Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures are better than words, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Probably one of the best photography books I have ever looked at /read. The celebrity photos weren't really to my interest, but seeing normal people in their everyday lives and key moments in history attracted my attention. A simply laid out book, and knowing the back stories of the photographers who took some of the most powerful photos I've ever seen, makes this a beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captured: compassion and compositions, 19 Nov 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
On page 558 of this stunning photo book there is a studio shot taken in 1960 by Bill Sumits of thirty-eight Life photographers, surely the only time in history that so many great photographers have been together in one place and it is amazing to think that the ninety-nine featured in the book were all on the staff of this one publication.

The book is arranged alphabetically and each photographer gets between five and eight images plus their photo and short hundred or so word biography. Now it's possible to see who took so many images that defined a moment and became classic examples of photojournalism and also to see other examples of their great work. John Loengard's introduction does not say so but I assume all the photos did appear in Life and they cover the years from 1936 (when the title started) to 1997. The book is well designed with mostly one photo per page (well printed in 175 dpi) and a caption and nicely some photos get longer captions where a photographer reveals some background detail about their images.

There are a lot of news type photos here, especially from the Second World War years but equally as many taken from the photo-essay style work that Life became famous for. Others show celebrities and ordinary folk going about their lives. These photos are so good that you have to stop and really take notice of what they are telling you. I think this wonderful book is a strong visual reminder of how great Life was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life., 6 Jan 2012
By 
-EFox- (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
If you're a photography student, then this book is perfect. As photography we learn by images (quite obviously) and the severe lack of mountain blocks of text mean there's a full page photo and a name only - perfect for flicking through, and being able to read the book without actually reading it. It's easy to find a photograph for inspiration and some of them certainly aren't for the feint-hearted, so if you're already tainted with the desperation and brutality of photojournalism, then this book is ideal. The lack of history behind the photographs isn't really an issue, as once you've found a photograph that is breath-taking, the name and title can give you the research from anywhere.

If you've ever seen a photograph and felt as though your life has changed, and for a second you forgot to breathe and your eyes widened, get this book. Never before has a single book collected as many photographs that have broken the human barriers of the things we never expect to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Life Photographers, 12 Oct 2011
By 
denny (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
There isn't really much I can say about this book, apart from it contains some of the best photo journalistic images ever taken, and the book will keep you entertained on many a day as you browse through it.
Don't hesitate if you ar thinking of getting this - just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have in collection!!, 29 July 2014
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Great photographs in this book!! Over 600 pages of great shots, about 5 pages per photographer with short description of a photo (place, person in the photo and date when photo was taken) notes about artist or story behind each photo. There are many absolute masterpieces and many photographs of famous people, politicians, artsists. I'm very pleased with this book. A must have if you're interestested in photo journalism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping photography, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
A fantastic, fascinating book that I got through over several lunches. Dividing the photographs into photographer-by-photographer chapters is absolutely the best way to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Image Making, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book (along with The Family Of Man) should be essential reading for photographers of any style, however, as inspiration for a film-based photographer it is faultless. I see hardly anyone photographing as well as this this days - it's like the whole digital diaspora has turned the thoughtful and chosen image into a case of spray and pray, with similarly terrible results.
If you do decide to go for this book, try and get the hardback - it is more manageable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book of LIFE images, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can sit for hours absorbed by images such as the ones in this book. I have another book called "Century" which is similar in its approach. I'm not reviewing this book from the perspective of a professional photographer or photojournalist, who may have many professional criticisms, but simply from someone who loves good quality imagery that makes you think and reflect on the circumstances of the image and people involved. I don't look at this book too often which may sound odd given my review but merely I save the experience so as not to become too familiar with the imagery and keep the pleasure of viewing them... I'm sure someone will understand what I mean with that statement. Another good book to view is Reuel Goldens "Witness" which is full of imagery by eminent photojournalists, again very emotive and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 14 May 2014
By 
A. Zuberi "Zubes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
whenever I need inspiration I pick this book up and then it all comes back, everything you could ever need to know is here in this book, just study the images, read from the images, the light and composition how the images were created and my own creative juices start to flow, excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life and Death..., 30 Mar 2014
By 
J. R. Carroll (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great LIFE Photographers (Paperback)
Some good work, a pity this type of photojournalism does not seem to have an outlet anymore. It's interesting to read up on the reasons why this is the case although I don't think we are better off for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great LIFE Photographers
The Great LIFE Photographers by John Loengard (Paperback - 30 Nov 2009)
£11.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews