Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the tin, 20 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
I bought this book not only as an admirer of Moore's sculpture, but also as someone who had failed to capture the sheepiness of sheep during several bouts of sketching this spring. I wanted to see what a true great had done rather than be influenced by the "learn to draw animals in five seconds" type titles that are all too common.
What you get in this book is a facsimile of Moore's sketchbook, reproduced in such a way that you fear the ink from his felt-tip pen may still be seeping through the paper - the reverse of each sheet is exactly as you would expect on a real sketch book.
If you like the cover picture, you will like the innards. If you don't, you won't because it is all more of the same. As a sculptor, Moore is clearly concerned with form and texture. His biro and felt-tips, despite being unforgiving media, capture these perfectly.
The commentary from Kenneth Clark adds very little to the value of the book, and Moore himself adds few insights beyond the drawings.
In short, if you like Moore's work or you like good, lively drawings (of sheep), then this book is for you. If you feel you need some analysis to go with the pictures, or that an entire sketch book filled with one subject isn't your cup of tea, then look elsewhere. There are plenty of books around that analyse art to death. For me the refreshing thing about this slim volume is that it lets the reader decide. For that alone, I will keep returning to this title in idle moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous - perfect for artists and sheep lovers alike, 4 Jan 2011
I bought this as a present for my mother who not only loves sheep but is also an artist who has always admired Henry Moore's sculptures. It seemed like the perfect present and it was - she LOVED it! The pictures are amazing, simple masterpieces reproduced in this beautiful book. It's going to keep her happy for a very long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wooly smiles, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
I really enjoy looking at this book - the sheep just make me smile. They become more animated as Moore sees them as individuals. As a sculptor he draws them with great form, you can almost feel the mass of the bodies. Most encouraging for other artists is the way in which these sketches show a progression in drawing quality - even great artist improve with practise! Moore uses the simplest of materials - mostly ball point pens - proving that good art does not necessarily require elaborate or expensive equipment. A book to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook, 16 Jan 2010
This is a beautiful book which appeals to young people (it is dedicated to his daughter, Mary). Because Henry Moore captures the casual movements and expressions of sheep, but draws them impeccably, he helps us to look afresh ourselves, notice what is essential in a creature that we might otherwise take for granted. Very good for young people who are learning to draw, and inspiring for any receptive eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How i learnt to love sheep, 9 Jun 2010
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
Who could ever have imagined that sheep could be so interesting or so individual? This book appears to be a reproduction of a sketchbook that Henry Moore gifted to his daughter (the handwritten dedication page is included). It is full of sheep: some alone, some with young; some looking at us, some absorbed in their own little sheep world, thinking about whatever it is sheep think about (grass?). Moore even manages to convince me that there's something attractive about them. Actually, there is something attractive about them, at least when rendered in ink anyway.

It's not just the unexpected subject matter that makes this book so compelling though. When i say this is a reproduction i really do mean that: where the ink of the drawing went through the page on the original for instance, marking the other side of the paper, that leakage is reproduced in the book. This creates an intimacy which is touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep, 24 Nov 2013
By 
M. A. Grigg "Mike Grigg" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
A great book for lovers of sheep - beautifully illustrated and really capturing the personalities of these fascinating amimals - Yes, sheep do have personalities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woolly Things, 27 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
A charming book for all lovers of sheep and shepherds. Wonderful sketches to bring a smile to he most hardened of sheep haters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheep sketch book, 9 May 2010
By 
S. Mackay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
Excellent book and good value, demonstrates the all round artistic skills Moore posessed. Touching from the perspective the book was for his daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all artists who love drawing sheep, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
I bought this book as I wanted to see how Moore drew his sheep and I was not disappointed. Lovely big woolly sheep filling every page and taken directly from his sketchbook. Wonderful and a big help for artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook (Paperback)
Having watched a TV program about Henry Moore, I was excited to find this book was available. It is wonderful, being a collection of his drawings plus the inclusion of markings and side notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook
Henry Moore's Sheep Sketchbook by Kenneth Clark (Paperback - 24 Feb 2003)
9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews