Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatstic images of dogs in their most relaxed state, 19 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Hockney obviously adores his dogs and can capture their character and mood with ease. Each painting offers the viewer an insight into the busy life of a loved dog and the endless positions that can be encountered in one sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Hockney's Dog Days, 26 Oct 2004
By 
Miss Karen J Peters (Stroud, Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you love David Hockney's work and are a dog lover too, then I thoroughly recommend this book. His love for his dogs clearly comes through in the way he manages to portray his dachsunds characters both in the paintings and the drawings. He apparently had canvases positioned around his home next to the places where his dogs slept, because as I'm sure most people who've tried to paint their beloved pets would agree, it's very rare for a dog to stay still long enough to put pencil (or brush!) to paper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daxi Doggy Days, 13 Mar 2009
By 
S. Forrest (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a lovely book which is a must have for any daxi owner! Would have liked to have seen a bit more narrative in it and maybe a bit more info about his daxis - however every daxi owner will recognise the typical poses these pals of our get into and the "knowing looks" that all our daxis give us! Bless. My life just wouldnt be the same without a dachshund in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Days; an artist's perspective., 24 May 2013
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
Most of the reviews on this page have been written from the point of view of dog-lovers; I`m one too, but I also paint.

This excellent, compact volume consists of 84 illustrations in all with 46 paintings reproduced in colour, plus close-up details from many of them. These are supported by drawings, beautifully capturing his little pets at rest - it gives the impression they sleep a lot, but really, dogs are a difficult subject for any artist.
The paintings are characteristically bold in colour and display Hockney`s deft brushwork. The illustrations have in some cases been presented with additional graphic work surrounding them; there are playful frames, easels and background details drawn in as part of the layout by Hockney himself. The paintings are faithfully reproduced with several full-page or double-page spreads which emphasise the languorous nature of dachshunds in repose.
I got this book for myself initially, but I often get a student turning up at my class who wants to immortalize a pet on canvas, so this book provides some nice examples to follow - the book has certainly inspired and delighted everyone who`s seen it so far.

A nicely presented art book at a good price that deserves to have the same level of popularity that Henry Moore's sheep sketchbook achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dog days.., 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
such a wonderful book...gorgeous paintings..so typically hockney. it makes you want to buy a dachshund immediately.a book to look at anytime and a 'keep forever'book. great buy.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to all dog lovers. It would make a fantastic gift for any dog lover too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
Just a great collection of Hockney's drawings and paintings of his beloved Daschunds. . . .
I would recommend to dog lovers and artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful friends, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
Hockney has brilliantly captured the character of these 'sausage-dogs' as they relaxed. In particular, I appreciated how he conveys the glint in their eyes, and their moist noses ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BOOK, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
I collect books and CDs of all kinds and all subjects. This is a new interest so wanted some appropriate items. Good price and excellent transaction. Would use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming paintings, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Hockney's Dog Days (Paperback)
A gift for friends who love art and own dachsunds. I was particularly pleased wit this as I had been to the Hockney exhibition in London and took this for a gift to friends who live in California and like Modern Art. The colours in the book are vivid and the expresions on the dogs faces really capture Dachsunds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Hockney's Dog Days
David Hockney's Dog Days by David Hockney (Paperback - 26 Sep 2011)
5.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews