Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great source of ideas for eco-design
-
I highly recommend this book.
It covers a wide range of 'alternative' products, from day to day household items, furniture, modes of transport, to the latest solar pv panels. The main part of the book features brief product descriptions with accompanying photographs, followed by contact details of the designers/distributors.
A book for dipping into. A...
Published on 16 Jan. 2004

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference guide.
This is a well illustrated book and outlines some of the product design techniques to create sustainable products. The book contains a huge range of products, for home and office, transport and general consumer products. The purpose of the book is highlight sustainable design, having studied sustainable design and now working in the this area of design, I would not...
Published on 17 May 2009 by Bwar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference guide., 17 May 2009
This review is from: The Eco-Design Handbook: A Complete Sourcebook for the Home and Office (Hardcover)
This is a well illustrated book and outlines some of the product design techniques to create sustainable products. The book contains a huge range of products, for home and office, transport and general consumer products. The purpose of the book is highlight sustainable design, having studied sustainable design and now working in the this area of design, I would not consider a large percentage of these products as 'sustainable'... The book is however very interesting, but the content is more quantity than quality, worth picking up cheaply!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great source of ideas for eco-design, 16 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
-
I highly recommend this book.
It covers a wide range of 'alternative' products, from day to day household items, furniture, modes of transport, to the latest solar pv panels. The main part of the book features brief product descriptions with accompanying photographs, followed by contact details of the designers/distributors.
A book for dipping into. A source of inspiration and ideas and, dare I say it, a guiding light for a more sustainable future. Demonstrates just how possible it is to combine cutting edge with low-impact living through the use of responsible, imaginative design.
Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book to drool over but..., 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my brother, an architectural design student for Xmas. He loved it, so did my husband, an eo gdget freak and furniture designer, and it was not put down Full of innovative and aesthetic designs. My only criticism si that it is an updated version of an early '90s book and some of the earlier images look VERY dated and really needed to be replaced! It doesn't feel as up-to-date as it could/should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eco-design Handbook is a generic and compelling collection of unique eco-friendly designs, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
Luke Maher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eco-Design Handbook: A Complete Sourcebook for the Home and Office (Hardcover)
The Eco-design Handbook is a generic and compelling collection of unique eco-friendly designs covering different aspects of the modern day materialistic world we live in. It contains 570 detailed product listings and 125 specially selected materials with information on hundreds of designers, manufacturers and green organisations. The book is predominantly aimed at designers and engineers, but has a general appeal to all who are interested in unusual and creative design. The way the book is written allows persons unqualified in the design field to understand and learn from it. This is because of its simple layout and structure which outlines each product. The book encourages designers to design `outside of the box' and to look at unusual aspects of each design to produce innovative concepts.This book is a useful tool for many design courses and can be used as a reference material. It encourages designers to engage eco friendly design aspects to their products. The book gives the reader examples of eco-design friendly concepts and lists why that certain product is eco-friendly. The books purpose is to illustrate that a whole range of products can be constructed and used in an environmentally friendly way. I believe that the author accomplished this successfully because of the vast range of everyday products that are described. The book offers plenty of new and radical inventions for designers to take up whilst being eco-friendly. Most of the designs are made from recyclable materials and there is a reduction in materials used in the manufacturing process.I would thoroughly recommend it to any designer when approaching the development stages of their own work. It inspired me and opened my eyes to see how you can develop products with different aesthetics and ergonomics whilst also keeping the focus on the original concept. Because we live in a world where sustainable design is such an important factor in product development, this book can help us as designers to design more eco friendly products which help contribute to the future of our planet. I therefore believe that this book achieves its goal in encouraging us to design eco friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great source of ideas for eco-design, 16 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
-
I highly recommend this book.
It covers a wide range of 'alternative' products, from day to day household items, furniture, modes of transport, to the latest solar pv panels. The main part of the book features brief product descriptions with accompanying photographs, followed by contact details of the designers/distributors.
A book for dipping into. A source of inspiration and ideas and, dare I say it, a guiding light for a more sustainable future. Demonstrates just how possible it is to combine cutting edge with low-impact living through the use of responsible, imaginative design.
Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eco-Design Handbook: A Complete Sourcebook for the Home and Office
The Eco-Design Handbook: A Complete Sourcebook for the Home and Office by Alastair Fuad-Luke (Hardcover - 29 Mar. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews