Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, profound and inspiring!
---
Once you begin to read Blakes original works (text and images together - as Blake intended), you'll wonder why you ever read text-only versions. This book is stunning. The quality of the prints is extremely good. Amazon's blurred preview pages do the book no justice. A minority of pages are faint or difficult to read, but this is no fault of the current...
Published on 30 Aug 2004 by M. Harris

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing on iPad
I've got to say,the quality of this book on the iPad retina screen is really poor. Having read how good the quality was for the printed version I thought that the scans of artwork would be at a decent resolution for the kindle - how wrong I was.

In short,if you are buying the kindle version to look at the artwork on a iPad,don't bother & get the book instead.
Published 3 months ago by Mr D Norman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, profound and inspiring!, 30 Aug 2004
By 
M. Harris (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
---
Once you begin to read Blakes original works (text and images together - as Blake intended), you'll wonder why you ever read text-only versions. This book is stunning. The quality of the prints is extremely good. Amazon's blurred preview pages do the book no justice. A minority of pages are faint or difficult to read, but this is no fault of the current publishers - blame William Blake! Transcripts of all the texts are included to clarify any illegibility, but are not usually needed as most of the pages are clear and bright.
The editor's introduction to each illuminated book is brief. This allows the reader to dive straight into Blake's visionary world. Never mind if much of the text (especially of the later works) seems at first incomprehensible, Blake's illustrations are so vibrant and powerful on their own that they will keep you fascinated for a long time, and will help to cultivate a hungry curiosity that will eventually offer a way into his mysterious later texts. So what if you don't 'get it' ! Let go and just enter the mystery.
Having said this, many of Blake's earlier texts are much more easily accessible; 'All Religions Are One', 'There is no Natural Religion', 'Songs of Innocence and of Experience' 'The Marriage of Heaven and Hell', 'The Gates of Paradise'. There is plenty here to offer a rich introduction to Blake's mythology and also to help prepare you for his later works.
This is Blake's 'Bible of Hell' and no household should be without a copy.
Here is a list of the illuminated book included:
* All Religions are One, (Plate 1 Keynes Collection, Fitzwilliam Museum,. Plates 2-10 Huntington Library)
* There is no Natural Religion, (Pierpont Morgan Library, New York, copies G and I and L)
* Songs of Innocence and of Experience, (Kings College, Cambridge, copy W)
* The Book of Thel, (Houghton Library, Harvard University, copy J)
* The Marriage of Heaven and Hell, (Pierpont Morgan Library, Copy F)
* The Gates of Paradise, (British Library)
* Visions of the Daughters of Albion, (Houghton Library, copy G)
* America a Prophecy, (The British Museum, Copy H)
* Europe a Prophecy, (Glasgow University Library, copy B)
* The Song of Los, (The British Museum, Copy A)
* The First Book of Urizen, (The British Museum, copy D)
* The Book of Ahania, (Rosenmald Collection, Library of Congress, Wash.D.C., and Fitzwilliam Museum, copy A)
* The Book of Los, (The British Museum, copy A)
* Milton a Poem, (New York Public Library, copy C)
* Jerusalem The Emanation of the Giant Albion, (Yale Center for British Art, copy E)
* The Ghost of Abel, (Rosenwald Collection, copy A)
* On Homers Poetry [and] on Virgil, (Rosenwald Collection, Copy A)
* Laocoon, (Collection Robert N. Essick, Altadena, Calif., copy B)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 6 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. A. J. Fairley "fairleee" (Tonbridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Blake was a visionary and a genius, a man who truly saw angels walking among men, and a man in whose powerful imagination London became Jerusalem. Blake was one of the most interesting characters of the 18th and 19th centuries, and lived in some of the most tumultuous times of the last thousand years. To truly appreciate Blake, you need to be able to see his illustrations along with his poetry, for Blake was not only a poet, he was also an artist. As I am studying Blake in my English class I can tell you that this is an incredibly worthwhile edition. The reproductions are fantastic; and include some rare plates in their full coloured glory. The volume tells you which edition of the plates are being reproduced (for Blake hand-made and hand-coloured each one individually and so every one is a little bit different), there is a brief introduction to each poem/collection allowing you to place it in context and also included are some of the "alternate" plates - plates found to exist in one version, but not another.
The size of the book allows you to view the plates as they should be viewed; hence, the smaller plates such as those of "Songs of Innocence and Experience" are reproduced to size but you the larger plates are also reproduced at a good size, allowing you to fully appreciate the work. It contains an excellent timeline and also a transcription of all the poems at the back of the book which is highly useful as sometimes, particularly with the smaller plates, Blake's writing can be rather small making it difficult to make out some words or phrases.
This really is a wonderful volume. The reproduction is among the best I have seen of his work - many reproductions tend to be rather faded, but not so with this volume - and I was so impressed with it that I ordered several more for my English teachers to use. If you want to fully appreciate Blake, then you have to see his plates, and this volume provides you with wonderful reproductions. If you have any interest in Blake, then this is the edition to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't begin to praise Blake and this collection enough, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Buy this. If you are interested in Literature, in liberalism, in freedom and liberty. Don't buy a game, don't buy food, don't buy clothes BUY THIS. Honestly. If you read his works and take in his philosophy and works it will bring you so much enlightenment it's just nuts.

The book is stunning. The quality is superb. I have it on display! It's weighty but when I carry it with me I'm happy about the weight because it reminds me that I'm carrying the most amazing work of art I have ever had the pleasure to embrace with all my being with me.

If people used his Proverbs of Hell as a guide to life instead of other "bibles or sacred codes" the world would be a much fairer and happier place.

Remember - "Energy is Eternal Delight!"

GO BUY THIS, BUY IT BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 14 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
I came across William Blake a while back and i find his works inspirational! The colour and imagination put into each of his paintings coupled with the beauty of his poetry combine to create a wonderous final interpretation of his ideas and mythology. This book makes it easy for anyone to appreciate Blake's work by providing large full colour copies of his writing. A must buy for anyone how is interested in Blake's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating, 15 May 2009
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Absolutely superb text containing William Blake's original copperplate designs; many of which are companion to his seminal poetry collection: Songs of Innocence and Songs of Experience. The book is extremely hefty, but if you like Blake's poetry or are studying it, then this is an invaluable tome for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 6 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
This book is so good its hard to contain exactly how good this book is. If your looking for a meditation source for Blake either for art or for religion I can't recommend it higher.
The hours I've spent with it have given me the most sublime meditations I've had in four years, its just the book to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in size of some pictures, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Nice enough tome of William Blake works. Colour quality is out standing as is the paper quality so will last many years of page turning. I like that you are given 2 versions, the original way in which it was intended, as it helps you to visualise how Blake had seen things, but also a transcripted version as some of the text is difficult to make out in some of the smaller printed pictures/text. Some are the size of small postcards so I would probabley suggest investing in a magnifying glass. At 36 my eyesight it stil pretty good, but the magnifying glass might also help taking a closer look at some of the intricate detail. I look forward to taking in the artistic work of this book for many years to come.

Prompt delivery by seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blake is a genius., 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
In many regards, William Blake was a profound visionary. A man ahead of his times. His magnificent and evocative poetry is so beautifully enhanced by the uniqueness of his individual etchings. A beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite book of Blake's poetry, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Although this does not contain all the plates and works of Blake (e.g Auguries of Innocence is not included), it does have the known poetry collections. It is a very beautifully produced book, and mesmerising to read the poems with the artwork. Lifts the poetry reading experience to the sublime.

Includes a printed text of all the poems in the book.

This is a gorgeous collection of poetry for any Blake admirer, and would therefore make a wonderful gift .

Note: not practical for portable use: it's A4 size, 1.5 inches deep and very heavy. A kindle edition is available but it is difficult to see the handwritten text so you will rely more on the printed text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure of a book, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books (Paperback)
Blake's complete illuminated works. This is a shrine to one of the greatest poets that will ever live and his masterpieces. What more is there to say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books
William Blake: The Complete Illuminated Books by William Blake (Paperback - 27 Nov 2000)
20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews