Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My design bible
This book is brilliant for anyone interested in alternative advertising. I was really stuck on a project trying to make a television advert then i discovered this book which is full of images to give plenty of inspiration. At the back of the book there is even a 20 step thinking technique to develop alternative advertising ideas. A really good book worth buying!
Published on 10 Dec 2008 by Ms. S. Knoglinger

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great work, but not all...
This book centres around ambient media: the stunts the ad industry pulls to take their message off the billboards and TV, and plonk it on the street for all to see. Although, the reality is hardly anyone does ever get to see these executions, except in books like this. The cynically-minded would suggest these ideas are created less for public, and more for awards jury...
Published on 10 Nov 2011 by Bought It


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My design bible, 10 Dec 2008
This review is from: Advertising is Dead: Long Live Advertising! (Paperback)
This book is brilliant for anyone interested in alternative advertising. I was really stuck on a project trying to make a television advert then i discovered this book which is full of images to give plenty of inspiration. At the back of the book there is even a 20 step thinking technique to develop alternative advertising ideas. A really good book worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great work, but not all..., 10 Nov 2011
This book centres around ambient media: the stunts the ad industry pulls to take their message off the billboards and TV, and plonk it on the street for all to see. Although, the reality is hardly anyone does ever get to see these executions, except in books like this. The cynically-minded would suggest these ideas are created less for public, and more for awards jury consumption.

That said, there's some engaging work here, mainly either using comic or shock value to see the message home. For example, one particularly compelling execution is an ashtray, moulded into the shape of a heart (the organ, not the icon), into which the smoker literally stubs their cigarette's ash. Another, promoting The Invisible Man, is a dog, walking the streets with a stiffened lead which makes it look like it's being walked by, well, The Invisible Man. Job done.

There's plenty more good work, but there's also a fair amount of ill-judged work here too.

For instance, the yellow skip used to advertise an IKEA store opening, somehow exacerbates IKEA's own image of cheap throwaway furniture. Then there's the team of pyjama-clad individuals 'sleeping' on London's pavements and Underground platforms, apparently raising awareness of British Airways' sleeper service. They just look like they're sleeping rough, and that's surely not the image BA wanted to create.

Some material is clunky, such as a headline by TBWA\Stockholm for loan company SBAB which goes 'If only SBAB made ads we've noticed, we'd have gone to them and saved SEK 470 a month'. What was that? Other pieces don't appear to be saying anything, like a flag planted in a dog pooh by The American Legacy Foundation, which reads 'Cigarettes contain amonia. So does dog poop'. So what?

It's easy to make the assumption that because well-shot work appears in a compendium like this, that it will be automatically brilliant. I wouldn't say don't buy this book, but I would say don't make that assumption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All's well that ends well, 5 Dec 2006
Advertising might be dead, it's never been this kicking as in this book. This is not a book from a guy who likes to read his own writing. It has some text, but luckily all brought down to the bare essentials. Some very interesting theories and hands-on tips about the brightest kid in advertising class nowadays; guerilla advertising. It shows loads of examples with 'behind the scenes' comments when available. Interesting book, nicely illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big book, really useful. lots of information and images, great to learn and for project work. Cant fault this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 27 Aug 2010
Initially there was a mix up with the book sent - I ordered a hardback and received a slightly battered paperback - however, union books were so helpful in correcting the mix-up quickly and at little inconvenience to me. The hardback was lovely and I would definitely buy from union books again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b90a50)

This product

Advertising is Dead: Long Live Advertising!
Advertising is Dead: Long Live Advertising! by Will Collin (Paperback - 8 Sep 2008)
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews