Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue
This review of the state of Irish Archaeology and Linguistics was long overdue from the preeminent Mallory.
A great read, I was disappointed only by his dismissal of the latest DNA work as a means to help resolve some of the thorniest problems in early Irish history. I believe that his relative unfamiliarity with the technology led him to some inappropriate...
Published 19 months ago by James M. Mulvihill

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of information but rather tedious
Lots of information, but too much uncertainty and possibilities. By half way, I was skimming over the paragraphs and then pages eager to find some worthwhile sections.
Published 4 months ago by D P Woods


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue, 17 Feb 2013
By 
James M. Mulvihill "jim m" (Delaware, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
This review of the state of Irish Archaeology and Linguistics was long overdue from the preeminent Mallory.
A great read, I was disappointed only by his dismissal of the latest DNA work as a means to help resolve some of the thorniest problems in early Irish history. I believe that his relative unfamiliarity with the technology led him to some inappropriate conclusions.
Still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 28 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
The author tackles a challenging subject, addressing cosmology, geology, archaeology, linguistics & DNA evidence. I particularly liked the summaries at the end of each chapter. A fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and interesting, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked Mallory's other books on Indo European languages and the Tarim mummies. I liked the implicit criticism of ethno-nationalism that's still deeply ingrained in the British Isles . . . not just Ireland. It's a book which bears re-reading several times. Well done Mr Mallory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for those interested in Irish prehistory, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
A wide ranging investigation to the prehistory of Ireland, which whilst being erudite is at times laugh out loud funny - Mallory has a biting wit!

Easily read and very instructive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read even if only covers up to Niall of the Nine Hostages !!!, 1 May 2013
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
Its not a well known fact that Ireland started on two different continents close to present day Australia, took millions of years to drift north before the two bits bumped into each other somewhere around the Equator and continued northward until it arrived at its present location hundreds of millions of years later.

This is a very readable book with lots of new information for the lay reader.As well, the author has a humerous touch which livens up the text whenever the opportunity presents. His summary of the mythical origins of the Irish is worth a read on its own.

The book accepts that the tools we have to look back so far into history will have their limitations but nonetheless outlines what the historical possibilities and probabilities are. We are told that archeology is weak in demonstating if Ireland was subject to successive people or culture changing invasions but the reader is invited to consider a range of possible options through the evidence that linguistics, DNA etc. might offer ..... even the possibility that "celtic" British tribes once has a stong presence in southern Ireland with the fior-Gaels in the North.

Hopefully this book will see the light of day in a paper-back edition before too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was brought up in Ireland on the mythology of ..., 21 July 2014
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
I was brought up in Ireland on the mythology of Irish nationalism. The Irish Catholics were supposed to be a branch of the 'Celtic' race; they were supposed to own the soil of Ireland; they were supposed to have been conquered by the 'Anglo-Saxon' race; they were supposed to have fought against their 'oppressors' for several hundred years until they were ultimately successful. None of this is true.

But this book focusses on the origins of the population which now inhabits Ireland. The book is basically an archaeological study of Ireland using the latest techniques. It is made clear that the introduction of a variant of the Celtic language was comparatively late, perhaps as late as the first century BC, and that there are no indications regarding who introduced it. There are no signs of a massive invasion wiping out an earlier population.
The author at each stage discusses the various theories, and if he appears at times inconclusive that is because there is no conclusive evidence.

Altogether and admirable introduction to the archaeology of ancient Ireland. The author taught Prehistoric Archaeology at The Queen's University of Belfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a clear-cut answer to the BIG QUESTION:Who are the Irish, where did they come from.....?, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
As an Irishman living abroad for nearly 40 years, I do my best to keep in touch with my Irish roots through reading and contacts with family back in Ireland.

I recently heard an interview on Irish radio about this book.I was impressed and decided to buy it.Happily, my son got there before me and gave it to me as a birthday present; The author, an Irish-American academic provides a lucid, incisive and detailed insight into the origins of the past and present inhabitants of the Emerald Isle and the various "visitors"; some welcome, some less so, who have graced our shores over the centuries, and who have made us what we are today.

The book is well-written, handsomely bound and lavishly illustrated.

This book is a must if you are Irish or even if you only want to know more about the turbulent origins of our unbowed island race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
Brilliant book - expertly written, it tells a 'page turning' tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
Well researched, unbelievably good, get it now , there's nohting like it out there. Should be in every library and home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Origins of the Irish, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Origins of the Irish (Hardcover)
I enjoyed it immensely. It brought together the knowledge that is out there on the origins of the Irish and it was extremely readable, even for non-academics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Origins of the Irish
The Origins of the Irish by J.P. Mallory (Hardcover - 21 Jan 2013)
£13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews