Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2010
Hockney, noted to be Britain's favourite artist has produced some fantastic works in his life so far.

Hockney's Pictures offers a beautiful insight into some of his greatest works. Divided into different sections of his art, the quality of the prints are amazing. I recently visited Nottingham Contemporary to see a selection of the images in person, and was surprised by the depth of colour and precision of the images in the book.

The Portrait section is the definite winner for me. The loose pencil sketches, paintings and line drawings all seem fresh from Hockney's hand. The painted work in particular have a living glow, and i do feel the works are looking out from the paper.

A Definite buy for anyone wanting a collection of Hockney's work in a perfectly sized book with minimal but valued text.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 January 2008
With minimum text, the introduction takes just one page, and the introduction to each of its four sections barley half a page each, `Hockney's Pictures' is aptly titled. The introduction explains the aim of each section: `Problems of Depiction', `Life Stilled', `Portraits' and `Space and Light', and then allows the pictures to provide the answers along with the occasional brief and down to earth comment from Hockney himself alongside the relevant picture.

This is a carefully designed volume; the almost square format comfortably accommodates both landscape and portrait proportions, the images are presented imaginatively on the page with a varied layout which manages to avoid being confusing. Many of the images are full page with some presented as full page bleed and some occasionally crossing the gutter. Each picture is given its title and date; the additional details of size and medium are to be found in a separate list at the back of the book. The book describes itself as having "325 illustrations, 277 in colour"; however this is slightly unfair for as far as I can tell the 48 black and white images comprise pencil or charcoal drawings, etchings and the like which in themselves are monochrome.

This is what an art book should be, full to the brim with images which, along with occasional comment from the artist, are allowed to speak for themselves.
33 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2005
This book is great for those unfamiliar with Hockney's work, it contains a massively diverse array of his paintings so you are sure to find something you like, and you are kept from getting bored! Quotes from the man himself illuminate the thought behind some paintings, more of these would be appreciated. Hockney's optimistic philosophy comes through in his words and art and opening this book always cheers me up and inspires me! It is also divided into different sections and themes, ranging from detailed line drawings to huge paintings, allowing you to understand his work better. A joy!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
This book is a must for David Hockney fans , it displays a lot of David's early work in Acrylic & Oil paints , and carries on through David's work until 2002 .As usual the portrait pictures are excellently portrayed , with colour and detail as is his landscapes and abstracts , there is also some of the photographic experiments which David did to widen his scope of art , there is not a lot of description of the art works, as in all good books of this type , it's up to the viewer to decide for themselves , as to what is good ect.like as if you went to an art gallery , it is for the most part a portfolio of one of the greatest British artists of the late 20th century . I thoroughly reccomend this to anyone intrested in late 20th century art , and is extreemly well put together .
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
Excellent value, fast delivery. This really is a very good compendium of Hockney's work from the late 1950s up to about 2004. Tons of illustrations, minimal textual comment, which I find helpful: he's not blowing his trumpet, he's just giving you a comprehensive range of illustrations of his different styles and choices of subject matter.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This hefty, soft-backed volume provides a perfect overview of David Hockney`s oeuvre, from his student work up till 2002.

The work is loosely grouped in chapters according to subject matter, approach, etc., with examples of his work in all media - drawing, photography, print-making, stage design and - of course - painting.
With 325 illustrations and minimal text, the book is very competitively priced; I`ve owned this for some time now and take it out to my painting class fairly regularly for the benefit of my students - very often one work by Hockney explains what I would be at pains to put into words and it saves me having to do a time-consuming demonstration. It`s inspirational benefits should be self-evident.

This is an excellent reference volume, ideal for keeping in the studio or on your coffee table; an easy five star recommendation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
The book is thick and each page is filled with a single large reproduction (some double page spreads also). Covers his whole career.
The minimal use of text allows the art to speak for itself. If you are looking for his life story then find a biography of some kind instead.

The quality of the reproductions is fantastic. The artwork simply beautiful (though if your reading this you allready know that).
I payed just over twelve pound which is ridiculously cheap for what you get. If only more art books were made like this!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
What a beautiful book. I am a Hockney fan I must admit but the pictures are great, looks great on my coffee table and I have even read some of the text which is unusual in a book like this. I now know Percy is really a girl cat and that she is called Blanche.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This is a great selection of Hockney's paintings, most of them published for the first time. Hockney is a very prolific painter and there is a huge variety of his works. I do believe that any art lover will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I often look at this book for inspiration. It arrived quickly and I was very pleased with the service. If you are a Hockney fan this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)