Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideas by stealth, 5 Nov 2002
By A Customer
There are interesting essays by art historian Andrew Wilson, art critic Louisa Buck and Curator Marjan Boot that piece together the history of Grayson Perry's artistic development and explore the meanings and metaphors of his work. Perry's work is a combination of film, performance, textiles, ceramics and even a Graphic Novel. Grayson Perry's work is very seductive with its shiny surfaces and classical shapes so often a viewer is taken by suprise at the shocking and/or difficult messages his work portrays. The catalogue is well laid out and there are masses of full colour illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 21 Dec 2009
By 
John (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Hardcover)
This is a great book for anyone who wants to know more about Grayson Perry and his work. 300+ great illustrations of over 150 of his pieces, each with an insight to the inspiration behind the work written by the artist himself. The accompanying discussion of the artist by Kathy Klein is both interesting and well written. A must have for any budding ceramist or just anyone interested in good art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
After visiting the Tomb of the Unknown Craftsmen exhibition at the British Museum I wanted a book of Grayson Perry's works and after flicking through the book at the Museum decided that this one was probably better than the exhibition book. I think I made a good choice. This is a wonderful book with photographs of lots of his work and a write-up by him for each piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
I'll keep this short. I loved the idea of Perrys work but knew very little about it before i bought this book. The book is great - so far i've only read what Perry has to say about the pots featured but in itself this has ensured that this is the best art book i've ever read. As an art teacher i'm really pleased as it makes his work accessible and the recurring themes in his work are clear. We'll be making pots with personal social narratives as soon as we get back to school. (i'll edit what the children are exposed to as there are erections gallore). Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Grayson Perry's work, this book is essential, 30 Jun 2012
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Hardcover)
We often hear the phrase 'essential reading', but if you enjoy the work and/or philosophy of Grayson Perry, this book really IS essential. The illustrations are superb; the accompanying notes are extremely informative and well-crafted, and Perry's own commentaries are both serious and humourously illuminating.

If you buy it, be prepared for a weighty parcel as this really is a quality book printed on excellent heavyweight paper. I bought my copy from waldenbookshoplondon and they did a superb job of packaging the book so that it arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jan 2011
By 
J. T. Edwards "Waldorfbear" (Didcot, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
A wonderful comprehensive book on Perry's work. Endlessly fascinating insights from the artist on the inspiration and process behind hundreds of works. Faultless in my opinion. Takes your breath away. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, well written about an outstanding artist, 6 April 2010
By 
F. Kalisvaart-valk "sculpture" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Hardcover)
this book is worth having and consulting on a regular basis, for any artist or any art=afficionado.
This mn's work reflects and comments on our world in all it's heartwrenching details.
Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Visuals, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
Loads of really good colour visuals with enough information about the works and artist, a good cataloug reference of the artists work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting book, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
Very happy with the book it has all the info I was looking for...buy it you wont be sorry...thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ceramics, 5 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grayson Perry (Paperback)
very interesting book, beautifully illustrated throughout (some rather graphic but this was anticipated as I am familiar with his work) excellent delivery as always. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grayson Perry
Grayson Perry by Jacky Klein (Hardcover - 5 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £63.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews