Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting book
This book is brilliant! It uses maps of the world to display data by distorting the physical size of countries according to the relevant data - the result is a very visual feel for the data - much more powerful than figures or words could be. Every page has a global map displaying a different set of data and the range of data is huge, spanning from spread of diseases to...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by T. Keen

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Book
This book presents country statistics in the form of a map where the size of the country is adjusted to the data. This means the shapes of the countries are distorted to fit the data. Unfortunately this means that sometimes the countries are unrecognisable. E.g if I showed you the map for Exports of Machinery and asked you which country was the biggest exporter I don't...
Published on 30 Nov 2009 by R. J. Hole


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting book, 7 Oct 2008
By 
T. Keen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is brilliant! It uses maps of the world to display data by distorting the physical size of countries according to the relevant data - the result is a very visual feel for the data - much more powerful than figures or words could be. Every page has a global map displaying a different set of data and the range of data is huge, spanning from spread of diseases to energy use, from prevalence of national disasters to effectiveness of legal systems.

The book is pretty large and an ideal coffee table read. You don't need to be particularly analytical to get a lot from it - just need to be interested in the world. A fantastic new way of looking at the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opener, 27 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs B (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This is a great book and really opens your eyes to the inequalities of this world.
The simple morphing of the continents gives an immediate overview of each topic which can be interpreted alone or considered with others (e.g. look at imports followed by exports).
Buy it for yourself then buy it for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Attractive Series of Snapshots of Our World, 14 Sep 2009
By 
With this book You can know, only with eyes, what's the reality about an incredible number of arguments and questions. If You consider the wolly set of data here involved, You can comprise the "why" of very very many events of today life. That's a book that every person would read (see): a mine of questions to think about, and possibly to do about.
Bagnari Tullio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 4 Feb 2009
By 
N. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is full of fascinating facts about the world - some will leave you feeling angry and/or sad about the state of the world, others are just plain interesting. The kind of book you don't want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great atlas, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the Way We Live (Paperback)
Great atlas with lots of interesting facts and figures. Some of the maps do seem to repeat themselves and some subjects are a bit over done. But a good read and it opens your eyes to issues you probably new nothing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A time capsule, 5 April 2009
This book is a bit of a time capsule - it's a shot taken in time, and it will be interesting to pick it up again in 10 years and see which issues have changed, and where the weight has shifted. I think everyone's library should include a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table Book, 30 Nov 2009
By 
R. J. Hole (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book presents country statistics in the form of a map where the size of the country is adjusted to the data. This means the shapes of the countries are distorted to fit the data. Unfortunately this means that sometimes the countries are unrecognisable. E.g if I showed you the map for Exports of Machinery and asked you which country was the biggest exporter I don't think you would have any clue. You'd know it was somewhere in Europe and probably guess Germany. Then you'd check the list below and find the answer was Switzerland.

While the graphics are a novel way of presenting the data sometimes a graph or a list would give better meaning to the data. The graphics are fine for seeing the big players (subject to the limitation mentioned above) but beyond those it is difficult to tell who the small players are. The exception is when a big country is a small player such that the country disappears and you think, say, "where has Australia gone?"

Like a lot of coffee table books it is big and expensive, great for a browse, but ultimately an unsatisfying experience, and one that you wont repeat very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the Way We Live
The Atlas of the Real World: Mapping the Way We Live by Anna Barford (Paperback - 4 Oct 2010)
24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews