Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book on costume you will ever need!
This has pages of clear drawings like fashion sketches with notes written on them, eight figures per page. Each double page represents a period in history, sometimes as little as five years (depending how often the fahions changed). Much better than those costume books that only print paintings from the time and leave you to work out the detail yourself. Beautiful...
Published on 28 Mar. 2010 by Mrs. V. M. Leonard

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very limited
Lovely line drawing of pictures, but that's it. No descriptions of the garments of what they were made from etc. Also, the pictures are all the same size. No in depth pictures of hats or specific areas of dress.

Also, a big negative is that the costumes are all from the elite side of society. If you wanted to know what the common man/woman wore instead of kings...
Published on 10 Jun. 2013 by W. Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book on costume you will ever need!, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
This has pages of clear drawings like fashion sketches with notes written on them, eight figures per page. Each double page represents a period in history, sometimes as little as five years (depending how often the fahions changed). Much better than those costume books that only print paintings from the time and leave you to work out the detail yourself. Beautiful clear layout. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Starter Costume Book, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
I'm currently starting to do costume making. So I needed to up my learning on what was worn in which times? I found this on here and brought it because it was fairly cheap and had a good rating.
I was not disappointed! Even though it's very simple and not hugely detailed in descriptions, it still gives a clear overview from 1066 right up to the noughties for men and women's clothing. I think if anyone is just starting out and wants just a brief but informative look at the fashion time line, this is definitely the book :)
Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very limited, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
W. Osborne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
Lovely line drawing of pictures, but that's it. No descriptions of the garments of what they were made from etc. Also, the pictures are all the same size. No in depth pictures of hats or specific areas of dress.

Also, a big negative is that the costumes are all from the elite side of society. If you wanted to know what the common man/woman wore instead of kings and queens, you are out of luck. I think I will try to get a better book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book on the subject, 2 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
this book has black and white sketches of costumes every 50 years from 1066 onwards, with some written detail as well, and demonstrates well how fashions change over time. It would be a good resource for anyone studying fashion, but I bought it as an amateur costume maker and it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
A very detailed and informative book which illustrates how fashions have changed throughout the centuries. I would recommend this book to anyone studying fashion, history, art or is just interested in this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good detailed sketches, 4 July 2010
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
I bought this book as I've always been interested in costumes and fashions through history, and my hobbies include embroidery and dressmaking. It shows authentic fashions as they would had been over time. The only complaint I have is that the book seem quite dull in it's contents lacking colour and I would had liked to see added photos showing period costumes. There are some to be seen in museums for instance and I suspect there are clothes 40 years old or more in peoples' wardrobes hidden away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, speedy delivery., 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Troo (Hertfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
This is a great little reference book for the progression of popular costume designs through the Medieval period right through to the 1960's. It will not outline every single costume ever made in a given era, obviously, but for a quick reference of whether or not you are in the right area for the time period you are recreating it's spot-on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good news for costume fanatics, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
Very good. Perhaps the drawings were a little amateurish but funnily they added to the quirkiness of the book. Very informative The book will be one of those I regularly pick up unlike other negative reviewers I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 14 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
Very useful specially to see how the silhouette has change through time, both in men as in women.
Eventually you'll need a more detail book about each era, since what you can find in this one is quite limited.... it's more a bedside book for designers looking to give a quick view on an era, or to compare between two eras....
To that proposes, the book is really unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference resource., 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History (Paperback)
An excellent introduction to the history of costume. An invaluable resource for genealogists who are interested in the social and economic aspects of their ancestors through the clothes that they wore. Also an excellent guide for those people wishing to re-create costumes for historical events or theatrical performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Costume 1066 to the Present: A Complete Guide to English Costume Design and History
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews