Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential University Reading
If you are studying (or plan to study) archaeology at university, this book is a must. It gives a great overview of contemporary archaeological practice and uses excellent case studies throughout. It is basically the first book you turn to if you want to know about Anything archaeological, and will guide you to the right places to go for more in-depth coverage of...
Published on 15 April 2005 by Mr. A. T. Young

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology
Whilst I am not studying archaeology as a main subject I had to do it as a unit. Therefore I didn't want to spend lots on a book I would only use once. This book proved to be useful when looking for case studies particularly related to geophysics and excavation. However, if you are studying it as a main subject, I recommend getting a more recent edition. Service was...
Published on 23 May 2011 by lilgymnastika


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential University Reading, 15 April 2005
If you are studying (or plan to study) archaeology at university, this book is a must. It gives a great overview of contemporary archaeological practice and uses excellent case studies throughout. It is basically the first book you turn to if you want to know about Anything archaeological, and will guide you to the right places to go for more in-depth coverage of subjects. It is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, the one to read, 10 Nov 2003
By 
M. D. Hart "Boz Phiz @ DVD" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As a former archaeology student I know that the subject is as difficult as it is enticing. It demands a lot of reading and research, and a high level of understanding. But as with any subject, if you work hard at it, you can succeed. Renfrew and Bahn's "Archaeology:Theories, Methods and Practice" is an essential book to own for anyone in the field.......from students to lecturers, up to fieldworkers. As the top book on a University reading list for Archaeology, you will find everything you need to know in here. Do be careful, however, as this book has been written to accomodate all areas of an entire degree course, and does not specialise. If you are taking particular fields or interested in specialist archaeology i.e. underwater or Egyptology, I suggest a search under those respective titles on this website AND Amazon.COM, as many good publications on the subject come from the United States.
Buy this book for study or for hobby, it is well set out and has lots of interesting facts about past societies, archaeoogical techniques, and the history of the subject. Use it as the base for any query or study within the field, and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 1 Mar 2005
By A Customer
If you are looking for a book that gives you a look at all aspects of Archaeology then this is the one for you.An in depth look at everything from the beginning to methods and practices used now and perhaps how things may be done in the future.It is
a big read but laid out in simple language that is easy to absorb. Well worth having as a ref book,that you will find yourself going back to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. T. Hill "Tom Hill" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cannot recommend this book too highly, really superb. Unfortunately, for reasons best known to themselves, the Open University did not choose this as their set book for the 1st year of their Classics MA but chose the Kevin Greene book instead, about which the less said the better. If you are a first year archaeology student or just interested in archaeology and you have a choice please buy this book before any other on archaeology, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book to read before a degree, 18 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Before applying to study archaeology at university, I decided to read some recommended texts and this book popped up. When it arrived, my heart sank when I saw the size of it. However, when I opened it, it grabbed me from the first page. The layout is fantastic, the text is easy to read and there are plenty of pictures to go with it. It examines every part of archaeology from humans to environmental archaeology and there are real life case studies. Being interested in archaeology since I was little, I enjoyed it so much and it is great to read even if you are not going for a degree. I would recommend it to anyone who was interested in archaeology. After reading this book, I can't wait to start studying archaeology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Undergrad text, 3 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This book is on almost every Archaeological Theory and Methods course reading list. There is a reson for this- it is a concise, clear and well-explained introduction to archaeological methods and techniques.
It is easily one of the best introductions to the subject. Anyone taking a course in Archaeology would be well advised to purchase their own copy- they will find they refer to it many times in the course of their degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep to hand, 20 May 2007
If you are considering studying archaeology or if you have a serious interest in it then this book will never leave your side. It is recommended reading by many teachers of the subject. The clear index means that you do not have to read the book from cover to cover, instead you can use the considered overview as a starting point for your further research.

I have used this book from undergrad to postgrad work, it is still my first port of call.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology students should read this book., 1 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This is the set text for my archaeology degree and it is easy to see why. It is easy to read, accurate and it covers modern archaeological pratice and theory throughrly. However, it is an introduction and so it can only cover most things briefly. The bibliography and further reading sections are really excellent though, and always give you a place to go find out more.
If you're starting a archaeology degree READ THIS BOOK. I didn't bother and I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read for academic studies, 20 Nov 1999
I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in Archaeology or ancient history in general. I have found it to be a valuable source of information for my final year studies at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction, 2 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This book has to be read if you are about to embark on an archaeology degree or are a first year student. It is easy to read and contains a wealth of information on almost every aspect of the subject. Essential background reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archaeology: Theories, Methods and Practice
Archaeology: Theories, Methods and Practice by Paul Bahn (Paperback - 19 May 2008)
Used & New from: £6.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews