Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Classical Language of Architechture
I bought this book as a complete beginner, and found it a wealth of information. It has come in very handy for my degree. Very well explained for the complete novice on classical architechture. Worth buying. Dictionary would be better with illustrations though!
Published on 22 Oct. 2002 by R.Martin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Comprehensive
This book does explain the foundations of Classical Architecture. I did find it quite chatty but that meant that it did jump around a bit, sometimes making it hard to follow. The plethora of images meant that you also have to flip a lot as well. There is a glossary that helps you to understand some of the jargon. If you persevere through all teh flipping of pages it is...
Published on 2 Feb. 2012 by S. Hawkes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Classical Language of Architechture, 22 Oct. 2002
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a complete beginner, and found it a wealth of information. It has come in very handy for my degree. Very well explained for the complete novice on classical architechture. Worth buying. Dictionary would be better with illustrations though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory classical classic!, 5 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
A fantastic non-snob guide to the principles of classical architecture, the authors passion and sincerity is infectious. The easiest and most informative classical architecture book I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic itself, 21 May 2012
By 
Doug (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
This book should be on every architect's bookshelf - not just for the knowledge it imparts of the columns, capitols and pediments but for the lessons in proportion, rhythm and pattern as well as quite simply the pleasure of reading Summerson's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief but packed, 8 May 2011
By 
JaFo (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
This was on a reading list for Uni' and I'm very glad I bought it.
It is well written without overly exuberant or flowery language (the curse of the subject sometimes) and the plates/ images are helpfully arranged and referenced.
This is pretty close to a perfect guide to Western architecture, covering Roman antiquity, it's revival, development tied to key writings, progression, adaptation and alteration right up until modern times, to a degree.
Further reading would be required to flesh out some themes but more or less all key issues are touched on with plenty of relevant precedents.
Personally, I thought the book was a bit light on the beginnings of Renaissance architecture with relatively little time spent on Bramante for example but as an introductory text it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Primer, 21 April 2012
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
This slim & reasonably priced volume is the perfect primer for anyone interested in architecture in general & the classical style in particular.

In just over 100 pages, the author takes us from classical times through to the influence on the modern day, producing a fascinating overview of the key elements & interpretations in this style.

The are plenty of black & white plans, photographs & illustrations but I would still have liked a few more. There is in an invaluable Glossary at the end & a reference section.

The text is easy to read & the author really guides the newcomer into what can be a complicated & confusing field.

This volume will school you in all the basics of classical architecture & really help you to enjoy & appreciate it's influence on us here in the UK. You'll be able to stun your friends with your new found knowledge when you next visit a stately home or the National Trust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Comprehensive, 2 Feb. 2012
By 
S. Hawkes (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
This book does explain the foundations of Classical Architecture. I did find it quite chatty but that meant that it did jump around a bit, sometimes making it hard to follow. The plethora of images meant that you also have to flip a lot as well. There is a glossary that helps you to understand some of the jargon. If you persevere through all teh flipping of pages it is abundant with key information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best starter for understanding classic architecture, 12 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
i read this book in german language and it was my first of john summerson. actually i read everything of him. i read this book as a student and it gave me abetter impression of the idea of classic architecture than any lecture. so i would recommend this book to everyone who is interested in architecture and who wants to do more than pray architectural patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Summerson had a great gift for explaining difficult things in plain English, 15 Feb. 2015
By 
A. Newton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
I found this the most helpful architecture book of all, admittedly coming from a standing start as a general reader rather than a student. It assumes no knowledge and is very well written and set out. Summerson had a great gift for explaining difficult things in plain English. You will get more out of walking down most city streets after reading this book because it will help make sense of many buildings, ancient and modern. I can't recommend it highly enough if you take any interest in architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good!, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
the book arrived on time (i need it for an exam at university). unfortunately it was underlined which is something I really don't like. although it was written on the description of the book, I suggest Amazon to add options for the reviews of the books so the better understand what "with signs of use" means. (i think it was not seller's fault)
however, thank again to the seller for being so fast :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classical Language of Architecture, 20 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) (Paperback)
Classical Language of Architecture.
This is obviously written as a presentation with graphic illustrations.
Read on its own the book is hard work.
The glossary is useful but the book would benefit from a more illustrative approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art)
The Classical Language of Architecture (World of Art) by John Summerson (Paperback - 23 Jun. 1980)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews