Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-On History of Art
This book is great fun and also gives a fascinating insight into how medieval designers worked. The reader is shown a series of complex geometrical designs taken from historical monuments across the Middle East, then shown how these patterns are made - and how to make them! All you need is a compass and a ruler, so I should warn that it's dangerously addictive. Star...
Published on 4 Jun 2008 by M. Carey

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magic
Having tried to 'interpret' islamic design from holiday photos I was looking for some 'basic' guidance. This book is clear, and the DVD very user friendly.
Published on 25 Jun 2010 by Grunpy O** Woman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-On History of Art, 4 Jun 2008
By 
M. Carey (Londinium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
This book is great fun and also gives a fascinating insight into how medieval designers worked. The reader is shown a series of complex geometrical designs taken from historical monuments across the Middle East, then shown how these patterns are made - and how to make them! All you need is a compass and a ruler, so I should warn that it's dangerously addictive. Star polygons will never seem the same again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and Beautiful Book, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
Eric Broug has produced an outstanding book. It combines art, art history, geometry and mathematics. I was primarily interested in this book purely because of the patterns and how I might use them for my own interests - it was mainly for the CD (which itself is a great asset - works on my Mac fine).

It's a very interesting read and the real patterns & photos from real buildings makes the book much more enjoyable.

I remember as a boy the pleasure derived in constructing shapes and patterns - this brought it all back and then some.

The overall style of the book is very clear and concise, like the patterns themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Step by Step guide, 2 May 2010
By 
W. Datoo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
I bought this book to learn how to create the intricate patterns that have mesmerised me since I was a kid.

The book serves as an excellent reference point and tutorial with very precise steps on achieving the designs he shows. He has used real world examples from his travels so that adds a bit more adventure to the whole art history aspect.

What really helps is the accompanying CD that he provides. The CD is full of useful templates and photos for you to use and if you use illustrator or Corel Draw to do most of your work it is a true god send.

This book is more of an intro for someone who wants to learn and do the Islamic Patterns rather than a history book around the meaning and reason for the extensive use of geometric patterns.

Definitely worth the money I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for novices, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
I wanted to start this summer my education in Islamic Art. As an engineer, I am fascinated by the beauty that can be created from mathematics. In my opinion, Islamic art is unique in its combination of strong science, art and spirituality, to lead one to an ethereal realm of the unknown. Often just staring at the repeating patterns leads me into a hypnotic trance. It is quite an extraordinary art form, one that uses your sense of sight to awaken other senses deep within you. It is truly art for the soul.

The book itself has a short introduction and then dives straight into the nitty gritty of creating these patterns with just a compass, pencil and ruler, as they would have done over a thousand years ago. It is a tricky art and requires precision. So I would recommend anyone wishing to embark on this to invest in a good quality compass with can be fixed at certain radii and a sturdy metal ruler. There are many many designs in this book to get stuck in to and it lays the foundations for you to get creative with your own ideas. The CD I haven't really used although it does have handy templates for those not wishing to make their own templates.

I would have liked it to have more writing with maybe more historical content in it and possibly colour pictures. But for what it is, it is a fantastic book. Great to start your hobby in drawing Islamic geometric patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
I've had so much fun with this book. There are a range of patterns described, some easy to complete while others take the concentration of a Jedi. I've enjoyed doing the basic patterns and then following the advice of the author by adding colour and flowers etc. I find this sort of art absorbing and relaxing - a great way to unwind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic guide, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
this book gives step by step instructions on making patterns. The author gives the reader some information of Islamic art and artisans method of working at the beggining which I found very interesting to read. The CD-ROM has lots of colour images and more information on pattern formation. All you need is a geometry set and some paper to get started. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
the book is clear and concise in its instructions.its is user friendly . pretty good for those starting out :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friend loves it, 10 Feb 2014
By 
C. Lee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
This was a gift for my friend who loves patterns in architecture. She loved it as it had great patterns and a dvd for how to recreate certain ones. Only thing I would say that could be improved is....colour pictures to do the patterns justice.

Well packaged and delivered. Thanks seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
Just the book I was looking for - it is easy to use and understand and it is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) (Paperback)
Contained everything I needed to know in order to build Islamic type shapes for an animation project. I couldn't use the construction methods described because of the software I was using. However, I was able to adapt the techniques using the 'step by step' diagrams in the book. Comes with a nicely produced CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom)
Islamic Geometric Patterns (Book & CD Rom) by Eric Broug (Paperback - 12 May 2008)
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews