Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!
I bought this as an enthusiastic amateur/semi-pro looking to get into fashion photography and this book is superb in delivering the information I need.

If you're looking for a comprehensive 'How-to' guide for producing glamour shots, you really should buy this book. I also bought Pro Digital Fashion Photography: A Complete Reference Guide to the Tools and...
Published on 4 Mar 2009 by Mike Le Gray

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, uninspiring images
This book would be a useful introduction to only the absolute beginner. Websites like strobist.com offer far more information, and while this book is technically up to date it is clearly written from the point of view of an older photographer, and the photos are very 90's. Nonetheless it offers a solid, if very basic and uninspiring introduction to fashion photography.
Published on 13 April 2012 by Tathagata


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 4 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
I bought this as an enthusiastic amateur/semi-pro looking to get into fashion photography and this book is superb in delivering the information I need.

If you're looking for a comprehensive 'How-to' guide for producing glamour shots, you really should buy this book. I also bought Pro Digital Fashion Photography: A Complete Reference Guide to the Tools and Techniques of Successful Digital Fashion Photography, which is just as good, but each cover things in a slightly different way, giving you a much better understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've found on Fashion Photography, 14 May 2010
By 
P. Johnston (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book as a bundle along with Bruce Smith's "Pro Digital Fashion Photography". I feel this is the better of the two books although Bruce Smith's is also a very good book.

This book is very well structured leading you through essential equipment, lighting setups, putting together a portfolio and strategies on getting commissions.

If you worked your way through the tutorials in this book then I'm sure your photograph skills would take a massive leap forward.

Great book and great value (especially when bought as a bundle with Bruce Smith's book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fashion Manual, 12 April 2009
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
This is a great book for someone who is willing to learn the difficult curve to Fashion industry. It has lots of information and setups as well as how to create your own team and start your business.

Pay attention that this book has a different cover in US Amazon [] but the contents are exactly the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Alejandro G. Herguedas (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
Good book, clear texts and easy to understand with many examples and very good pictures where you can see what is the author talking about.
Very useful for people who is beginning in photographing models or fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, uninspiring images, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
This book would be a useful introduction to only the absolute beginner. Websites like strobist.com offer far more information, and while this book is technically up to date it is clearly written from the point of view of an older photographer, and the photos are very 90's. Nonetheless it offers a solid, if very basic and uninspiring introduction to fashion photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapid overview, 23 May 2010
By 
De Ruitz Igor (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
An interesting book, neither an exhausting exploration of the fashion photography, nor an advanced writing on the argument. Just a gentle introduction and rapid overview paginated with an efficent graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas pressie, 4 Dec 2013
By 
jane barinov (southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
My daughter will love it, bought as used but it's in perfect condition, and a total bargain!! I'm sure it will keep her quiet on Xmas day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
Got this for my daughter for christmas, she is very happy with it and said she can find out a lot from this book. Its a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Godalming, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
Bought this for my daughter who is studying A Level Photography. As a pro portrait photographer, I found it a very concise book. Nice to see small light direction annotations included, good advice and great pictures, A Highly recommended book for those wishing to embark on a career in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful and well-structured book, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Mihail Iliev "Misho" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide (Paperback)
I also think this is a very good book for the non-expert. Indeed it's very well-structured and the explanationas and diagrams are clear and very useful. This is definitely a book much better than Bruce Smith's similar book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fashion Photography Course: First Principles to Successful Shoot - the Essential Guide
£11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews