Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures are better than words, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Probably one of the best photography books I have ever looked at /read. The celebrity photos weren't really to my interest, but seeing normal people in their everyday lives and key moments in history attracted my attention. A simply laid out book, and knowing the back stories of the photographers who took some of the most powerful photos I've ever seen, makes this a beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured: compassion and compositions, 19 Nov. 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
On page 558 of this stunning photo book there is a studio shot taken in 1960 by Bill Sumits of thirty-eight Life photographers, surely the only time in history that so many great photographers have been together in one place and it is amazing to think that the ninety-nine featured in the book were all on the staff of this one publication.

The book is arranged alphabetically and each photographer gets between five and eight images plus their photo and short hundred or so word biography. Now it's possible to see who took so many images that defined a moment and became classic examples of photojournalism and also to see other examples of their great work. John Loengard's introduction does not say so but I assume all the photos did appear in Life and they cover the years from 1936 (when the title started) to 1997. The book is well designed with mostly one photo per page (well printed in 175 dpi) and a caption and nicely some photos get longer captions where a photographer reveals some background detail about their images.

There are a lot of news type photos here, especially from the Second World War years but equally as many taken from the photo-essay style work that Life became famous for. Others show celebrities and ordinary folk going about their lives. These photos are so good that you have to stop and really take notice of what they are telling you. I think this wonderful book is a strong visual reminder of how great Life was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life., 6 Jan. 2012
By 
-EFox- (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
If you're a photography student, then this book is perfect. As photography we learn by images (quite obviously) and the severe lack of mountain blocks of text mean there's a full page photo and a name only - perfect for flicking through, and being able to read the book without actually reading it. It's easy to find a photograph for inspiration and some of them certainly aren't for the feint-hearted, so if you're already tainted with the desperation and brutality of photojournalism, then this book is ideal. The lack of history behind the photographs isn't really an issue, as once you've found a photograph that is breath-taking, the name and title can give you the research from anywhere.

If you've ever seen a photograph and felt as though your life has changed, and for a second you forgot to breathe and your eyes widened, get this book. Never before has a single book collected as many photographs that have broken the human barriers of the things we never expect to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book of LIFE images, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can sit for hours absorbed by images such as the ones in this book. I have another book called "Century" which is similar in its approach. I'm not reviewing this book from the perspective of a professional photographer or photojournalist, who may have many professional criticisms, but simply from someone who loves good quality imagery that makes you think and reflect on the circumstances of the image and people involved. I don't look at this book too often which may sound odd given my review but merely I save the experience so as not to become too familiar with the imagery and keep the pleasure of viewing them... I'm sure someone will understand what I mean with that statement. Another good book to view is Reuel Goldens "Witness" which is full of imagery by eminent photojournalists, again very emotive and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity to see some of the best US photographers of the 20th Century in action, 21 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
In its time, Life magazine was the virtual equivalent of today's 'Hello' or 'OK', a mix of news and celebrities but without the big money payments for coverage of someone's wedding. Life employed some of the best photographers working in the USA then available and examples of many are included here. A mini-listing of about a dozen is included on the back cover and it is by no means complete. The nearest British competitor at the time would have been 'Picture Post' which, like life, no is longer published.

Life had several phases and closed more than once, only to be relaunched in a slightly different form. The final re-launch was subsequent to its acquisition by and merging with Time magazine, creating Time-Life which was later absorbed by Warner Bros. Originally launched in the 1880s as a text-based magazine, from 1936-72 it took the form which is most remembered, the weekly pictorial magazine. For a few years it was infrequently published before becoming a monthly that ran from 1978-2000. For about 4 years from 2004, it was issued as a supplement to some newspapers and later assumed an on-line entity only under the Time-Life banner.

Just as with National Geographic magazine, although the two served a substantially different readership, there were similarities in that some of the published articles were dictated by its editors, some were projects by a specific photographer and the remainder open assignments. Most of the images included relate to the period when it was a weekly pictorial magazine, 1936-72 which was historically important as it included the recovery from the Great Depression of 1929, World War 2, the Korean and Vietnamese wars that followed and the assassinations of the two Kennedy brothers and Martin Luther King.

Most of the images are black and white and rather few are in colour. Many would easily classify as 'News', several as 'Celebrity' or 'Portraits' and the remainder as 'general interest'. It is quite substantial, at over 600 pages and there is at least one image on just about every page, including the brief introduction. The internal organisation is alphabetical by the photographer's name and therefore there is no chronological sequence. In many instances, there are quotations presumably by the photographer to explain the circumstances of certain images, but by no means all.

For its photography, historical relevance and for the fans of the magazine in its heyday (I only ever saw a few random copies which had been sent by a relative who was a 'GI bride'), I would suggest that this might be a valuable addition to a book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Life Photographers, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
denny (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
There isn't really much I can say about this book, apart from it contains some of the best photo journalistic images ever taken, and the book will keep you entertained on many a day as you browse through it.
Don't hesitate if you ar thinking of getting this - just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly engrossing, 15 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
I loved this book. Even for someone who doesn't normally buy coffee table type publications I think this is a winner. It has a wealth of photographs from every walk of life. Fascinating insights into the Life magazine but very little text and the main focus is their work and the editors have let the images speak for themselves. Some of the images are beautiful, fascinating, shocking and many of them have become icon since they were published. I loved it so much that I've bought copies for a number of friends. A word of caution - some of the war photography is really upsetting and I wouldn't show them to under 12s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Excellent - one of the best photographic books I have - but I try to understand, often unsuccessfully,how some of the pictures were taken and in what format. For instance fairly or very dark but all in focus without a flash strong enough to cover 100 meters plus outside with people moving, very deep depth of field (therefore small aperture with a slow film in those days) but all in focus including moving subjects such as crowds of people and moving cars. No flash visible in specticles but in focus and nice shadow on one side one the faces. Difficult to work out but brilliant just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Image Making, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book (along with The Family Of Man) should be essential reading for photographers of any style, however, as inspiration for a film-based photographer it is faultless. I see hardly anyone photographing as well as this this days - it's like the whole digital diaspora has turned the thoughtful and chosen image into a case of spray and pray, with similarly terrible results.
If you do decide to go for this book, try and get the hardback - it is more manageable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have in collection!!, 29 July 2014
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Great photographs in this book!! Over 600 pages of great shots, about 5 pages per photographer with short description of a photo (place, person in the photo and date when photo was taken) notes about artist or story behind each photo. There are many absolute masterpieces and many photographs of famous people, politicians, artsists. I'm very pleased with this book. A must have if you're interestested in photo journalism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great LIFE Photographers
The Great LIFE Photographers by John Loengard (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2009)
£12.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews