Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book, but dont also get the 'The Anatomy of Type", 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
Great book. wanted it for ages, was finally given it as a gift for my birthday, and also another book called 'The Anatomy of Type' as they seemed to be a good pair.
They are the exact same book, page for page. with different titles and Amazon even lists this as:

"The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces by Erik Spiekermann and Stephen Coles"

...BY Erik Spiekerman... and Stephen Coles

where as "The Anatomy of Type: A Graphic Guide to 100 Typefaces by Stephen Coles"

Even the Cover art is different.

So although very similar books, very easy to think of them as different books. they are not. They are the exact same book

Buy one or the other, NOT both!!

Great book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute pleasure, 10 Mar 2013
By 
E. Pirie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
"When we enlarge a word or phrase that contains a typeface's most distinctive glyphs, we unearth all sorts of information about what makes that typeface tick." (from the Introduction)

I don't know of another book that celebrates the beauty and intricacy of good type design so successfully. On one level this is simply a book to sit back and enjoy from an aesthetic point of view. The typeface samples are large enough to really see the subtleties of each letterform (there is a generous large size sample word, and complete alphabet in smaller font) and appreciate the harmony of design between glyphs. The book is designed and set beautifully too.

On another level, it is a useful aid to choosing typefaces, and comparing alternatives from a similar genre. The author helpfully dispenses with the usual categories for a more nuanced and useful system of collating typefaces in families. So, rather than Sans Serif only, there are Grotesque Sans, Neo-Grotesque Sans, Gothic Sans, Geometric Sans, Humanist Sans, Neo-Humanist Sans. Choice is always going to be personal, and this shouldn't be looked to as a comprehensive reference; rather, a selection "made with an emphasis on versatility and practical use". Amongst the usual suspects are some gems which I at least wasn't familiar with e.g. Baskerville Original by Frantisek Storm and Nitti by Pieter van Rosmalen. At times in the later sections there seems to be a skew towards H&FJ, but that shouldn't be surprising given the quality of their output, and there are plenty of examples from smaller foundries and individual designers.

All in all, if you love type you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Graphic Designers!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book for typographic novice and veteran both, and I would especially recommend this to anyone studying an Art or Design degree. A must for the graphic designer, its got an in depth analysis of the character's forms for a range of typefaces, some classic and some more exotic, but all gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
Being a bit of an anorak about things like typefaces, this book is just great. Happy to recommend this if you are of like mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise reference book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
I appreciate the clarity of this book very much. When designing and looking at type you're working in a visual medium. The author understands this. No filler here, just facts.

The first few pages summarise the different families of type. These will help you identify a style very quickly. However the bulk of the book, some 200+ pages, is given to well organised examples of typefaces with two pages for each face.

Every double page spread shows you clearly the key features of the typeface. The illustrations are large enough that every detail can be seen, with each key detail noted and explained. A brief summary of the face and its relation to others is given, but most of the page is quite rightly dedicated to showing you the detail rather than just telling you.

To Sum Up: It's become my preferred reference book on Typefaces. I'd suggest it as an essential buy for students and for anyone who loves type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best books on type design, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
This is one of the very best books on type design. In recent years digital techniques have made the design of fonts more widespread - no more engraving of punches and making of matrices - and there is a much wider awareness of the nuances of letter design. Stephen Coles covers the ground very fully, from the designs that emerged in the infancy of printing to the latest digital productions. But this is not an historical book: it divides typefaces up into different groups and families and with clear examples and explanations points to the similarities and the differences - and these fonts are available to designers now. Mr Coles, with his clear text large and colourful illustrations makes font design tremendously exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Geometry of Type, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
A very good guide to type design, details, uses and short foreword by Spiekermann. A useful glossary, anatomical
look at type and classification guide.
100 typefaces categorised through out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why, 1000 typefaces: that would be useful! Artbook that begs for a digital follow up - preferably: of gargantuan proportions., 8 Feb 2013
By 
G. Wilczynski "Grigori Wertinsky" (Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
Taste is essential. It is also the ultimately intimate, inborn faculty - some of us may be less blessed with it, some would never bother, blinded by moral horror, which is assailing us every single day on news frontpages, every single second on our net appliances or mobile gadgets...
A shame on us all. Remember: in order to hope you are not the a fatally lazy and useless animal, you should change, substantially, your damn life one (next?) Monday morning. [*]

I swallowed the book overnight, now I have been savouring its tiny bits, turning its glorious pages back and forth, whenever I am not praising it to my colleagues, neighbors, collaborators and any faint acquaintances I could button down on the street.
The Book is fine, it is fresh and modern, yet full of immaterial, almost altruistic value. I've learned that I did not know (despite couple of years acknowledged professional experience... Shame!) so incredibly many things about te art of typeface

* (Cf.: Rilke's sonnet: "archaisches Torso Apollos"
Further reading: Erik Spiekerman: Ursache und Wirkung. Ein typographischer Roman. H. Berthold, Berlin 1986.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books of fonts (sorry for my english), 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
A great book, excellent content, large size (this is not shown in the photo on the website). I advise this book graphic and type designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for beginners to the subject like me, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces (Hardcover)
great comprehensive book, something i know i'll go back to for reference, good range of fonts covered too, something i want to look into more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces
The Geometry of Type: The Anatomy of 100 Essential Typefaces by Stephen Coles (Hardcover - 7 Jan 2013)
15.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews