Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fanatical
I bought this from one of those bargain book stores as i was an avid fanzine reader (mostly music) back in the 90s. I'm glad i bought it without reading the reviews here first as there seems a lot of controversy surrounding it's purchase (or not) and it therefore saved me having to make any sort of conscientious decision (more on that subject later).
It's a massive...
Published 8 months ago by Peter Hill

versus
34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK
Unfortunately, a great deal of the artwork contained within was included without the permission of the original artists, and in some cases, mis-credited or not credited at all. My artwork was included and I wasn't even informed until after publication. Teal herself has refused to answer many of the emails sent to her in regards to this matter, and has ignored calls for...
Published on 7 Dec. 2010 by Hello Amber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fanatical, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Peter Hill ""yoghurtknitter"" (Waterville Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
I bought this from one of those bargain book stores as i was an avid fanzine reader (mostly music) back in the 90s. I'm glad i bought it without reading the reviews here first as there seems a lot of controversy surrounding it's purchase (or not) and it therefore saved me having to make any sort of conscientious decision (more on that subject later).
It's a massive book (A4 size), runs to 250 pages and is choc-a-bloc full of wonderful photos of zines of all styles, many in colour. Purely as a piece of visual art it's just wonderful and is definitely classic 'coffee table' material.
There are a dozen or so pages dedicated to the history of fanzines and how they've changed over the years but as a lot of it related to non music zines it didn't really hold my attention. Each zine was also given a few lines describing it to various degrees but i think these pen pictures could have included more info e.g the Blaster! zine states "it's format was designed around the inclusion of a 7 inch vinyl single" but they then fail to state what the single was and there are quite a few instances where i think some extra info would have enhanced the subject matter.
Back to the controversy....i knew a couple of fanzine writers back in the day and i'm certain neither of them ever contacted the owners of pictures they cut/pasted into their zines, i doubt it ever crossed their minds, and that was the beauty of it all, just pour your heart out onto paper add some photos and get it out there asap.
It seems somewhat ironic that the people who subverted the system/rules originally are now complaining that the rules aren't being followed this time around? Perhaps i would feel different if my work was being (ab)used? However as far as i could see most of the images are credited in the back of the book and perhaps practicalities didn't allow all contributors to be contacted?
Whatever the moral issues it's a great book and if you like/liked zines you should love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING COLLECTION OF WORK!!!, 23 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
A lot of people have complained about this book because the author used zines without notifying their producers!!!!!!!! Frankly this is crazy. DIY was anarchic and against copyright and at least 70% of material in zines comes from other sources. That's what it was all about dummies!! I was there and very much a part of it and am angry not because she used my zine without my permission but because she didn't!!! How dare she leave me out of a history of this "subversive counter-cultural trend".
AN AMAZING COLLECTION OF WORK ... WELL DONE Teal Triggs!!! When you're doing a reprint make sure you include KinoKaze girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK, 7 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
Unfortunately, a great deal of the artwork contained within was included without the permission of the original artists, and in some cases, mis-credited or not credited at all. My artwork was included and I wasn't even informed until after publication. Teal herself has refused to answer many of the emails sent to her in regards to this matter, and has ignored calls for apologies and / or compensation. To make matters worse, much of the information provided in her essays is blatantly untrue. I would absolutely not recommend this book. If you insist on reading it, check it out at your local library, but please do not contribute your hard-earned cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misses the whole point of Fanzines, 28 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
I came across this book entirely by accident, which is somewhat surprising considering one of my fanzines is featured in it. I can only speak to the punk era of fanzine production but a graphical design view point misses the point entirely of how constrained production was by resources and knowledge and simply not caring how something looked in preference to getting it published. Type cut from newspapers, had written notes and botched screen printed covers were accidents not deliberate design decisions - though to the press and public increasingly fascinated by punk T shirts and Album covers it might have seemed so. Because of this central misapprehension I'm not sure anything useful can be gleaned from reading this book, though I can certainly understand the temptation for an academic to try to string and argument together many years in hindsight.

A much better alternative to this book would be to pick up any old fanzines on auction sites and online and read what the authors themselves say about about the production process (you might be surprised by how often this type of discussion is part of the actually published work).

As far as I can tell a large proportion my friends publications from my era have been used without permission. It might have been hard to track some publishers down after all this time, though my address appeared in each and every issue of my Fanzine so there isn't really any excuse for not trying. I can't say many of them would care about that from a copyright point of view (fanzines ripped of stuff all the time) but you can bet that if asked most of them wouldn't want their work included in a poncy art book at 20 quid a pop. My guess is that realising that they wouldn't be given permission is could be why the author of this book never asked for it. A commons strategy in publishing is to obtain permission to use something when it's by a professional publisher, but avoid asking amateurs precisely because they might refuse. Ethically that's condemnable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insulting, 8 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
Very few, if any, zinesters included were informed until after publication and were not even given the decency of an apology. Insulting to the culture it supposedly supports. DO NOT BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars glad to have it in my collection of art books, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book which helped me through my uni research project based on zine culture, glad to have it in my collection of art books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A master enciclopedia for the Zine world, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
Interesting book about zine, unfortunately the author didn't ask to the zine publisher the license to publish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
Perfect if you are interested in zines, large book also which makes it easier to look at the pictures .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
super interesting book about zine! must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 20 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Fanzines (Paperback)
an inspirational and comprehensive collection of zines. reasonably priced and sympathetic to the underlying ethos of zine production. an excellent book to inspire students. should be on every graphic designer's reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanzines
Fanzines by Teal Triggs (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2010)
£16.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews