Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a synthesis of DNA and archaeological findings
Despite my high esteem for Chris Stringer's Homo Britannicus and Barry Cunliffe's Europe Between the Oceans and Britain Begins, those books fell short of satisfying my thirst for the full integration of recent DNA findings with archaeology and its specialties. Now at last we have that in this brand new book Ancestral Journeys.

I think this book would be...
Published 15 months ago by James Honeychuck

versus
11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet another slant on...... the beginnings of a very long journey
All these books are written with some certainty based on the latest information. After a while they all merge, regardless of differing opinions.

Over the last 15 years or so the 'DNA story' of mankind's history has become more complex and it will continue to do so going forward. As this complexity increases the number of possible explanations and opinions also...
Published 12 months ago by MV


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a synthesis of DNA and archaeological findings, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
Despite my high esteem for Chris Stringer's Homo Britannicus and Barry Cunliffe's Europe Between the Oceans and Britain Begins, those books fell short of satisfying my thirst for the full integration of recent DNA findings with archaeology and its specialties. Now at last we have that in this brand new book Ancestral Journeys.

I think this book would be equally good as an overview for someone not yet familiar with the field of population genetics or the origin of the people of Europe, and as a deskside reference to European DNA for someone more familiar with the field.

The illustrations are very skilfully placed and referenced in the text, not distracting as in some books. Well done to the editor who laid all that out.

This book makes going to primary sources easy, with everything footnoted.

The book passed my two toughest tests: I spotted only one misprinted word, and the minefield of my own complicated Y-DNA haplogroup is negotiated judiciously; in fact, it is such a good description that I will probably start quoting it.

The whole book is written in an executive summary style, with short sentences usually stating only one fact. What a pleasure to read, compared to academic papers. But the text is not dumbed-down, such as by calling haplogroups by names like "Rory" or "Helen". All the correct detail is there, even if it is smoothed out for quicker reading. An example is replacing the non-self-descriptive term "Younger Dryas" with "big freeze." I like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great synthesis of DNA, archaeological and other evidence for human settlement in Europe, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
One of the very best books I have ever read to put readers into the picture regarding the latest understandings of human settlement history in Europe and beyond from the earliest hunters to Medieval times. It is written is a style that somehow balances a lot of detail with conveying the big picture in a nicely flowing narrative. Its a very useful book full of references to the latest research that would be of interest and very good reference source to professional archaeologists like myself but written in a narrative style that the general reader interested in Europe's human history but without any detailed knowledge would very much enjoy too. Its the first book that really combines the new DNA evidence with the latest archaeological and linguistic research in a way that provides the big picture. This book will save the reader having to wade through hundreds of disperate papers and publications across several disciplines by bringing it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Merging of Disciplines to Explain a Complex Story, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
Many books try to tell the story of how Europe was peopled but fail - in some ways - by concentrating on one part of a very complex story. Jean Manco succeeds, with Ancestral Journeys,because she uses evidence from different fields to build a convincing case. More importantly for the lay reader, she makes the science easy to understand and weaves it into a good and solid story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Huscarl (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
Jean Manco draws together DNA evidence with archaeological and linguistic discoveries in this book.
The work indicates that waves of mass movement rather than population continuity in prehistoric and early historic times lay behind the formation of the various peoples and nations of Europe.

This is backed up by a recent Oxford University genetic map by Sir Walter Bodmer snd Mark Robinson which shows a heavy Germanic influence from Yorkshire to the south coast and Dorset to Kent. Wales, Scotland, Ireland and Cornwall have different genetic clusters. It seems that Bede's famous account of the coming of the Saxons was correct after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic presentation of who we are, 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
I read this book with great interest and even greater joy page after page. Ms Jean Marco has managed to combine a number of different sciences and create a synthesis showing what we know today about who we are in Europe. The Basis for this study is the present and always developing science of DNA analysis.

I was very pleased to find out that Ms Marco has managed to present information in such a way that if you want to ponder individual haplogroups you can, but what it all leads to is the focus of the story. Her ability to clearly tell you what we know of our past from the Stone Age to basically 1 000 AD is extremely impressive. The Support through the book of a large number of maps are also first class.

Having read this book a huge number of question marks have been lifted from my understanding of our ancient past but also a number of new ones have arrived that begs to be answered. I do hope there will be an update of this book every five or ten years since the science of DNA analysis are taking such great leaps forward. We might actually be able to tell where these Basques came from!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Headlong journeys, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
No long introductions or waffle here. The book jumps straight into the subject matter, fusing DNA evidence with linguistics, (supported by archaeological evidence where necessary) to paint a picture of ancestral migration across Europe. The casual reader might find it a little intense, in which case a quick refresher in (Roman and after) European history might be useful .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to a changing area of knowledge, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
The unfolding story of mankind's journey from Africa is becoming more familiar to us thanks to the media's continuing interest. Jean Manco's book is a good read and clearly expressed. For those already familiar with much of the research, this doesn't add a great deal, but for anyone coming to the subject fresh - it is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real delight, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. A. L. Goodall (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
I loved this book, despite struggling at times with all the changing names of peoples/tribes, ancestral areas. It doesn't have all the answers and doesn't pretend to, but it points to what is potentially knowable (we need more datable bodies!) and synthesises information from a range of disciplines in a way which amounts to more than the sum of parts. One for re-reading, probably more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard work but worth it., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
An excellent well researched book. It relies on facts not waffle. It is not an easy read but then a serious subject like this must inevitably require its reader to put in great effort and concentration (Well, I found it hard work. Perhaps others will not)
Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of "Ancestral Journeys"., 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings (Hardcover)
A fascinating and interesting book for anyone interested in or studying :Anthropology; Archaeology or European History and Ethnicity. It would also be useful for ;Classicists and politicians of all political persuasions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancestral Journeys: The Peopling of Europe from the First Venturers to the Vikings
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews