Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to the history of graphic Design
This is the best introduction to the history of Graphic Design I ever read.
The book is very well organized (chronological and geographically), and despiste the amplitude of the subject tries to reach the roots of the cultural and technological context of the big mutations of the contemporary graphic Design.
Easy to read contains reprodutions (however small in...
Published on 15 Jan 2002 by Jose Colen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor quality edition
Good book but beware - This is a print-on-demand version so the quality leaves a lot to be desired, especially if you own any of the pukka World of Art volumes which are beautiful. For such a mediocre quality product, the price is very high.
Published 1 month ago by Mr O. J. Perry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to the history of graphic Design, 15 Jan 2002
By 
Jose Colen (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
This is the best introduction to the history of Graphic Design I ever read.
The book is very well organized (chronological and geographically), and despiste the amplitude of the subject tries to reach the roots of the cultural and technological context of the big mutations of the contemporary graphic Design.
Easy to read contains reprodutions (however small in size)that help to visualize the essencial movements and authors, and doesn't stop at the Bauhus but goes to just yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great over view, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
Organised by country and date, this book is a great introduction to where Graphic Design is coming from. Not expecting you to know anything about the topic, this book can be used as a history, or as a quick contextual refrence book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise History of Graphic Design, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
I checked this book out in my university library to help with some essays and then decided to purchase as its such a good resource. It is an informative, well-designed book with plenty of relevant imagery as illustrations. I've used it as resource in many essays since I bought it and was pleased at how low the price was for such a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condition, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
I paid a stupidly cheap price for this book. It's in excellent condition and as it was previously a library book it came in a clear sleeve, perfect, delivery was in good time too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
I bought this book to aid in my studying of graphic design at university.. very helpful and would definitely recommend to anyone with an interest in the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, poor quality edition, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
Good book but beware - This is a print-on-demand version so the quality leaves a lot to be desired, especially if you own any of the pukka World of Art volumes which are beautiful. For such a mediocre quality product, the price is very high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sufficient, 29 Mar 2009
By 
H. Browne "Hetty" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
This is a good foundation into the history of graphic design. I am a 1st year graphic design student, and have found it helpful as a reference. However, I shall most likely purchase something a little more comprehensive to support my future studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good historical overview, 10 Dec 2012
By 
E. Pirie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
This is not a picture book. It is a history of graphic design up to the 1970's in fairly small format, illustrated with mostly small black and white photos. The narrative is not in depth on any one genre or period - how could it be when it covers a century of so much change? But if you want an overview with some intelligent throught on the trends, connections and people, then I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough pictures :), 26 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. J. Crabtree (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
As I work best with pictures rather than words. I love graphic design books packed with large images full of inspiration. This has images, but not enough- plenty of writing tho! (hahaha) Guess its good for contextual studies though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very interesting... so boring., 7 Nov 2009
This review is from: Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) (Paperback)
I thought this book was going to show a story with more real life situations but it's just a list of different advertising campaigns. Very dissapointed with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art)
Graphic Design: A Concise History (World of Art) by Richard Hollis (Paperback - 20 Aug 2001)
Used & New from: £2.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews