Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photographs of Beautiful English villages - this book will not disappoint
A carefully chosen selection of some of England's most attractive villages, invariably quaint and always strikingly captured in this beautiful collection of photographs interspersed with a short commentary.

This is the perfect book for lovers of traditional English villages and photography. It lives up to its name and will not disappoint.
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by K-Roo

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty enough
This book is pretty enough and nice to browse but there are some gorgeous views that are strangely missing and I don't think the photography is always that good; I thought Southwell was a town not a village? It's a big book that I think is a bit light on content given it's size.
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by andy leicestershire


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photographs of Beautiful English villages - this book will not disappoint, 17 Jan 2010
By 
K-Roo "K-Roo" (Wye Valley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
A carefully chosen selection of some of England's most attractive villages, invariably quaint and always strikingly captured in this beautiful collection of photographs interspersed with a short commentary.

This is the perfect book for lovers of traditional English villages and photography. It lives up to its name and will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same books - different title, 14 Feb 2011
"The Most Beautiful Villages of England" and "Picture Perfect English Villages (The Most Beautiful...)" are the same books, just different titles. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book about English Villages, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Niels Arthur Bindner (Svendborg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book with its good commentary and splendid photography records the richness and diversity of the English village in a way that you just want to spent your holidays in these idyllic villages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty enough, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
This book is pretty enough and nice to browse but there are some gorgeous views that are strangely missing and I don't think the photography is always that good; I thought Southwell was a town not a village? It's a big book that I think is a bit light on content given it's size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful journey, 12 Feb 2012
By 
I. Duarte (Avare, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had to control my anxiety until the arrival of the book, but I'm now enjoying my reading! Splendid pictures, fluent text, nice reading ... for those who plan a journey through the English countryside or just for those who want to find out a little about the way of life of these beautiful medieval villages and fancy yourself roaming the streets and alleys and observing how nature was generous with all of them! Those are really "picture perfect" English villages and you will surely love to know them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 13 July 2013
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
Reading the book is like taking a stroll through wonderful, bucolic towns and rural villages. I would highly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift, really well received…, 26 May 2013
By 
J. McCully - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
I bought this from my mum on her birthday and she really loved it! The only slight problem I had with it/have with it is that it is a softback book, not a hardback. Hardback would make it five-star. A really good buy though…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have (but not a must have) for Country enthusiasts, 23 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
An interesting guide to some of England's nicest villages. It is pictorially focused, with some small textual annotations so the reader can thumb or glance through the guide.

It needs mentioning that it is a big book - (30.8 x 24.8 x 2 cm); this forms some great panoramic and scaled photos but can make the guide physically heavy and cumbersome. I think the format would have been better in a smaller size which would lend itself more practically to traveling and touring.

Traversing the northern, eastern, western and southern counties, the guide aims to offer a taste of English village beauty. The author acknowledges in his written introduction, that the villages are picked more by regional representation as opposed to a strict top list of his most beautiful villages. Perhaps something is lost here though - as when I purchased the book, I felt I was getting the title: the author's version of the most beautiful villages in England. Instead, more aptly, I acquired a regional guide to some of the most beautiful villages in England, according to the author(s). I would have preferred a top list, whatever and whichever the regions.

There is some insightful historical information associated with the villages and is suggestive of a lost English world -- a world that is still very real, and maintains its underlying culture, legacy and heritage. Through it, I learnt of new places which was a bonus.

The photographs are clear and the text is fairly concise. Whether it is a guide that I will refer to in years to come is doubtful, but it is still nice to have on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 6 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: The Most Beautiful Villages of England (Paperback)
I bought this book for some friends as a Christmas present and they loved it, I liked it so much that I ordered another one straight away that was two weeks ago and still haven't received it, so all I can say is it's a lovely book but don't hold your breath for delivery because it doesn't happen in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long may our lovely Villages stay this way..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very beautiful picturesque book with lots of helpful information about our wonderful picture perfect English villages which make you want to get out & about & explore !
Anon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Most Beautiful Villages of England
The Most Beautiful Villages of England by Hugh Palmer (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
£11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews