Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it! It's a belter!, 5 April 2005
By A Customer
Moffat has written a superb book on Scottish Prehistory. Ranging from the end of the last ice age to 900AD, it explains and entertains in equal measure. Packed full of interesting information, this book is a masterly exposition of the continuity of culture across the millenia. If you are only going to buy/read one book on Celtic prehistory, make it this one! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Book for all English Historians to study., 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
As a Welshman who gained an honours History degree over 50 years ago and was a little vague about Scottish History I found this a fascinating read. The TV historians who appear to believe that British History is all about the English would do well to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have got to read this!, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. James E. Tapp (gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
Fantastic! A whistlestop tour de force around 10000 years of history written in a warm and wry manner that cannot help but engage. I read it in a couple of days as I could not put it down and intend to read it again as soon as my friend finishes it and gives it back.
Moffat's approach to history is refreshing and you don't have to be interested in Scotland particularly to get a lot out of the book. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Alasdair M. Satchel "alsatch" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
Accessible, fascinating and very, very enjoyable. This is the book that I've been waiting for!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful / direach sgoineal, 30 April 2008
By 
Crisdean "Crisdean" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This book accompanies the wonderful T.V series. It gives us an insight to our own prehistory - something that has up to recently been denied us or ridiculed as not been worth serious study - and not the give the information to the plebs! The t.v series was redone in Gaelic as Ro Alba. Personally, I preferred the Gaelic version - even though Moffat himself presented the English language version. Don't know particularly why preferred the Gaelic version - perhaps as it is our ancient past - felt more "connected" to the subject matter when done in Gaelic. It seemed to be more personal in a way. But having said that - both t.v versions were wonderful and the book allows us to go and follow up the information. If you have not had the chance to see the television programs - don't worry - the book will not be inaccessible for you; they complement each other - but can be viewed or read in isolation from each other. I just wish that they would bring out the t.v series on DVD.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scottish Pre-history "Before Scotland" by Alasdair Moffat, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
An excellently written, up-to-date take on current thinking about our ancient pre-history. It may be all about, as the sub-title says, 'before' Scotland but it is still 'Scottish' pre-history. It can't quite get five stars because it contains an inevitable amount of speculation based on current and patchy knowledge/academic theory - which will inexorably change, if perhaps only slightly, over the period of this edition's availability - but a jolly good read, otherwise. Should make you think. I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and interesting read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
This book is well written. It is very interesting and easy to read through.
Would certainly recommend this book as it gives a very good and clear insight into Scotland's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars too quick, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Gordon Kendal (Dundee, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History (Paperback)
The service was as good as normal, but I haven't read it yet and so I can't comment on the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History
Before Scotland: The Story of Scotland Before History by Alistair Moffat (Paperback - 16 Mar 2009)
10.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews