The images are there to exemplify the work of each of the photographers interviewed. There are certainly a few odd shots in there, but many more are excellent, given the context, and some are extraordinary (e.g. William Eggleston, Mary Ellen Mark).

It could be argued that the interviews can only skim the surface, leading the reader needing to delve more deeply into relevant texts for each photographer. But so what? The book makes an excellent spring-board to do just that.

I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photo guide, 8 Nov 2010
Great for different angles and ideas - brill for those just getting into photography and wanting to experiment further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know (Paperback)
All good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know (Paperback)
Packed full of useful information for the amateur photographer, a must have for anyone interested in photography - I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Oct 2013
By 
S. Honeyman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know (Paperback)
Easy to read, well laid out book which is very informative for photographers and artists alike. It has a good mixture of image and text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for photography students .. or just any photographer wanting inspiration, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know (Paperback)
Some really great interviews with contemporary photographers, curators talking about their inspiration and how they make work.

A great insight into their minds.

Some really inspiring quotes from those who have made it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book for those wanting to know what's in Photography besides all the technical stuff. Read it, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Image Makers, Image Takers: The Essential Guide to Photography by Those in the Know
12.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews