Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Egyptology bookshelf should be without it...
Any book by Nicholas Reeves is worth reading, and a book by Nicholas Reeves on the Valley of the Kings is a treat indeed.
This is a wonderfully-illustrated, updated and more accessible version of Reeves' hard-to-find, hard-to-read and hard-to-afford Valley of the Kings: Decline of a Royal Necropolis. In other words, it's the only book you'll ever need on the...
Published on 8 Sep 2000 by eric.secker@ecng.co.uk

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too academic
This book is not for leisure travellers to Egypt. It is too academic, more like a text book. I was hoping for a reference book which would be easy to dip into as and when required. You need to know a lot of Egyptology already for this to be readable.
Published on 4 May 2010 by C. Alcock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Egyptology bookshelf should be without it..., 8 Sep 2000
Any book by Nicholas Reeves is worth reading, and a book by Nicholas Reeves on the Valley of the Kings is a treat indeed.
This is a wonderfully-illustrated, updated and more accessible version of Reeves' hard-to-find, hard-to-read and hard-to-afford Valley of the Kings: Decline of a Royal Necropolis. In other words, it's the only book you'll ever need on the Valley of the Kings in general.
This book fully delivers on it's titled promise of being complete - every aspect of the Valley and its tombs is covered, and if there's something missing here, I can't find it.
Packed with maps, illustrations and photographs, this book is as much a joy to look at as it is to read. Nicholas Reeves has a real passion for the Valley of the Kings and had produced a brilliant and detailed work on its history, excavation, tombs and abandonment.
Read it from cover to cover, use it as a (reliable) reference work, dip into it from time to time...however you use this book, you'll enjoy it.
In my opinion this is one of the very best generally-available books on Ancient Egypt at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE COMPLETE ARMCHAIR TRAVELLER, 21 May 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Bowles "Scientist" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Nicholas and Richard have come up trumps yet again. This dynamic duo has put together a superb piece of work that acts as your passport to "The Valley". With this book in your hands you can almost be there and certainly take in fact after fact without heat, flies and sand. However, for anybody visiting The Valley this has got to be in your rucksack as an aide memoire while you seek out the tombs, burial pits and much more. These well-seasoned writers (Nicholas has written a similar book in this series, The Complete Tutankhamun and Richard the Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt) provide plans of tombs, photographs and have gone into fine detail. For those of you who need a reference work I suggest you take a look, I did and I am very happy thank you. This masterpiece has plenty of detail on the finds in each tomb with oodles of background information. The authors also provide you with guidance on which tombs to visit if you have time constraints. For those of you who like to hear and see another point of view, consider reading 'Guide to the Valley of the Kings' by Alberto Siliotti. Alberto captures the bigger picture with a touch more visual emphasis on tomb layout and wall detail. Both of these books are excellent and I would find it difficult to choose one over the other and resulted in my obtaining both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide to the Valley, 5 Nov 2002
By 
M. Allen "m214463" (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been to the Valley of the Kings now about 15-20 times, and for me it is still one of the most powerful and impressive places in the world. When you consider that some of the most powerful men and women were buried here, in a short period, it leaves you in awe.

Previous to reading this book, I had used the John Rohmer book, Valley of the Kings. This is also a good book, but it is not a guide, it is more a historic introduction to the Valley.

For anyone with not a great knowledge of Luxor or ancient Egypt, this is the perfect guide. It assumes no previous knowledge of the history of the area, and explains it well.

The maps and plans are usful, as they can give you an idea of what is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valley of the Kings rediscovered, 19 Mar 2011
This book was all that I wanted it to be and much more. Packed with good information on all the tombs with colour and b&w images of the well known treasures as well as the lesser known items. The book is well laid out with clear diagrams of the tombs and covers all the latest discoveries at the time it was published. This is the sort of book you can pick up and read in small sessions taking in the archaeology and the art as well as the recent historical setting of the valley in modern times. Ideal for all ages. I really feel like I have almost been there now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window into history!, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Marie Martinez (Gibraltar, Gibraltar Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs (Paperback)
Superb!
A truly excellent book. Suitable for serious study and for general reading pre- holiday.. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book or pre-visit guide, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs (Paperback)
This book, which is excellent, could be used in a number of different ways. Firstly, you could read it from cover to cover and never visit Luxor, yet you would be better informed than many people who had actually been there. If you are planning to visit the Valley of the Kings it would be very good background reading. Be warned that you cannot use the book to select which tombs to visit before you go, because only an unpredictable and limited number of tombs are open at any particular time (which is not this book's fault). If you have visited the tombs (I have been lucky enough to go twice, and like most people who visit I hope to return soon) you will find this book very interesting reading as you recognise the tombs you visited, and follow the very detailed descriptions of their construction. By the way, this is too big to be a pocket book, and works best if you read it before, after, or instead of visiting the Valley. If you don't know anything about Egypt or the Valley of the Kings, buy this book and think yourself lucky not to have wasted your money on one of the very many inferior books on this topic. This is definitely one of the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived earleir than scheduled - used book in very good condition, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs (Paperback)
Delighted with this seller. Excellent book to give the complete novice an insight into the geology/ layout/ history etc etc of the tombs, but is also useful for previous visitors who have an academic interest in the tombs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs (Paperback)
This book was informative, beautifully illustrated and a joy to read. I wish I had read it before my visit but it willl serve as a great memento.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The summary as written on line prepared one for this book. No great surprises. Enjoyable to read if this is your taste in literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars valley of the kings*, 25 July 2009
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs (Paperback)
Although this book has the word "complete" in the title the author admits that other tombs could be found.
The Valley of the Kings is in southern Egypt and has two branches -east and west.The vast majority of the tombs of which there over 80 are found in the east valley.The tombs are the resting places of Egyptian royalty from thec 18 to the 21 dynastys (1550BC to 945BC)
After a useful introduction the book is divided into four a)preparations for the afterlife dealing with planning,construction,location and the workforce b)agents of discovery covering tourists,explorers,architects and expeditions c)the tombs and d)decline of the Royal Necropolis due to robbers plus a separate issue-deciphering heirigliphics.
For each tomb there is a history,an account of excavation,architecture and decoration,funnery equipment and remains if found.These are accompanied by excellent pictures and diagrams.
Abook to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Valley of the Kings: Tombs and Treasures of Egypt's Greatest Pharaohs
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews