Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2012
I am such a huge fan of Thames and Hudson's World of Art series and The Body in Contemporary Art I have to say is one of my favourites. Concise and to the point, the information on artists who use bodies in various ways was fascinating. As a student studying Photography, it really helped (and I hate this word) inspire me. I learned about many different artists, some of whom I had never heard before, whilst others were old favourites of mine. In the end if you are interested in art in general this is an easy, well informed read that I thoroughly enjoyed (which doesn't happen a lot when studying for a degree!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
An excellent new book which looks generally at the use of the body in contemporary art.Sally O'Reilly has used a great selection of artists to explore the subject and discusses some useful information about their work .There is a good selection of performance ,video and other artists techniques shown to look at why the variety and the execution of their works make contemporary art what it is today.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This book was recommended by my university lecture as a guide to the use of the body in art. Best book I've ever bought for my studies the text is lovely and it is very visual.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
Well written and lavishly illustrated with excellent photographs.
Left on the proverbial coffee table this book will certainly promote conversation and maybe some raised eyebrows.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
Very different but a good grounding for exploring the Art of the Body
Slightly different to what I thought, though very thought provoking.
Good for a student of Art
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Book was delivered quickly and I was happy with it because it was brand new and it even had the smell of a new book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
a great overview of how artists use, view, figure and abuse the body in their work - sometimes gruesome, sometimes glorious
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Actually it is a great book in highquality printed version .usefule for a general information .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Thank you, the book is very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Good product and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)