Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bayeux Tapestry to take home and keep
Originally published in 1985, this sizable full colour reproduction of the Bayeux Tapestry is a worthy presentation of one of medieval arts greatest treasures. David Wilson, a long renowned historian of the tapestry, provides a narrative commentary (helpfully printed alongside a smaller black and white reproduction) and additional information of its historical context...
Published on 27 May 2005 by fab_thunderbird

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pictorial book
This is an excellent book with very clear pictures and the history of the Bayeux Tapestry. Excellent clear visual pictures
Published 5 months ago by Helen M udge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bayeux Tapestry to take home and keep, 27 May 2005
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
Originally published in 1985, this sizable full colour reproduction of the Bayeux Tapestry is a worthy presentation of one of medieval arts greatest treasures. David Wilson, a long renowned historian of the tapestry, provides a narrative commentary (helpfully printed alongside a smaller black and white reproduction) and additional information of its historical context. However the reason to buy this book is for the colour reproduction itself. Spanning 146 pages, the beautifully photographed tapestry shows off all its intricacy's and mastery in this large-scale book. There are plenty of studies by David Wilson and others that go into further depth, but none that show the tapestry in its splendour like this. The one major disappointment is that the vertical format of the book, while easy to hold, fails to compose the tapestry as well as a wider format would have done, requiring the reader to frequently refer to the smaller black and white reproduction to see the scenes in a longer, easier to read format. One would have hoped this is an omission Thames and Hudson might have addressed for this new publication. That said, this impressive reproduction has now stood for 20 years as the major visual companion of the tapestry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bayeux revealed, 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
This big book is superb. The full set of photos are top quality and reveal every detail of the tapestry. If you have never lifted a needle in anger this will inspire you to have a go - it has me. The text gives a good background to the work with translations of the Latin inscriptions and and full historical descriptions of the numerous panels in sequence.Whether you are an embroiderer or history seeker this book is a must for your bookshelves. It could only be improved by including some photos of the reverse side to give the reader a better idea of the stitchwork and how it was achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars User friendly yet genuine scholarship, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
I first came across this large "coffee table" style book when researching the Bayeux Tapestry in the British Library. It gave me just what I was looking for and thought I would never find in one book - a combination of first class scholarship and comprehensive, well-annotated, good quality images. I liked the book so much I decided to purchase a copy for my personal library. Thanks to Amazon, it is now happily displayed on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wow book!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
Visited the Bayeux tapestry 10 days ago and really wanted to see more detail at my leisure. This is certainly THE book to buy. Nothing in the shop on site had anything to compare, and nothing available in English!!!Will keep on looking and seeing things I missed before. Visit Bayeux and get this book, you will not be disappointed. Arrived very well packed and very promptly after order placed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavier than a really heavy rock but clearer than a mountain stream. Joyful., 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
I missed buying this at a bookfair and regretted it so went to my trusty friend Amazon who came up with the goods.
This book is massive, heavy and absolutely fantastic. The half size images of the tapestry are not the only reason to buy the book, it has clear informative text about most aspects of the embroidery and so it can be enjoyed as a reference book as well as a picture book - if you can pick it up! It would be a coffee table book if you screwed four legs on it!.

Seriously recommended to Anglo-Saxon enthusiasts and Tapestryphiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. It is beautiful to look at, shows every part of the tapestry in detail and was well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A fantastic history, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
If you are interessede in anciennitet history you nede this book about the fantastic tapetsere from Bayeux. Tælling the history which Leader to the Battle at Hastings 1066
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Tapestry? Buy the book!, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
This is a near life-size, quality, reproduction of the Tapestry together with pages of explanation. Amazing value - excellent for people who are trying to learn Latin too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Bayeux Tapestry lovers, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Thomas Milne (Strathaven, Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
We recently visited the Bayeux Tapestry and were bowled over by it. This book was on display ion the bookshop so we could see that it faithfully reproduced the complete tapestry on a scale not far short of the original. We've been browsing it with delight and it has one great advantage over the original – you don't have to stand back from time to time to let tour party herds thunder through! There is also a well written and referenced introduction in amazingly large type. If the Bayeux Tapestry is your thing, then this book is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bayeux Tapestry, 18 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Bayeux Tapestry (Hardcover)
Having just visited Bayeux Tapistery only a FEW days before I purchased the book, I cannot think of a better publication,not only, to remind me of the amazing Tapistery but it is superb in giving me such a deeper understanding of the Tapistery.

Our friends,who were with us have enjoyed this book; a coffee table book perhaps,but I am so pleased with my puchase

I recommend it to anyone who has either been there or contemplating on visiting Bayeux
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bayeux Tapestry
The Bayeux Tapestry by Jean Le Carpentier (Hardcover - 9 Feb 2004)
£19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews