Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point, 8 Aug 2005
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Hardcover)
This book is great for those unfamiliar with Hockney's work, it contains a massively diverse array of his paintings so you are sure to find something you like, and you are kept from getting bored! Quotes from the man himself illuminate the thought behind some paintings, more of these would be appreciated. Hockney's optimistic philosophy comes through in his words and art and opening this book always cheers me up and inspires me! It is also divided into different sections and themes, ranging from detailed line drawings to huge paintings, allowing you to understand his work better. A joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full to the brim with images, 17 Jan 2008
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Hardcover)
With minimum text, the introduction takes just one page, and the introduction to each of its four sections barley half a page each, `Hockney's Pictures' is aptly titled. The introduction explains the aim of each section: `Problems of Depiction', `Life Stilled', `Portraits' and `Space and Light', and then allows the pictures to provide the answers along with the occasional brief and down to earth comment from Hockney himself alongside the relevant picture.

This is a carefully designed volume; the almost square format comfortably accommodates both landscape and portrait proportions, the images are presented imaginatively on the page with a varied layout which manages to avoid being confusing. Many of the images are full page with some presented as full page bleed and some occasionally crossing the gutter. Each picture is given its title and date; the additional details of size and medium are to be found in a separate list at the back of the book. The book describes itself as having "325 illustrations, 277 in colour"; however this is slightly unfair for as far as I can tell the 48 black and white images comprise pencil or charcoal drawings, etchings and the like which in themselves are monochrome.

This is what an art book should be, full to the brim with images which, along with occasional comment from the artist, are allowed to speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney's Intellect, 7 Jan 2010
By 
MR P W STOCKS (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
Hockney, noted to be Britain's favourite artist has produced some fantastic works in his life so far.

Hockney's Pictures offers a beautiful insight into some of his greatest works. Divided into different sections of his art, the quality of the prints are amazing. I recently visited Nottingham Contemporary to see a selection of the images in person, and was surprised by the depth of colour and precision of the images in the book.

The Portrait section is the definite winner for me. The loose pencil sketches, paintings and line drawings all seem fresh from Hockney's hand. The painted work in particular have a living glow, and i do feel the works are looking out from the paper.

A Definite buy for anyone wanting a collection of Hockney's work in a perfectly sized book with minimal but valued text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney's Progress, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
This book is a must for David Hockney fans , it displays a lot of David's early work in Acrylic & Oil paints , and carries on through David's work until 2002 .As usual the portrait pictures are excellently portrayed , with colour and detail as is his landscapes and abstracts , there is also some of the photographic experiments which David did to widen his scope of art , there is not a lot of description of the art works, as in all good books of this type , it's up to the viewer to decide for themselves , as to what is good ect.like as if you went to an art gallery , it is for the most part a portfolio of one of the greatest British artists of the late 20th century . I thoroughly reccomend this to anyone intrested in late 20th century art , and is extreemly well put together .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney's Pictures, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
Excellent value, fast delivery. This really is a very good compendium of Hockney's work from the late 1950s up to about 2004. Tons of illustrations, minimal textual comment, which I find helpful: he's not blowing his trumpet, he's just giving you a comprehensive range of illustrations of his different styles and choices of subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a beauty, 24 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Hardcover)
What a beautiful book. I am a Hockney fan I must admit but the pictures are great, looks great on my coffee table and I have even read some of the text which is unusual in a book like this. I now know Percy is really a girl cat and that she is called Blanche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
Besides beautiful pictures, this book help us to better understand Hockney's work and life.
People who love art must have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book and resource, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
I often look at this book for inspiration. It arrived quickly and I was very pleased with the service. If you are a Hockney fan this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney's Pictures, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
This is a great selection of Hockney's paintings, most of them published for the first time. Hockney is a very prolific painter and there is a huge variety of his works. I do believe that any art lover will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hockney., 26 Feb 2013
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hockney's Pictures (Paperback)
This hefty, soft-backed volume provides a perfect overview of David Hockney`s oeuvre, from his student work up till 2002.

The work is loosely grouped in chapters according to subject matter, approach, etc., with examples of his work in all media - drawing, photography, print-making, stage design and - of course - painting.
With 325 illustrations and minimal text, the book is very competitively priced; I`ve owned this for some time now and take it out to my painting class fairly regularly for the benefit of my students - very often one work by Hockney explains what I would be at pains to put into words and it saves me having to do a time-consuming demonstration. It`s inspirational benefits should be self-evident.

This is an excellent reference volume, ideal for keeping in the studio or on your coffee table; an easy five star recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hockney's Pictures
Hockney's Pictures by David Hockney (Paperback - 18 Dec 2006)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews